We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mocca Hotels(Tepoztlan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Del Tepozteco(Tepoztlan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tubohotel(Tepoztlan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
126
58
16
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
58
16
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdalai lamafew kilometersshort drivewater problemmexico citysmall townamazing placeamazing experiencetwo nightsshamanlabyrinthmeditationpoolsfacilitiesretreatweekendmountains
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

This place exceeded all my expectations! The food was amazing and the staff attentive. I was surprised that they would let you dine where ever you chose. Many pockets of beautiful places in resort to escape and retreat. pools and hot tubs spread all over property. Spa services top notch. Can't wait to return!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jstorrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Fernanda M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal de la Luz - Spa Holistic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear jstorrs,
Thank you for leaving your comments, they are very useful for our future guests. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and had a pleasant time. We hope to have you back soon.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We spent the weekend and had a Temazcal with Andrés, the shaman. Amazing experience, amazing place, and service from all the staff. If you are seeking NATURE, and Peace of mind I recommend. It´s a not a party place, it´s a place to relax and go within.

Room Tip: If you have the means, book a suite, if not the stadard rooms are also excellent.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceci_Danzantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Fernanda M, Director Comercial at Hostal de la Luz - Spa Holistic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Ceci,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your stay, we really appreciate it!
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay so much! We really hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Very weird experience. I was trying to make a reservation for their Tlama Grand Suite. But after two emails I asked how much the total would be and if they might have a discount for three nights. That's when they totally ignored me. I sent out three more emails but they never bothered to answer any of them. Strange for a $250 USD per night room! I'm a very frequent business traveller and have never faced an issue like this before. Mind you I'm also fluent in Spanish, so it's isn't a case of language barrier.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank MrVanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Fernanda M, Director Comercial at Hostal de la Luz - Spa Holistic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Mr. Vanes,
I want to apologize about the issue with the e-mails. I leave you my email address just in case you would like to reserve someday or need anything you can contact me. Also there is a 24 hr phone that could have assist you with your requests at any time. this is (739)3933 076 or FREE 018005523550
.
My email address is ecommerce@hostaldelaluz.mx

Thanks and Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

This is a beautifully crafted spa resort hotel outside of the small town with fields of grazing horses and cattle on either side. The spa offers several unique treatments and the facial and massage was good. Some therapists are better than others. Most of the staff are very accommodating and friendly; however don't expect the staff to necessarily speak English. They make super smoothies and have a pretty endless cool pool as well as a heated pool. I guess it can get cool in winter. The mid-range suites are very comfortable but they only offer wi-fi and mobile signal for your cellphone in one location, Try the labyrinth guided meditation walk with your eyes closed. Great attention to detail with holistic spiritual statues sprinkled around each area with its own character. There's no gym. Incredible views of the mountains in the near distance and lovely colorful landscaping, cobbelstone streets with cows meandering down the hill and fields of horses grazing. Its supposed to be a vortex. The Dalai Lama has blessed this spot.

Room Tip: Jr. Master suite "Mahal" private, roomy with view and terrace, great room service. Standard suites VERY basic.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Fernanda M, Director Comercial at Hostal de la Luz - Spa Holistic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Deborah,
Thank you for all your comments and recommendations, we really appreciate all our guests reviews in order to keep improving.
We are glad to know you enjoyed the holistic activities, the pools, the views and the staff fulfilled your expectations.
About the internet we have designated areas with good wi-fi connection, such as the lobby and front desk, restaurant and Bab bar, this way we promote to re-connect with yourself and with the people around you.
Hope to have you back with us soon!
Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

So ir you're thinking on a get away sorrounded by gorgeous valley to re-connect with You and your loved one, this is the place. Hostal de la Luz offers a variety of peacefull spots within the facilities to practice meditation, read your favourite book ir simply relax.
Spoil yourselves with massages at the spa, have dinner or snacks by their 3 different pools (a hot one, a templed one and a cold one) a get a "Temazcal" guided by the shaman.
Dishes are targetted on wellness and nutritive stuff, be sure to have some "Chaya" water! Is Delicious!
If you'd like to visit Tepoztlan's downtown you'll need a ride or Drive yourselves to it. There You can find local handcrafted ornaments and apparel, You can also visit some bars&restaurants, none the less, bear in mind the purpose of your getaway is to get in touch with your wellness and spirituality, so You won't be missing anything while being inside the hotel for they thought about every need to be fullfilled.

Again, DO NOT BE CHEAP on tips or gratuities, remember most of the clerks make their living through taking care of you, and extra money Will mean THE WORLD to them!
10% if service was OK.
15% if service was better than expected.
20% or more if expectations were exceeded.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helenius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Fernanda M, Director Comercial at Hostal de la Luz - Spa Holistic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Helenius,
In regards of all our staff, we want to say thank you for this amazing review, we really work hard every day to make Hostal de la Luz a special place where all our guests can feel pampered and relaxed.
We really hope to having you back soon!
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews