We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotell Storforsen(Vidsel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 138
US$ 133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 127
US$ 123
Quality Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 104
US$ 101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotell Ornvik(Lulea)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 155
US$ 149
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jokkmokk(Jokkmokk)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Elite Stadshotell Lulea(Lulea)(Great Value!)
US$ 119
US$ 91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 95
US$ 93
Quality Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
161
23
10
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
23
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree hotelroof terracemirror cubeunique experiencethe main housebucket listthree nightsdouble bednorthern lightsmini barbirds nestshower facilitiesshower blockhot tubcinnamon bunssmall bagunique rooms
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night. We were in the Blue Cone room which was quite close to the ground. We had a large window that gave a fantastic view of the forest and snow covered trees. Was quite a walk to the Pensione for meals and it was freezing but the staff were friendly and helpful. 1 night was plenty as there isn’t much to do.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rb66Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

My husband and I stayed in the 7th Room and loved every minutes of our two night stay. Our only disappointment was that we could not stay longer. We arrived late afternoon and after a warm welcome from the staff and being suited up with warm snowsuits, we headed to dinner. The staff had been told in advance that I do not eat red meat and every accommodation was easily met. Sebastian is a wonderful chef and out meals were excellent.
When we arrived at our room, driven up by the staff, our luggage had been delivered dry and warm. It is a bit of a challenge up the stairs, there are lots of them, but luggage goes up and down very a crank elevator.
For two of us, the 7th Room is like a very large suite. After dealing with the "fire toilet" the first time, we caught on fast without a problem. We found the beds comfortable and loved everything about our room.
As it was very cold, we generally called for a transport to the hotel and a staff member arrived promptly.
We had book two outside activities, ice fishing and a photography evening. We simply loved, Michael, our fishing guide. No matter we didn't catch anything. Ice fishing was a new adventure for us and it did not disappoint. My husband is the camera buff and he has returned home with wonderful hints for night photography in our home city, Chicago.
We were so cozy in our room, we almost didn't go to our sauna afternoon. That would have been a mistake. I particularly loved the sauna and didn't want to leave. A charming room to relax and have refreshment. My only suggestion would be to provide slippers for walking to the hot tub. We were faced with either wearing our boots or going barefoot the few short feet to the tub. We chose bare feet. Probably not a very safe choice as it was slippery.
We could not be happier that our travel experts recommended our stay at the Tree Hotel. It was the highlight of our Sweden/Norway trip.

Room Tip: Each room is unique so check for the one that meets your requirements before booking.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jsl190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

We went in January 2018, stayed in the Birds' Nest, which was incredible.

First night was the Pizza Making, where you're left to your own devices in the basement of the main lodge, in presumably what was an old baking cellar. The dough is there, plus a full range of toppings, and you load your own creations into the wood burning oven, on the traditional pizza peel. Wine and Beer were left with us, on an honour system to pay for. This is a good introduction to the place, it has a gentle feel, but with some self-sufficiency too. Don't be expected to be waited on, hand and foot.

The tree houses themselves are off in the woodland, about 5-10 minutes away, so we took ourselves off there at the end of the night, with our bags. Crunching through the snow, not quite sure what to expect, we followed the trail of lights...

The Birds Nest has a steep loft-style ladder to get up to it, but it was no problem, especially with rucksacks, but we even managed smaller suitcases and carry-on bags with no difficulty. They can supply rucksacks there if you want to decant suitcases into them, but we didn't bother.

Inside it's very compact, and barrel-like, but they you are inside a tree, so what would you expect? There are 2 bunkbeds on one side, with a toilet and mini-bar area. The other half is closed off by sliding doors, and has the double bed. The bunk beds were fine for our 6' son. There's not much storage, so be prepared to keep things in your bags. Again, that Swedish attitude of just getting on with it came through, with a very clean, minimalist style.

The staff were fantastic, Therese, in particular was really friendly and helpful. She even came back out to help fix a sauna problem that we had, despite having cut herself rather badly lighting all the oil lamps for us.

We did the snowshoe walk with Eli, and that was incredible too - he offered a range of routes to us, and we chose the long way round, hiking for 4 hours through the woods and over the frozen river, where they had pitched a tent with a wood-burning stove in it, on the ice, for delicious coffee, hot lingonberry juice and warm cinnamon buns! It was the coldest day of the year, at minus 33 deg C, so this was great. Make sure you dress with thin layers, preferably with merino wool next to the skin. I had cold fingers and toes at times, but nothing terrible. The cold is so dry, it doesn't get into you. They also have a range of jackets, gloves, boots and even full environmental suits if you want to borrow an extra layer - which we wore on the next trip:

We went out on the evening snowmobile trip with Eli again and Ariane (?), which was real thrill-a-minute stuff. It was planned to see the Northern Lights, but it was snowing that night, and therefore cloudy, but we went for the trip anyway - well worth it! Again, more cinnamon buns and coffee at the top of a mountain, round a fire built on snow!

The overall vibe is very relaxed, meals and trips were flexible in their timing, and the staff were uniformly really friendly and just delightful to be with. Excellent English spoken everywhere.

Due to the intense cold, and ecological situation there, there's no flush toilets outside the main building. Instead, in the rooms and saunas, the toilets have mini incinerators built in. There's a bit of a knack to them, but it's an ingenious, odour-free and very clean solution.

Breakfast was a home-made buffet, warm bread, fantastic Swedish butter, scrambled eggs and bacon, plus pancakes, cheese, cereals, cold meats, and so on. Evening meals were 3 courses, of a single local speciality each night, - we had reindeer the first night, and moose the second, but they had no problems making a vegetarian option for one of our party. The meat was delicious. Just let them know in advance - nothing seemed too much trouble.

My overall sense was that this was a really genuine place, run by a local family; and they have chosen to make something unique at a manageable scale, to ensure it kept its personality. Go with an open mind, and you'll be rewarded with the experience of a lifetime. And, book early... we booked 9 months in advance! It's that good.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechnicalBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We arrived as part of a group on a surprise trip and had no sense of the hotel right up to driving onto the forecourt of the Pensione. This is a unique place with a totally unique experience awaiting travellers.

Every room is an individual treehouse designed by a local architect and every room is considered, sustainable and exquisite in its own right. We were a group of 4 couples and consequently got to see 4 of the 8 three houses and everyone of them had their own special qualities and space nestled in the tree tops

We spent a night in the Mirror Cube and every planned experience was superbly managed and this is a bucket list hotel if ever there was one, definitely enhanced in a winter setting!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

We stayed in the Mirrorcube and it was a beautiful, relaxing, friendly experience.
The structure itself is so impressive, cosy without being claustrophobic and with a great viewing platform on the roof for watching the stunning sunrise/sunset.
I could imagine it not being for everyone, this is not a luxury experience, the treehouse has a toilet but not a shower (although the shower block is very close by) and to get to your meals three times a day, you have to expect a little hike through some steep and slippery terrain. But that said, the food was exceptionally good. Sebastien is a brilliant, creative chef and however hungry you are, they won't let you leave feeling unprepared for the walk back. This is such a beautiful part of the world and this is a great way to experience it. For us, two nights was perfect. The sauna was fantastic and well worth booking out. The service was relaxed, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treehotels, Ägare at Treehotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018


Thank you for your fine review and that you chose to celebrate your honeymoon
at the Treehotel. Hope you will have a wonderful future together

Kent /treehotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews