We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as before, one wants to keep coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malherbe Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2011

The place is as we remember it from previous visit: very comfortable, a relaxed ambiance,perfect for a rest. Micky and Joop provide many thoughtful touches, the aircon works superbly ( at 30 degrees it is a great bonus), the breakfast in the garden served by Micky a joy to look at and to eat. The fridge in the room full of drinks at supermarket price and the pool was the nicest we had in all the places we stayed. Perfect? Almost, I missed the wifi, which apparently one can purchase with credit card but I did not understand it so we either walked to 1, Long Street , Farm Padstal or Olive House b&b for free wifi (we bought drinks or lunch once we were there).On holiday we need only a few minutes to read e-mails and the places I mentioned are useful for that.

Room Tip: garden rooms are the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishMyszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

We've been to Malherbe for several times now - and it's always good to came back. A beautiful room with a very nice bathroom, a beautiful garden, very friendly hosts and a fantastic breakfast are some good reasons for a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Behind the guest house there is a small tropical garden with a swimming pool. It's the perfect little hidaway!
The hosts were friendly and the rooms very nice!
I would definitely recommend this small paradise!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinnabrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We only stayed one night but wished it could have been longer. Perfect in every way - gorgeous room in the garden, a fridge stocked with all refreshment needs (at very reasonable prices) - a very nice touch. But what makes this place so good is the attention to detail - it makes such a huge difference. Breakfast (and the table setting) was an art in itself. Everything was of high quality. Pool area was also beautiful - very clean and well presented (like an oasis in the garden). Highly recommended. Well done Micky and Joop for putting such a lot of effort into the business - it really shows.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for one of the garden rooms - worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank val g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This was one of several highlights of our road trip across the Little Karoo. Joop made us most welcome - not least by giving us a free upgrade on arrival to one of the bigger, garden suites that happened to be available for the night of our stay. Huge bed, cavernous bathroom and a nice verandah overlooking the swimming pool. Alas the latter was unheated so ferociously cold in September. 5 star breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickPenzance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.5 km away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
588 reviews
0.3 km away
In Abundance Guest House
0.3 km away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.2 km away
7 Church Street Guest House
0.3 km away
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malherbe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malherbe Guesthouse

Address: 17 Lang Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range: ₹ 5,661 - ₹ 7,028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malherbe Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malherbe guesthouse is a National Monument and was built in 1859. The house has been lovingly restored and offers 4 en-suite garden rooms, private entrance and patio or verandah. Rooms have air conditioning (cooling & heating,a bar-fridge, electronic safe, hospitality tray, hairdryer, free WI-FI andsatellite TV/DSTV. The guesthouse also has a spacious guest lounge where you can enjoy a complementary glass Montagu Muscadel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Malherbe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing