We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far Away and Too Crowded!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Far Away and Too Crowded!!!”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed here over Christmas 2012 with my boyfriend. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. I will divide this into several sections:

Rooms- Large and beds were super comfortable. Had no problems and it kept out the noise when we were situated right in front of the pool at the center of the resort. But then again, I'm coming to Penang to see the sites and eat till I burst (Penang is the foodie destination of Malaysia).

Pools/Beach- Don't even go to the beach, it's terrible and you can't go in the water. It's a shame they couldn't take some time to clean up the beach. The pools were crazy crowded. You can't even get a chair and screaming children everywhere. It would've been nice to have an adults only area but you can pay for a private covered deck with comfortable lounge chairs.

Restaurant- We had breakfast there and it was not good. I am from Malaysia and the food was mediocre at best. We ate here for breakfast since it was included. If you want the real good stuff, for dinner we walked down to the food court (about 15 minutes w/o stopping to shop) for a fraction of the price. My boyfriend LOVED his prawn mee soup. He got that EVERY night. Me, you can't go wrong with Char Kway Teouh and Roti Canai

Location- It's far away and if you have children, it's going to be a hike since the sidewalks are narrow to non-existant for strollers.

Conclusion- This hotel is great if you don't want to leave the pool area and if you have children (great entertainment crew to keep the kids entertained). I've stayed at Lone Pine and I think that is the better location and comfort level for us. Even if I did have kids, I want the convenience to take them to nearby shopping and THAT food court.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ycchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hardrockhotelpenang, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear ycchong
Thanks for your review and overall comments that the hotel is great.
Regarding your comment about the beach you will be pleased to hear that being a public beach the local council is responsible for the cleaning. The hoteliers recently had a good meeting with the MPPP ( local council) and the beach cleaning has improved tremendously.
Our swimming pool is certainly really popular and and was recently voted as ""Coolest Pool to beat the heat'' by Hotelclub. It is however 26,000 sq ft so there is in fact a quiet area for adults to chill away from the busy kids area.
I note your comment regarding breakfast and also the hotel being far away. We have recently introduced a shuttle bus service which runs up and down Batu Ferringhi from 6.30pm-11.00pm or it is about a 10-15 minute walk to the heart of the markets.
I really appreciate your comments and hope to see you in Penang soon.

Best Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,804
    1,450
    477
    124
    66
See reviews for
2,160
960
96
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2012

we went last 2010 Dec. my kids love this place so much, may be they have all the right facilities for kids below 12 years old. we love the live band too at the lobby, didnt had the chance to dine at the Restaurant though. Bought some souvenirs from the shop - obviously it's expensive. But i guess it's the price you pay for a brand ;-)

kids would love to go back but daddy has to do some checking in his bank account as the room rate has sky rocket !!

Room Tip: i think skip the ones attached to the pool - it's not safe with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrskayKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

penang itself is wonderful island for easy relaxing getaway.HRH is located at batu ferringi beach is not too secluded, fews minutes away from city yet able to have relaxing by the beach holiday.
hotel's concept is brilliant like it's other chain hotels. it suitable for almost every age groups as they trying to cater for everyone's need. staffs are friendly, services are good and buffets are excellent.
a little bit crowded during the school holiday, a minus mark as hotel compound isn't that spacious compare to other hotel nearby.
free wifi is provided but is too slow.
there's night market just outside the hotel n few good restaurants at the area if u
want to try locals as well as international fares.
definitely will come again to Penang for short weekend getaway n most probably will stay at hard Rock hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drwana83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This property needs a clean from top to bottom!
More of a family destination and not good for couples or groups of friends, unless you like a lot of children around you constantly! Avoid school holidays!
Not very relaxing and overpriced for how basic things were. Room service is just plain bad if you try what's ordinarily a safe option, the burger! Terrible!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLS-0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hardrockhotelpenang, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear KLS-0000
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am dissapointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our Hotel. The Hotel is certainly a popular destination over the school holidays period and is a firm favourite for kids. This however is no excuse if you found the hotel to be dirty. Our standards of cleanliness are usually of the highest standards, however being an absolute beach fronting hotel has its challenges with sand making its way into the lobby area.
I do note your comment on the room service burger. We are certainly well known for the quality of our burgers however it appears that on this occasion we did not deliver as promised.
My apologies for not delivering the same experience we are known for and I hope to welcome you back to Penang again to provide the holiday you expected.

Best Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel has lots to offer for the singles n families. The service from the front office upon arrival to check out are excellent , the housekeeping staff keeps the room clean everyday, and my room has a nice sea view , was great! Great place to unwind!! The evening entertainment in the foyer was great , hitting out the old hits every weekend....will definitely recommend all my friends to stay there , prices are reasonable as well....beach outside the hotel is very clean but unfortunately , it has 2 drains running off on either side of the beach area and the sea I feel is not safe for swimming!! keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: Worth booking a superior sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piplee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hardrockhotelpenang, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Hello Piplee O,

Thanks for writing us a review. It’s our pleasure to know that you had a rockin' good time here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the show on your next visit to Penang.

Keep rocking,
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
1.5 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.7 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
1.3 km away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
11.6 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,378 - ₹ 12,118
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 32-inch LCD TVs, iPod docking stations, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing