We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Remarkable Vacation”
Outdoor Sitting Area with pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor Sitting Area with pool
Great Room Day Bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Outdoor Sitting Area with pool
Great Room
Day Bed
One of the beautifully appointed bedrooms
Luxury Kitchen with granite countertops
Beautiful outdoor space with infinity pool
Crane Beach - next to the villa
Night Time View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dan N
Guelph, Canada
1 review
“Remarkable Vacation”
Reviewed 4 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Wonderful villa. All the comforts of home. All staff were extremely polite and respectful of your time. The view is breathtaking and you instantly miss it when it is time to go. Thank you for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa and Staff
Liked least: Leaving :-)
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rbhali
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed 1 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

we recently stayed at Windermere in St. Philip. The location is excellent. The villa is absolutely lovely. But more importantly the staff was wonderfully helpful and always pleasant and available. The property is in immaculate condition and is located in a quieter location on the island than the west coast. You will be happy with every thing that this villa and staff have to offer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the staff
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinmil45
new york
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Splendor and Comfort”
Reviewed 20 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
5
people found this review helpful

The Windmere is a beautiful house in a beautiful spot. It was the perfect vacation rental for me and my family. We loved the house itself and found the location to be ideal. However, as I will explain further down, I would only caution that the Windmere's location might not suit every traveler's needs.

The house itself is in near mint condition. There are four large bedrooms each with its own bathroom plus another bathroom on the ground floor off the living room. The master bedroom is on the second floor but all of the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Three of the rooms have french doors looking out to the ocean. Furnishings are modern with everything you need but not a lot of extra clutter. Beds are big, comfortable with nice linens and comforters. There are air conditioning units in every room and big fans that keep things comfortable in main room. The shared space is essentially a big open room with a dining space, a living room with big, comfortable couches and an open kitchen with an island. Overall, I think the condition and style of the house compares favorably to an upscale hotel room.

The house is situated on the ocean and the back deck feature beautiful views of the coastline. Two sets of french doors lead from the main room to back porch. There is a pool in the back and a pagoda which offers comfortable shade in the afternoon. There are also stairs in the back which lead to a roof deck with even more expansive views of the coast line which we found to be perfect for happy hour at sunset. There is a big table on the porch and we enjoyed eating dinner there most nights.

There are two boardwalks from the back of the house. One leads to a daybed situated among the rocks overlooking the ocean and is a perfect place for a nap. The second leads to a long flight of stairs which, in turn, lead down to the ocean. The area at the bottom of the stairs has jagged rocks and the ocean is pretty powerful there. It would be possible to climb over the rocks to get in the water but we mostly explored around the rocks (and found a few conch shells). We also saw some small crabs climbing around the rocks which the kids thought was cool. However, this is not a private beach where you could lay out some towels as the surf comes right up to the rocks.

From the pictures on the web, I was concerned about whether the back of the house represented a potential danger for our young kids. The house is very well fenced in and the drop off from the deck to the ocean is more gradual than I expected from the pictures on the web. Our extended family was there with 10, 8 and 2 year old kids. You might need to keep a closer eye on kids in the 4-6 year old zipcode that would be old enough to get through the fences but might get themselves into trouble without supervision. While certainly vigilant, we tend to be pretty relaxed and found the situation to be easily manageable. However, more anxious parents might have an issue.

I would divide Barbados into 4 regions. The West Coast is highly developed with hotels, shopping and restaurants including the Sandy Lane, the most famous resort on the island. The beaches tend to be relatively thin and there is very little surf on the West Coast. The Southwest Coast is also very developed but with more surf. The East Coast has a much rougher surf and is primarily a surfers haven with less development and a more bohemian feel (recommend visiting for physical beauty but not good for kids swimming). Windmere is on the Southeast Coast. There is some development here including the well known Crane Resort. However the development is not as concentrated as on other parts of the island. We managed to see most of the island during our trip and much preferred the pristine setting of the Windmere to any other place we might have stayed. However, I think a car is essential if renting at the Windmere due to limited number of close by dining or beach options and, with traffic, it could easily take 45 minutes to drive back to the West Coast for a more elaborate night out (Restaurants on the southeast coast would have been much closer but would still require a drive or a taxi). We were mostly happy cooking at home or eating at the Crane (Carriage House at the Crane has great views for lunch and food is fine albeit nothing special).

Windmere is located directly next door to the Crane resort and I was able to walk to the stores in the Crane resort in 10 minutes. (The resort is set back so does not interrupt the incredible view). It would be possible to walk to either Foul Bay to the west of Windmere or Crane Beach to the east in 15 minutes or so but it would be difficult to do with a bunch of towels and kids etc and we almost always chose to drive (walking might be more feasible with no kids involved. The house is situated in a small cul de sac near 3 or 4 other houses and the area seemed very safe (actually the whole island felt very safe to us). It was a 2 minute drive to near by convenience stores and a 5-7 minute drive to the larger grocery store at 6 Roads where we bought mint for mojitos.

Some of the websites I checked cautioned about strong surf on this part of the island but my 8 year old girl was very comfortable swimming at Crane beach, which is extremely beautiful. Crane beach can be accessed though the resort (just tell them that you are eating at Carriage House) or by public access less than one minute further down the road by car. We chose to drive to several different beaches during our week in Barbados including Enterprise (Miami) beach very beautiful with mix of locals and tourists 15 minute drive and Dover Beach, another 5 minutes past Enterprise beach.

The manager of the house was very helpful, picking up my parents from the airport and arranging for a taxi to pick us up. She was also extremely quick to address any question that came up during our stay. Another very lovely woman would come to clean up each morning and gave us great advice about getting around the island. They also offered reliable taxi service but we mostly drove ourselves.

In conclusion: a beautiful house, great location, great views and great management. We had two slight complaints. First, the pool is not heated which is typical for Barbados (we noticed pools were not heated at the fancy Crane resort for example). The water was not freezing but too cold for my kids to spend extended time (they are admittedly spoiled on this issue). Also, there was not a bbq grill when we got there which we viewed as essential given that we intended to prepare many of our meals at home. However, this issue was remedied by management which bought us a new charcoal grill and told us they have plans to install a permanent grill.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Condition of house and view
Liked least: Pool not heated but this is typical even in fancy resorts
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex G
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“INCREDIBLE ACCOMODATIONS!!”
Reviewed 9 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

If anyone is heading to Barbados I highly reccommend you stay at the Windmere or Craigmere villas. These Villas are the most impressive houses I have ever stayed in, the way they hang on a cliff over the ocean is surreal and the view is like nothing I have ever seen. Not to mention the private infiti pool and world class beaches on either side of the villas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The top notch service and luxury accomodation
Liked least: The fact that I had to leave
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara M
Miramichi, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular!!”
Reviewed 22 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

This was my 3rd trip to Barbados, usually I stay at Cragmere Villa, which is also a fantastic place to stay for your week of luxury!! This time we decided to stay at the new Windermere Villa which is located right beside Cragmere. Unbelieveable view, beautiful living quarters,location and service! Our Villa manager Carolyn and housekeeper Sabrina, made sure we felt right at home and anything we needed, they were there to help. They both were spectacular ! Thank you for your incredible kindness and because of it I will be sure to return sooner rather than later !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, unreal !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing