We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family owned and great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Bar Zarabanda - CLOSED

Restaurante Bar Zarabanda
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurante Zarabanda se encuentra ubicado en la paradisiaca Isla de Holbox Quintana Roo, nos especializamos en pescados y mariscos. Atencion personalizada del Chef Felix Diaz.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Family owned and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We checked out this place for lunch. We had a nice waitress and the chef, Leo, greeted us at our table. The sopa de Azteca was very good and my partner had the Marisco de sopa which was excellent. Leo was very gracious and happy we dined there and said that he would prepare any menu item to our liking, The total bill with tip and two Modelo cervezas was 286 pesos.

Very clean place right off the town square. Lots of locals dining there as well. It is defintely worth checking out.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    24
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vaemount canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have just returned from our trip to Isla Holbox ,and after a great day in the sun we found our way to Viva Zapata Grill and sat down to the best seafood soup I have eaten so good in fact we returned to have more . I opted for the lime soup this time and it was wonderful my husband had the seafood soup again and loved it. The service was wonderful and we were even presented with a reed hummimgbird when leaving, Great People and great food we will definatly be back !

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canadiantracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Two Visits -- Two Different Experiences”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We visited Zarabanda twice during our 9 day stay on Holbox. The first visit was later in the evening for "Taco Locos" which was an excellent taco meal for 2. Very tasty, and only about $8. I would highly recommend you give this a try.

The second visit was for a light lunch and the food was a bit dissapointing. The shrimp cerveche was probably the worst we had during our stay, and the shrimp was clearly freezer burned. The guacamalee and chips were excellent. The garlic shrimp was good, but not as fabulous as other places we dined during the week. My husband ordered some beef tacos and they were as bland and disappointing as could be, and really not appetizing at all. The chef noticed right away that my husband was not eating his food, and insisted on remaking a different style of tacos for him. The new tacos were very tasty.

Service was excellent on both occassions. The chef is extremely helpful, and the waitress is very sweet. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anokagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellfleet, MA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tastes are remarkable and creative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I just returned from Isla Holbox where I managed to eat in 21 different restaurants, cafés, and bars in my seven days there. By far the best meal I had was at Zarabanda, a small restaurant just off the main plaza. Friendly, talented, Chef Leo, prepared a whole grilled grouper with a most amazing sauce for my friends and I. When he found out we were celebrating birthdays, he had a cake at the end of the meal for us. We had a sweet waitress who took good care of us. What a wonderful evening!
Zarabanda is the only restaurant I returned to on my visit to Holbox. The second time I had "sopa marisco", a delicious seafood stew full of fresh crab, fish, shrimp , clams, octopus, squid and lobster!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_well888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Reliably good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Excellent service and fresh fish - every item on the menu was well explained. Excellent Mojito's!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerningvoyager5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Bar Zarabanda also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing