We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of Villa los Mangles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa los Mangles
Ranked #3 of 36 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The review from July 2011 just below this one is completely accurate. I want to point out that there is also a blender (great for mixed drinks if you want) and an ample number of hamocks hanging about. We had a 13 month old with us and stayed in one of the apartments. The kitchen was stocked with basics and allowed us to have breakfasts and an occasional evening meal. And the 2nd room gave us a chance to hang out while junior napped or went to bed early. The hostess seemed to be custom made to own a small hotel, being enthusiastic and very friendly. Our host took care of any minor problems quickly. The towels were plush and the organic bath supplies awesome.

The closest dining (slow food restaurant) was only a few minutes walk down the beach and was one of our favorite restaurants on the island being a classic beach bar (shack). Food on Holbox isn't that great and a bit overpriced. We didn't feel like we missed much by eating in a few times.

Our son is a terror in regards to keeping a place clean. The cleaning lady got all of the Cherrios in all of the corners picked up every day.

The dogs were great with our son, very calm and our hosts were wonderful in loaning us a playmat to lay down on the hard floors of the living room and a crib w/ mosquito net. The bugs weren't all that bad in January except right around dawn and dusk.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JASONinMADISON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at Villa los Mangles for 8 days in July, following a week of unusual constant rain and grey skies. The mosquitos, which are always a deterrent in summer months for the Yucatan and Holbox in particular, were out in record numbers and we were covered in red welts during the brief golf cart taxi ride from the ferry dock to Villa los Mangles. En route, the streets were completely deserted, except for a few other golf cart taxis bringing new arrivals (it was 6:30pm) and mostly flooded with enormous potholes. What would the week by like, we wondered, with some trepidation.

Enter Antoine, who immediately made us feel at home and offered us assistance with navigating the town, restaurant ideas, tours, etc. He showed us our apartment, which was on the ground floor and consisted of a small kitchen (2 gas burners, sink, cooking equipment, full size fridge, counter, picnic style table), sitting area (long bench with cushion, TV) and bedroom (full size bed and area to hang/store clothes and personal items). It was exactly what we wanted - no frills, very clean, and most importantly had a kitchen so we could make coffee (there is an espresso maker) and eat yogurt and fruit without going to a restaurant for breakfast, as well as preparing a few simple meals.

The location is quiet and peaceful. The bed is very comfortable. The rooms were cleaned daily and we got fresh towels, beach towels, organic bath items, filtered water, etc. Our hosts could not have been kinder or more helpful. Antoine organized our whale shark trip, which was amazing, as well as a really fun horseback riding tour on the beach. We had to reschedule the horseback riding at the last minute and there was no problem. I had a bit of a stomach problem and Antoine's wife (who I never got to really speak to, but seemed very nice) offered to call a doctor.

And the beach! It is a few minutes away on foot, and so beautiful. The water is clear and blue and the sand is very soft. (Be wary of burrs on your way there. Wear flip-flops.) We spent some time in the deck chairs of a nearby resort (they were fine with us being there. We made sure to order a few menu items and drinks).

The upstairs room (3rd level) has an amazing 360 degree view of the beach and island and gets a bit more of a breeze. Even in the heat, though, we found the ceiling fans sufficient and only used the A/C twice. Upstairs has no kitchen, so that made it less appealing to us - but we coveted that enormous and private deck!

If you are terrified of dogs, this may not be the place for you..there are 2 rotties and a terrier. The rotties are both fine with people and kept a distance and barked when we entered but never growled or acted aggressive. They were friendly when their owners were around. Mostly they were splayed out in the sand, just like us. We certainly never worried about break-ins. In any case, crime is almost non-existant on Holbox.

Another plus (for us) is that the place is very small and there are very few guests at any given time. We really felt like we were sharing a portion of someone's home, and that made it much more personal and special than staying in a hotel.

The town is a 10 minute walk, which can be done on the beach or on a road. The walk is no problem, but we were badly bitten upon return (10pm or later) most nights even though we were wearing repellent and long pants or jeans and there was a breeze on the beach. (I mean 10 or more bites through our clothes.) Between 6pm-8pm, no one was out at all because the mosquitos are so bad.

The weather improved dramatically, and was sunny (hot) for most of the week. The roads dried up and were immediately resurfaced.

Yes, we would go back to Villa los Manges, I think in winter/spring. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Stay downstairs for a full kitchen or upstairs for a full view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ocellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

A great place to stay, clean and practical. The owners are there to make sure you spend an incredible holliday for a small price. It´s the perfect place to stay if you want something quiet and relaxing, either with family or friends. Would certainly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstroobants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 19Thomas83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mcgitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 km away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,119 reviews
1.1 km away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.9 km away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#2 of 20 in Holbox Island
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
2.0 km away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#16 of 20 in Holbox Island
478 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa Iguana Holbox
Casa Iguana Holbox
#5 of 36 in Holbox Island
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa los Mangles? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa los Mangles

Address: Calle Pampano, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range: ₹ 6,057 - ₹ 9,965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa los Mangles is located on the quietest area of the Island, at only 1 block from the beach and just 10 minutes walking distance from town centre. Ideal for young or middle-age couples. There are 2 apartments with kitchen, living room and bedroom, 1 Studio with kitchen, 1 double room with 2 single beds + kitchenette and 1 double room with terrace and an amazing 360° view over the Island and the sea. Please contact us also to arrange transfer to the island. Here you can book fishing trips, boat excursions, horseback riding, snorkeling with whale sharks tours (15 may-15 sept.), Kiteboarding lessons and golf car/bikes rental. The little inn is family run and the most important feature of the service is the personal treat, to make you feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa los Mangles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing