We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food! ”
Review of Varanda

Varanda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Varanda Restaurant is reference in the gastronomy of Fernando de Noronha and Brazil, it offers the best of contemporary brazilian cuisine. The house often receives celebrities from all over Brazil. The restaurant also does catering services for weddings and celebrations on the island, also in places like inns and boats, offering finger food or complete buffets in large services, and special menus for groups. Everything in the highest standard of excellence.
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is in the port direction. A nice balcony where you can see the sea. Nice food specially Brazilian Local Cuisine.
Taste seafood risotto gratin.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank FABIO457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 4,064 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We went to Varanda recommended by a local driver who said it was a very good place, so I had great expectations for the gastronomic experience promised. It is catered mainly for tourists and they will charge you good money for everything. Noronha in general is overpriced (which is justified by challenges in logistics and supply). We were received by a friendly waiter who took us to the table. There was live music and and straight away we were given a colourful menu. They will suggest three or four dishes (the most expensive ones) and because it was our last night on the island we ordered the lobster! After that, the quality of our experience went downhill! Waiters changed and we got stuck with a grumpy one who could not care less about our table. When the food arrived it looked quite impressive but looks can definitely be deceiving. Our lobster was extremely over cooked and eating it felt like chewing a rubber band! The star of the dish lost its appeal by what I can only call lack of basic technique! After that it took us two lengthy attempts to get the dessert menu and later on to get the bill. Nobody at any point asked us if everything was okay or if we were happy with our meal or the service. My impression was that guests in general were more interested in holding their own fashion show and did not mind the food or because of the place’s reputation it felt almost criminal to dare criticise anything since being there was a sign of social status. They will charge you for a “musical couvert” but will not tell you that in advance. I did not mind it as much because the musician was a compensation for the big fail with the seafood and was indeed very good.
Dessert was relatively balanced in flavours. We ordered the coconut fudge with tapioca icecream. And that kind of saved their gastronomic effort. Despite not feeling welcomed by the staff who work nonstop, almost to the point of looking like machines, the place was nicely decorated, with beautiful photographs of the island on the walls and frequented by really well dressed people. My advice is go with low expectations and you will be pleasantly surprised! Below is a beautiful photo of our over cooked lobster!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Very nice terasse. Friendly personal and a great variety of seafood. Shrimpsalad with mangos, Langoste are my favorites. Price quality relation reasonable.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank wolframa446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Great place, beautiful, comfortable, good waiters and the price is not so different compared with simple restaurants in Noronha.
I had dinner twice at Varanda's Restaurant, the food is delicious and exquisite, there are many flavors of capirinhas, wonderful desserts and a good Brazilian music on Mondays. I love it! I recommend!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Nothing special, we ate picanha and the meat was not tender, the rice accompanying the meat was mixed with chips (we did not like it but this is subjective) and portions are not very big. After the picanha we were still hungry so we got desserts as well, but the white chocolate brownie did not taste like white chocolate at all, it was more like a wafer/biscuit. We also got the leite pudim and it was ok. On the contrary, the Caipirinhas we drank were absolutely good! The restaurant is beautiful but located outside the town and is not very easy to find. Service is fast and prices are in line with the average of the island (but quality is lower). Maybe the fish is better, we were not lucky with what we ordered. For the same price we ate in much better and high quality restaurants

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank valentinab22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Varanda also viewed

Fernando de Noronha, PE
Fernando de Noronha, PE
 
Fernando de Noronha, PE
Fernando de Noronha, PE
 
Fernando de Noronha, PE
Fernando de Noronha, PE
 

Been to Varanda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing