We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique, beautiful, spectacular experience of a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Summer at the lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summer at the lodge
Spectacular Northern Lights - February 2015 Aurora Borealis taken from the fjordside directly above the lodge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Summer at the lodge
Spectacular Northern Lights - February 2015
Aurora Borealis taken from the fjordside directly above the lodge.
Winter at the lodge
Log burner & fully fitted kitchen
Power shower and sauna
Dining & seating area with fjord & mountain views
Sunset over the lodge - views of the Lyngen mountains and fjords
Dog sledding near Jaegervatnet - intimate and exclusive
A visitor to the lodge & BBQ Grill House
View from the fjordside - BBQ Grill House available to use!
This Beautiful spot is at Jaegervatnet - The cabin is a perfect base for exploring the Lyngen area.
Sauna for your use
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lyngseidet, Lyngen Municipality, Troms, Northern Norway

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
liketotra...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique, beautiful, spectacular experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We are a well travelled family of four, being Australian, living in London and having travelled all around Europe, America, Iceland and now Norway!
This cabin is perfect. It cannot be faulted. We travelled for a white Xmas with northern lights and dog sledding. We got that and so much more.
The Cabin:
The cabin and owner (Hanne-Lil) could not be better. It is private and beautiful, warm and comfortable with everything you will need. We shopped at the local supermarket and also brought in packaged food from England as we had heard that food is expensive in Norway and mostly this is true. The Wifi is free and very fast and efficient.
Northern Lights:
We saw the most spectacular lights (better than what we had seen before in Iceland) on 2 of the 4 nights that we were there. They were all colours - green, purple and even red. Spectacular!
Special Santa searching experience:
The local village do a traditional search for Santa Claus in the woods. The villagers walk through the dark woods "searching" for the Santas (there are lots of them). When we find them, they are in huts on the side of the mountain in the snow going about their "work" but then they see us and chase us down the mountain again. The children find the whole experience magical and exhilarating and we will never experience anything like that again. The owner of the cabin invited us along and that may give you some idea of her kindness. She wants to share local knowledge of the Norwegian way of life. What a lovely person that she is and her family also! On our first night of northern lights, they rang us to look (we were already outside looking in awe) and then her husband, Eirik, got in his car to come down to the cabin and show us. What lovely people. They love the lights as much as us and yet they can look at them all the time!
Dog Sledding:
A must experience with Tommy Larsen. Lovely fellow with very good English. The dog sledding is also exhilarating and unique. We've never done anything like that before. The dogs are gorgeous, intelligent animals and our kids loved them. Tommy also took us down to the fjord near his house and gave us hot chocolate by a fire. The photographic opportunity is unbelievable.
In Tromso:
There is a museum for the kids with local seals in it as well as films and local information. It is called Polaria and we really enjoyed going there on our way back.
We also went sledding one day in Lyngseidet. There's cross country skiing and walking through the forest with frozen waterfalls and all sorts of things to see. What a beautiful place. We enjoyed the fact that half of the day we could see outside (for about 6 hours of a twilight type of blue light) and half of the day we sat inside and ate, played games and looked for the lights. It was a wonderful holiday and we want to go back again for sure. Thank you to Sarah (British person who helps with the booking and answered lots of pre-trip questions), Hanne-Lil and her family (owner and resident in the house behind the cabin who is welcoming, kind and knowledgeable) and Tommy (dog sledding guru and nice bloke!).

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review :) We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay at the cabin, you are welcome back anytime :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racheal D
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a house but a cozy home”
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled in a group of 7 friends and stayed a week in this lovely house where our friendship got even stronger.
Great location by the fjord, close to the supermarket, info point and activities centre but with the feeling if being in the middle of nowhere.
We enjoyed the northern lights show on our balconies or windows, chatted by the fire stove, we cooked and ate together, even watched movies and play the play station when the weather kept us in.
Don't bring any appliances as the house has it all.
Many thanks to the owners and hope one day we ll be back for summer as well

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2014
Thank you for your comments and we hope you can come back again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMerli
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
“Perfect place for combining business and holiday”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

It is a perfect place for marine biologists as "the office" is just in the backyard. Tranquility, quietness, picturesqueness, are the words that describe the place the best. We really enjoyed our stay time that we spent there. The owner, Hanne Lil, was really helpful and made us feel at home. Hopefully we will be back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: atmosphere
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Fjordside. We are delighted it met with your expectations
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment - we are delighted our cabin "exceeded your expectations". We hope you will return to visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our cabin. We hope you will return to visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing