We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
9
31
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
31
8
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I visited Meizhou for the first recently, a 5-6 hrs coach trip from Hong Kong. This hotel now called Jinye International Hotel is very good by Meizhou standard with large rooms that easily accommodate 4 persons. Some previous reviews on this hotel were not very positive but l found it fine, comfortable and safe. The price was very reasonable. WiFi slow at peak times. At the corner of 2 main roads there are lots of local restaurants nearby serving local specialities. Good city to base for visits to the north of Quandong and south of Fujian with the Hakka Tulou round houses.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is my 2nd stay at the hotel. It's not a repeat stay by choice as my father was insistent that we stay here.

First stay back in 2011 was terrible. Part of the reason was due to the fact that my son was extremely sick then. Furthermore, the towels there absolutely did not absorb any water whatsoever. It was a cold March then, and being wet and cold after the shower was really not pleasant. We were also staying in the smallest and darkest room category.

Fast forward to March 2014. I'd rate our stay now as pretty much trouble free. Certainly my expectations had been lowered. I even brought our own towels. The cigarette smell still permeated the hotel, but hey lights, hot water, air conditioning, free wifi all worked! We were also in a much bigger room... And it makes such a difference because we had more lights. Brighter rooms felt a lot less depressing.

Not my favorite hotel by a long mile. But I know we will be returning again in the future when my father takes us back to Meizhou (we are overseas Chinese whose ancestors were originally from Meizhou). As long as we get the bigger room and bring our own towels, I know it will be a tolerable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pigletthepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Hotel smelled of cigarette smoke throughout all public areas and inside the room. It seemed like a new hotel but the maintenance and overall cleanliness was not good. Towels were completely useless as they were non-absorbent. Someone in our group wryly mentioned we might as well shake ourselves to dry, since that seemed to be more effective than using the towels. We had a lot of trouble at check out because supposedly they counted the clothes hangers in the rooms and 1 was missing and they wanted to search our bags.

In short, avoid this place, and try some other hotel in Meizhou.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmomABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Cold (no heating) so when its 9 degrees outsde - its 9 degrees inside!, rising damp in room,cheaply fitted out. Shows no signs of maintenance since new (2003/2004). Carpets in hall badly tattered. The usual rock-hard Chinese bed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Petrus1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews