We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a wonderfull time”
Review of Mango Bay Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Bay Cottages
Reviewed 7 March 2009

We had a wonderfull time: My husband and I stayed at the Mango Bay Cottages for over a week. It was fantastic. They met the flight, arranged car hire, provided a lovely very clean room with a big king sized bed, and a small but well equiped kitchen. It is run by Anja & Kai, a really friendly couple who can help with every sort of advice. It ensured that we saw all the things that were fun and beautiful and also that we went and spent time at places that are just lovely, which without their help, we could easily have missed.
When we go on holiday, there are times when we want peace and quiet, and other times when we want to listen to the stories of Grenada and what is going on, and they definitely provided both. We had some real good evening meals at Mango Bay. We will return and will be recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caribbeantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangobaygrenada-com, Inhaber at Mango Bay Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2010

Hello caribbeantravel,

thank you so mutch for your review. We are happy that you had "a wonderfull time".

see you soon in Grenada...

Anja & Kai Niermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2009

We were looking for an easy and relaxing place and we even got much more. The owners have constructed almost perfect small B&B with 4 cottages in a lush garden above a secluded sandy beach with calm waters, with great snorkeling. The room is spacious, with king size bed and a table with two chairs. A small kitchen has all cooking utilities needed. Best of all is the porch with excellent views. Anja and Kai are two very attentive hosts, always at hand when needed but never intrusive. The beach is great for morning or afternoon swimming yet probably too hot for all day sunbathing due to the dark gray sand of volcanic origin. The breakfast and (optional) dinner are made from fresh ingredients and very tasty. This place is ideal for those who want to explore the island and after that want to enjoy the serene and relaxing evening. Is less suitable for families with young kids or those that seek a busy nightlife.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank xelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangobaygrenada-com, Inhaber at Mango Bay Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2010

Greating to Slovenia,

thank you both for staying at Mango Bay Cottages and for your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

see you soon in Grenada...

Anja & Kai Niermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Our first trip to the Caribbean. We chose the end of the season - May. For us it was perfect. The weather was great and there were less tourists around.

Mango Bay consists of 4 appartments built in two blocks of two. Next to this is the breakfast / dinner "balcony". All of these face out to sea, so you not only get a beautiful sunset but can also sit on the balcony and watch the odd boat or cruise ship steam past in the distance.

First impression on arrival: very welcoming. Kai picked us up from the airport and took us straight to the police station ;-))

This was not to get us locked up, but to organise the Grenada driving licence for the hire car. We rented a car from Kai for the week. It´s getting on a bit, but did it´s job - apart from the air conditioning, which is on it´s last legs.

On arrival at the cottages we were blown away by the beautiful view from the appartment. Anja came to say welcome and I must say, we felt relieved that the whole place was just as advertised.

The appartments are very new, clean, modern and have the best beds in the Caribbean! Wide, long legs, new mosquito nets. The kitchen is clean as is the bathroom. The balcony has a table, chairs and one hammock. Anja cleans every day.

No television or Internet. Usually this would worry me to death - but don´t. We got in to holiday mode much quicker without a TV. And we popped in to Grand Anse when we needed an Internet cafe (where we also had our digital photos put on to a disc).

We noticed one other review complained about not enough hot water. We had no such problems. It was always hot enough.

The beach is good. Fairly dark sand, but clean and it´s easy to get in to the water (i.e. the entrance is free of plants, weed, etc..). We snorkeled for the first time (Kai and Anja lent us the gear) and saw some nice fish, etc.. No strong currents, so we felt safe (I hope we were). Usually deserted.

The location is a good starting place for touring the island. I would highly recommend renting a car. Groceries, etc. can be found in the next town around 10 minutes drive away (there are also some small "shops" nearby).

The atmosphere in general is like "visiting friends". Anja and Kai are always willing to help. If something bothers you, ask / tell them. They live there, so they are around most of the time. So are the two dogs. They didn´t bother us, but might some people.

A couple of buts....

If you are looking for a remote place where you are alone (or just the two of you) - this is probably not for you. You have a fair amount of privacy, but you do bump in to the other guests and the owners quite a lot. Should you have breakfast or dinner at the appartments, you will probably be eating in a group. If this is not your thing, you can self-cater, or drive to a restaurant.

In spite of the new steps down to the beach, it´s a fair walk down. If you´re not fairly fit, you´ll end up driving to Grand Anse ( a good 25 minutes away).

The beach is not really a "lie down all afternoon" beach. In the afternoon the sun can be very fierce. As you only have one hammock, if there are two of you, one of you has to sit in a chair. Not as relaxing as the hammock.

I believe Kai is planning to build a deck to have some sunbeds. This would be very welcome. Otherwise, a second hammock would be an idea.

Summary:

we thought it was great for our first week on the island. Anja and Kai know the island, so they could give us lots of tips for trips. Them being there also meant we could ask any questions we might have. They were very friendly and helpful. But as I said, as they live there, it is like visiting people you know. If you want a bit of solitude, it´s probably not for you. Otherwise, it´s exactly as on the website - often not the case in the Caribbean!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DerBrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangobaygrenada-com, Inhaber at Mango Bay Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2010

Dear DerBrite,

thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

see you soon in Grenada...

Anja & Kai Niermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

We thought the place was beautiful and very relaxing. The rooms were very clean with all the amenities you needed if you wanted a night in. The views from the rooms and balconies were amazing.
Anja and Kai were both nice, but felt they could relax a bit more. For example during breakfast they kept talking. Personally I don't like people either watching me while I'm eating or talking too much. And besides, the view is amazing and you just want to chill. It's great to obtain information about the island, tips, etc. which were really helpful, but maybe after you finish eating. And that's one of the reasons why we were put off by having breakfast there the rest of the week.
A couple of other things which we thought were a bit odd happened. Nothing major, but it showed the lack of experience perhaps.
Otherwise, our stay was very pleasant in a beautiful area away from it all.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iresp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo69, owner, manager at Mango Bay Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2008

Dear iresp,

thank you for your review. But we are a little bit surprised. Why didn´t you tell you that you do not want to talk while having breakfast. On the other hand why did you ask questions during breakfast time, because how should I have known that you do not want me to answer these questions while you were still having breakfast. Also, Anja was not even around at this time. She was cleaning your room at this time. We also don´t understand these comment: “A couple of other things which we thought were a bit odd happened”, on the day you left we even asked you if everything was alright and you told us “Yes everything was just perfect”, how do you thing we can improve our service if you don´t tell us what went wrong! Instead you know giving us this review!

Maybe sometimes we should relax a little bit more, but we just want to make everybody’s vacation as perfect as possible.

see you soon in Grenada...

Kai Niermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Traveller1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theo69, owner, manager at Mango Bay Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2008

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint John Parish
16.6 km away
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
371 reviews
13.0 km away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
3.5 km away
Rumboat Retreat
Rumboat Retreat
#1 of 1 in Saint John Parish
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#6 of 11 in Grand Anse
273 reviews
10.0 km away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
10.9 km away
Mount Cinnamon Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Cottages

Address: Woodford, 0000, Grenada
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint John Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Saint John Parish
Price Range: ₹ 6,921 - ₹ 7,050 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay is an intimate, private cottage resort located on the western coast of Grenada with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and 300 feet of secluded beach. With bar and restaurant service on the beach, kayak and snorkel rentals available, and complimentary beach towels, umbrella, and lounge chairs, we make your relaxation our number one priority. Located just 20 minutes from St. George's, 15 minutes from Gouyave, and minutes from the Concord Waterfalls, Mango Bay is an ideal location for exploring the island. For the adventurous, we also offer mountain bike and scooter rentals and a variety of island tours. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing