We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommmended Casa”
Review of Villa Cristal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Cristal
Ranked #24 of 201 Vinales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salzburg, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Highly recommmended Casa”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have stayed 2 nights at the Villa Cristal while our stay in Vinales, Cuba. This was the first time for us that we chose a Casa Particular for staying overnight and and I don't think we could have chosen better.
The bedroom with two queen size beds is in the backyard and therefore separated of the main house -you can either access your room to walk through the main house or use the garage entrance to get to the room, On the roof of the casa there is a very nice terrace where you can hang out and watch the sunset. The backyard itself is very clean and nicely decorated.
The room has, as mentioned, two queensize beds, a TV with DVD player, an air-con and and en-suite bathroom with a shower (hot & cold :-)). They have a selection of English books and DVDs and a separate safe where you can deposit your valuables.
A refrigerator in the room serves as a mini-bar and this was the first time in Cuba that we have found a little booklet where all "services" of the hotel are described, which meals you can have for breakfast & dinner and where the casa is located.
The dinner and breakfast is compared to everything else that we have eaten in Cuba fantastic. We have spent our anniversary in Vinales and at the Casa and Any really made our evening by serving a fantastic dinner with candlelights in the garden! Awesome!
in general, Any & Francisco are fantastic hosts. They take care about absolutely everything, call people up if there is something to clarify and arrange trips for you. They both are very well known in Vinales and work as a tour booking specialists so they are very well connected in town.
When we arrived, they both were out of town but everybody around knew that we were coming and people even called us up at the casa in order to ensure everything is fine.
Vinales is a very small but nice town and we were a little bit in doubt if it could get a little bit bored. We visited the St. Thomas Cave, made a half day tour through Vinales & sourrounding (try to get Armando to be your tourguide), horseback riding and many Mojitos with live music in the small bars of Vinales.
We had a great time there and we can really recommend to stay at the Casa of Any & Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacristal, Owner at Villa Cristal, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
While we are reading we feel very happy, because we know sometimes there is not enough time to write opinions about the places people stayed despite how busy we are, and we really realized you use part of your time to describe your great experience in the region of Viñales and especially in our home.
Opinions like your makes feel proud and at the same time we realized of the importance of take care very well of our business. Every day we like improve more our place.
Hope this winter in Germany is not so cold.
Remember in Viñales you have friends that you can visit any time you want
The best for you in the future!!!!
Regards
Any y Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
222
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We just got back from Cuba yesterday and had a great trip!

We highly recommend this Casa. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Any and her family are very warm, kind people. The room is well appointed - with the best shower we had during our stay in Cuba. We also loved sitting on the roof top deck (on top of the room), watching the sun set. They have a beautiful garden and we enjoyed watching hummingbirds.

This was the first casa we stayed in and we were a little shy. If I could do the trip all over again, I would ask Any to help us arrange activities - Any is very skilled at making arrangements and has extensive local knowledge. We found this out first hand. During our stay, our transfer to our next location fell through. This could have been a very stressful situation. When we let Any know what had happened, 5 minutes and 3 telephone calls later we had a whole new set of arrangements that were much better than the ones I had originally planned. We appreciate Any's help and knowing that we were in such good hands let us relax enjoy our time in Vinales (it is a very beautiful place that we have very fond memmories of).

My advice to people staying here is to let her know what you would like to. The guestbook in the room is full of glowing reviews of the activities she helped to arrange. You will have a great experience.

PS. The breakfasts were great as well - especially the coffee and fresh fruit juice!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina_and_Leah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacristal, Owner at Villa Cristal, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Hi Christina & Leah:
I really thank you for all this nice words. My husband Francisco was out of town during this days and I was a little bit worried I couldn’t take care 100% of our clients because we both work together taking care of them, and what a surprise when I saw you review this morning. That’s make me feel happy that you had a good impression of our home and our services. Your opinions about our room (shower) and garden are amazing. I remember the day of your problem and how we managed that.
You are welcome any time you want to our home which is yours any time. Viñales is gem which is not hidden any more in Cuba ;)
Cheers from Viñales and c u soon, because Canada is not so far
Any
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nykoebing, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

we only stayed one night in Villa Cristal, but found it to be one of the better places. We very wellcomed by the neighbours( thank you) and were shown their two pigs,- as the owners of the Villa were not home untill later.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacristal, Owner at Villa Cristal, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Is a shame you only stayed one night in our home and maybe you didn't have time to enjoy all the nice places Viñales region has to offer. But at least that night in our room according to your description was worth it because the most important thing in overnights is the beds, so you can recover forces for next days. Thanks for wrote it, so future clients can know this.
Hope you can come next time more days and the winter is Denmark is not so cold 
Kind Regards
Any y Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at Villa Cristal for three nights over New Years Eve. The room was fantastic, real hotel quality, with Sat DVD TV, bar fridge, excellent bathroom with shower, two comfy double beds, and air con. Even a library of books in various languages and some DVDs to watch.

The room is in its own out-building in the back yard separtate from the main house and has a patio out from with nice rocking chairs, and a roof terrance for sun bathing or admiring the view of the valley.

Ani and Francisco were fantastic hosts! They invited us to spend New Years Eve with the family, had a big party where they roasted a pig and laid on the food and beer! Even champaigne at midnight!. Both Ani and Francisco work in tourism so can hook you up with anything you want to do in the area, and they and all their friends and neighbours are so friendly and helpful.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacristal, Owner at Villa Cristal, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
We really thanks you for write your experience of your stay in our home. We were very happy to have you for New Years Eve, we had fun together and since now you are part of our family. Canada is not so far from Cuba so we will be very happy to have you again with us and share with all our family.
Hope winter in Toronto is not so cold; our winter had been very good.
C U soon and thanks one more time
Any & Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We had our first visit to Cuba during the last 2 weeks of January 2012 and stayed in Vinales for 3 days. Unfortunately Villa Cristal was full but Francisco and Ani were of immense help to us, not just in booking the Casa Esther opposite (great place) but also in providing help and assistance with many other issues as we became accostomed to life in Cuba. Villa Cristal should be a must for anyone visiting Vinales and we will definitely go back and stay with them on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacristal, Owner at Villa Cristal, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Reviews like yours make us feel proud what we do, and we will keep doing. For us is very important help people that wants to come Viñales. That’s why when sometimes we are full recommend friends places that we know they will like it ad at the same time we can take of them like we did with you in anything you want to know or do in Viñales region.
Thanks for let people knows about our help. Hope next time you can stay in our home.
Cheers from Viñales
Any y Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinales
394.4 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.5 km away
Villa Haydee Chiroles
Villa Haydee Chiroles
#20 of 201 in Vinales
194 reviews
0.0 km away
Villa Los Pandaderos
Villa Los Pandaderos
#21 of 201 in Vinales
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Casa Niurkis Cruz Torres
Casa Niurkis Cruz Torres
#49 of 201 in Vinales
80 reviews
0.0 km away
Villa Campana
Villa Campana
#39 of 89 in Vinales
31 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa Villa Silvia
Casa Villa Silvia
#29 of 201 in Vinales
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cristal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cristal

Property: Villa Cristal
Address: Rafael Trejo # 99, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,397 - ₹ 3,850
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Cristal is your friendly home in Vinales! If you don’t speak spanish! Don’t worry we speak english or french. Our philosophy is that we welcome our guests as members of our family. Our guest accommodation is in an annex of the main house with all minimum conditions you need, so guests benefit from being part of our family, but retain privacy and quiet, as well as a veranda at the front of the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cristal Hotel Vinales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing