We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Central Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Relaxing weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed in a One bedroom spa villa and made use of all the space. The room has everything that you need and is very comfortable. Our villa was in the middle of all the villas so if you are after privacy you want to be at the end as standing on the balcony you can peer into many other balconies which are used by guests extensivley. I would not recommend the resturant as there are many other places nearby that provide better service and more value for money. Overall we enjoyed our stay and do plan to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuralDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    255
    94
    34
    15
See reviews for
108
675
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

My partner and I visited the Hunter Valley and stayed at the Chateau. We had a villa with a nice view of the Vintages golf course. The villa and surroundings were quite nice and good value for the money. The staff on the other hand stumbled and bumbled. We were visiting the wineries that day using the the Hunter Valley guide as our reference, in the guide it showed the Legends Grill at Vintages to be a BYOB restaurant. We checked with the reception staff upon our arrival and no one seemed to know if this was so. One person thought it was but with a corkage fee the other said they would check. No one got back to us so we stopped in on our way out and they said, no it was not BYOB. Next, we were told that the clubhouse restaurant had wifi, when we arrived we found out that it was password protected, some one would find out for us.......no one did. Lastly, dinner. The menu is heavy with steaks from many different areas, so when in Rome....we ordered steak. My partner asked if her chips could be substituted with a salad. The waitress said no problem, dinner comes with a salad, great we thought. When dinner arrived, no salad. Seems that if you were on the package deal you got a salad, otherwise no. Our waitress wasn't aware. So, we ordered a salad....which arrived a bit later(of douse we were charged for it) Now to the steak, I had the T bone, Chantale, the "scotch fillet". Both were chewy, mine actually difficult to cut, both cost nearly forty dollars each, ouch. Bad steak really over priced.
Bottom line, we heard that this was a new place, and it showed badly. No one we were in contact with seemed to be on the same page, a missed opportunity.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Everything about this place was amazing, amazing value, room, view, staff, food, atmosphere...what more do i need to say?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooks Hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Chateau for a romantic weekend away in the Hunter Valley and absolutely loved every second of it. Upon check in we were greeted by the lovely receptionist, Jade, who was so helpful in checking us in, explaining to us about our room and the hotels ammenities and recommending a place to have dinner as well as organising a new pillow for my partner from the pillow menu after we got to our room. It set the tone for the rest of our stay which was just as pleasant due to the wonderful staff, the beautiful scenery and peaceful nature of the entire area. I would gladly stay at the Chateau again and again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetoholiday257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

From the magnificent, immaculately well groomed grounds that remind one of a golf course surrounding the Greg Norman designed actual golf course, to the stately modern yet timeless architecture of the complex, my experience at the Chateau Élan was impeccable! The warm welcome of the friendly, courteous and knowledgeable staff never stopped. At every juncture of my delightful journey, they were there to make my experience effortless and ever so comfortable. The first thing that pleasantly surprised me after the wonderful reception at the main building was the scope of the luxurious appointments in my deluxe room. A spa bath long enough for me to stretch out in with hot water that never came close to running out was complemented by a massive, state of the art super king size bed that amazed me with its multitude of features yet absolute simplicity of use. Both head and foot are independently controllable in elevation and a special "Zero G" feature makes you feel close to weightless. Then, to top it off, both head and feet can be set to gently massage you into a beautiful dreamlike state. Can't sleep? This is sure to solve that problem.
Next, the Clubhouse has a lovely bar where you can socialize with your fellow guests and a relaxing dining area with views to the majestic golf course. Here the chef prepares everything to your requirements and does it with a smile. There is no need to hurry here; they even encourage you peruse today's paper over a cuppa.
The large outdoor pool is heated year round and has a wading area for the little nippers.
Tennis, anyone? No shortage of beautifully maintained courts.
If you have been looking for that perfect venue for your upcoming wedding, they have the ideal location, including a quaint replica stone chapel. The lovely gentle troubadour music filled the air the Saturday afternoon of the tine I was there.
And, not to be outdone by any of this, I decided to take plunge and have a soothing, relaxing, immensely enjoyable Swedish massage administered by one of the Spa's highly qualified practitioners. Amazing! What more can I say?
Would I recommend Chateau Élan? Without reservation!
Would I return? Tomorrow!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivarso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
5.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
8.0 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
7.5 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
4.4 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
5.0 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,257 - ₹ 22,768
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing