We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
44
15
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
15
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We chose Serenity Lodges for the proximity to the airport and a relatively inexpensive price. The accommodations consist of 3 modern units owned by a local family, who lives in the complex. The owners were very laid back, hospitable and personable.

The unit we stayed in comprised a bedroom and a bathroom, everything is clean and new (the Lodge was opened 3 years ago).There is a restaurant that offers breakfast and dinner (paid extra).

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank O5426ZGmarkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Serenity lodge offered a very clean, comfortable room near the airport in Dominica, which we wanted for an early flight. The owners were very nice, very hospitable and accommodating, and the one meal that we had there was very good. We checked in one evening, had dinner, and left early the next morning, so our exposure to the property was limited, but we were very satisfied, especially for the price. They offer excellent value!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Me and my husband spent 5 nights at the Serenity Lodges.
Location: very close to the Douglas – Charles Airport (max. 15 minutes drive), on a steep side road, not so easy to find, so you have to pay attention when you arrive.
House: Ideally located in the rain forest, with beautiful views over the surrounding hills, very tranquil. Breakfast and dinner are served on the veranda, where you can fully enjoy the beauty of the place and the humming birds.
Room: very spacious, airy, impeccably clean. You have your own veranda with a very comfortable hammock. You also have the option to book the kitchen that belongs to the room. We didn't, as we fully took advantage of Carina's cooking.
We had very good quality wi-fi in our room all the time.
As stated on a previous review, it would be great to have bedside reading lamps.
Breakfast: plentiful, mostly British, rich, tasty, fresh fruit and juices every morning. A very good start in the day, especially if you are hiking.
Dinner: if you wish, you can also have dinner at the lodge. Carina will cook for you tasty meals, fresh and diversified, introducing you to the local cuisine and spices.
Hosts: Carina and Lester are very kind hosts, working hard to make their guests happy. They will organise a guide if you want to hike to the Boiling Lake (we were fortunate to go with Nigel) and they offer also smaller tours. We visited the local school, a memorable experience especially if you come from a rich WE country and we met Lester's mother, a delightful local lady, who not only explained us the local agricultural products, but also gave us insights on the Dominican life, different dialects and shared with us her hearty way of looking at life's different challenges. A delightful experience. We greatly enjoyed our evening chats with Lester, but we would have wished to spend a bit more time with Carina, who was practically all the time working in the kitchen.
We recommend the Serenity Lodges, it is a peaceful place to stay, away from the hectic in Roseau and the main touristic areas.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Aotearoa_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Friendly, helpful hosts who make everything so that you feel good uring your visit. Very quiet place, relaxing atmosphere. Beautiful mountain view. The room was very clean and comfortable.
One hammock in fron tof our door was lovely.
No kitchen equipments at all, you cannot even make a tea for yourself.
Public transportation is limited and complicated, you need a car if you want to reach anything (shop, places to see etc.)
Sometimes the wifi went off.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Viktória D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the first three nights of our two week vacation in Dominica. The atmosphere at Serenity Lodges was very peaceful and welcoming, with great hospitality from Lester and Carina, the owners. We enjoyed the homemade breakfast and dinner very much, and the convenience of not having to leave the premises in the evening was invaluable, as we did not have a rental car. Lunch was not available. Although we were able to walk to a nearby bar for snacks or drinks, I would recommend having a car if it's your base in Dominica. There are a couple of nice sites/attractions within walking distance such as the Kalinago territory and secret pools. Staying at Serenity Lodges was a relaxing perfect spot to start our vacation.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews