We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star resort”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I am writing in regards to our recent stay at Chateau Élan, and just wished to provide some feedback about our stay.

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights, arriving on Mid March, and were amazed by the beautiful grounds as we drove in,looking very forward to a mid week getaway from a hectic few months
just past.

When we proceeded to check in, we were completely ignored by receptionstaff, who only acknowledged us when we sat down in front of one ofthem. The gentleman who checked us in was very efficient, yet not veryinformative. Being our first time to the Hunter Valley we were
interested in winery tours and restaurants, however he did not seeminterested in assisting or providing much information, so we decidedto take a Hunter Valley brochure and research ourselves.

We were very impressed with our villa itself, it was very modern yethomely and the fire place feature was definitely a favourite for bothof us, as well as the beautiful look out over the golf course.

We called reception to assist us with dinner recommendations, where wewere assisted by a young lady, who recommended a restaurant & advisedshe would make the reservation for us. When she called back I wassurprised to pick up the phone to “Yeah, sorry they’re closed
tonight”, which I wouldn’t really classify as 5 star service. Iunderstand being in an such an area you may be aiming towards a morecasual approach to service, however there is a difference between thisand being outright unhelpful and unprofessional. Admittedly, most of
our interactions with reception staff were similar to this, so weended up organising our wine tours and restaurant bookings ourselves.

We did also have an issue with the housekeeping standards.We returned to our room after being out for the day, to find that thebed cover had literally been thrown over the bed, the water glasses inour kitchen were still dirty, the bathroom amenities were not replacedand the bedroom and bathroom had not been vacuumed, as there was still
evidently hair on the floor.

Breakfast each morning was below average. The first morning was a buffet selection, but unfortunately all hot items were warm and soggy. The second morning was not a buffet selection, the chef was cooking made to order. This did sound appealing until both orders arrived to the table and were incorrect. Both morning the coffee's were undrinkable.

When reception staff on check out asked how we enjoyed our stay, our
response of “ok, a few small issues” did not seem to prompt any
further questions or action, just an awkward smile.

I appreciate these are not major issues; however it was the little
details that added up and resulted in us being disappointed with our
stay.

I email these details to the Manager and being consistant with the poor service at the resort, there was no response from her.

Over all I would not recommend Chateau Elan!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    277
    97
    40
    19
See reviews for
116
726
12
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed in a villa and were very happy with the accommodation. The only thing with this place is you must put in an order for medium sized pillows as the ones in the room are so high and uncomfortable.

The rooms were clean and the bed is really comfortable. The spa bath was fantastic!!!

The day spa was nice, a little expenisive but we really enjoyed it, especially the exclusive use of the hydro lounge- although if you are a man they will not have slippers to fit you and you will have to squish your feet into ladies slippers.

The only downer for the trip was the blonde lady at reception who did not have a nice manner and didn't welcome me at all to the hotel. The Reception lady did not give me any information as to the facilities of the hotel and I only knew there was a pool after reading the folder in the room.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 3 and it was quiet and overlooked the golf course from the lounge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasteprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Chateau Elan provides elegant, comfortable and well appointed villa accommodation in a lovely, relaxing setting. We had a 2 bedroom villa with some friends for a long weekend. Wonderful late afternoon hours enjoying some of our purchases from local wineries, sitting on the porch looking across the golf course to the hills beyond. Staff were friendly and caring, and the location is very peaceful for a sound night's sleep. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed at their Spa Villas for a few nights straight after our wedding for honeymoon since our real honeymoon will be in the US. The place is nice (not specially decorated or anything, just nice).

Room service is immaculate, perhaps the best thing about this place is that their room service is perhaps better than some of the 5 start hotels in Vegas. Every thing nice and neat and they didn't even pick up the tip we had left them with a thank you note.

Since it is our honeymoon we asked for Champagne and Nibbly platter but they charged $80 for it. The tour information material was missing and it took asking twice for them to bring one for us, they also brought some cheap wine when I told them it is my honeymoon and I expected them to at least do a complimentary champagne.

They have a nice view of the golf course outside the villas which is relaxing. Other than this, not a lot is around this hotel.

I wanted to stay one more night and since it was mid-week (We stayed weekend), I asked them to see if they can do a better rate and reception outright said no.

I probably won't stay here again. For the price they charge, you can find better properties

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I had a mate and his wife visiting from the States and I knew that we wanted to stay at a place that had golf for the boys and a spa for the girls. Chateu Elan covered all those areas and then some!

The service was exceptional and the rooms were very contemporary and comfortable.

I would highly recommend Chateau Elan!

Room Tip: We had two rooms next to each other that were essentially adjoining. One room had a room kitchenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
5.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
8.0 km away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
7.5 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
4.4 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
5.0 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,617 - ₹ 21,317
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing