We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE CRANE!!! BARBADOS! WONDERFUL! WONDERFUL!”
Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“THE CRANE!!! BARBADOS! WONDERFUL! WONDERFUL!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Perhaps the most beautiful place on Earth. The Resort is magnificent, the Staff so kind and caring and the food (and the Crane Coolers) ----just great.
We stayed there for 9 days and never left the property! Why should we when everything is perfect there? The pools, the shops and the Beach.

AND we love it that the trade winds never stop. Keeps you from getting hot while tanning!
Our 12 year old had a wonderful time at the beach...the lifeguards were so kind to him and taught him to ride the "boogie board" like a pro.
Be sure and give this place a try. You will NOT be disappointed.
(Also be sure and order the Lobster Thermidor at L'Azure......unbelievable!)

Room Tip: We love the historic hotel.......great views.......the pool with the columns is outstanding and neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear BarbaraVannote,

I could practically feel the excitement from your words! The cooling trade winds are a particularly alluring feature of the Resort as they continually circulate throughout our ocean front residences – the Historic Hotel in particular.

Chef Michelle Maloney and her team in L’Azure were delighted by your wonderful comments! The Lobster Tail (Your Style) Grilled, Thermidor or Oven Roasted is indeed a popular dinner option.

Thank you for posting this fantastic review. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,455
    594
    187
    114
    112
See reviews for
595
1,209
71
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The one bedroom suites (we stayed in block 4 overlooking the pool and the sea) are lovely. Very comfortable and did not need to use the aircon due to sea breeze. The facilities are improving year on year and it's nice to have a general store plus various places to eat and drink depending on what you fancy - from a sandwich to a gourmet meal. Everyone goes on about the west coast, but the east coast is the 'real Barbados'. The Crane beach is truly breathtaking and the hotel have their own loungers for your use. The staff, without exception, are fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble and they are all so friendly. There is some construction going on, but they seem to move it around so you're never disturbed. This was our 9th visit and we will be back every year for the forseeable future - we love it!,,

Room Tip: Try to get a room in blocks 3, 4 or 5, preferably on a higher floor for the lovely breeze and fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Petnic,

We couldn’t agree with you more. The East Coast of Barbados certainly does have a more authentic feel. We are delighted you enjoyed your residence – One Bedroom Ocean View Suite – which offers breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. These residences also benefit from the circulation of cooling trade winds which totally eliminate the need for AC.

We are continuing to complete the Residences in the Park (the new building opens this summer), but we minimise any inconvenience to our guest. Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review and look forward to celebrating your 10th visit.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Crane from April 20-27, 2012. The layout of the crane is beautiful. There are many different types of beach views to experience. The west cost of Barbados is more windy and roguher than the serene (almost no air movement) east coast. My wife and I prefer the west coast. The room we stayed at was very spacious and clean (we had the private pool room overlooking th ocean). The staff are superb and very friendly. One of our concerns coming to the Crane was that we didn't want to be the only young couple staying at a resort and were pleasantly surprised that there were young couples, couples with kids, etc.
Overall, we rate our experience a 5 out of 5 and will come back to this property.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear A M,

We are pleased you enjoyed an “absolutely fantastic” stay with us. The Crane was meticulously designed to complement the beauty of its natural surroundings. The East Coast of the island is actually famous for its gusty trade winds which come off the Atlantic Ocean.

We are also delighted your fears were allayed as The Crane welcomes guests of all ages. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wall, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was probably our tenth trip to Barbados, but our first time staying on the East coast and our first time at The Crane. I have to say I loved it! From the first moment we arrived everything was perfect. We were looking for a stress-free vacation in a beautiful location with really nice, friendly people, and that is exactly what we got. The one and only complaint I had with the room (which was amazing BTW - we were on the top floor of bldg 3 with the most stunning views of the ocean) it was advertised as having AC, and there was a button on the wall that said AC, but it didn't seem to work. No matter - the room was so beautiful and we kept the windows open with the shutters & fantastic breeze coming in all the time we really didn't need it all week. As far as food goes, we ate at all four restaurants, and had good service and great meals at all four. Favorites were the farmers pizza at D'onofrio's, the duck crepe at L'Azure, and the flying fish cutter at the Carriage House. One thing I would like to point out is I have seen other reviews where people have said Crane staff members were rude or not helpful - we never once found this to be the case. Everywhere we went we were met with pleasant smiles from every single person we came across. I would especially like to point out Theo, one of your bartenders, who did a great job all week keeping us all entertained and even very patiently tried to teach us the rules of cricket! The staff in the Carriage House was great all week too. All in all we had a great week and I can't wait to go back again. Oh - one last person I would like to thank is someone I only spoke to very late at night on the phone - Stephan, but he was very helpful and I never got the chance to thank him...

Room Tip: We loved our room in bldg 3, top floor ocean view. Higher floors = better breeze I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Christine R,

It appears as though The Crane was exactly what you were looking for on your Barbados vacation. We are thrilled you enjoyed many of the physical features of the Resort such as the grand residences, superb restaurants and of course the stunning ocean views.

Theo was delighted by your special mention. It was his pleasure to teach you the game of cricket! He and Stephen, like all the employees here at The Crane take great pride in their work and are always willing to go that extra mile.

Don’t become strangers. We expect that this was the first of many more visits to The Crane!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, RI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

When you enter the village the staff makes you feel you are home again. We stayed ( my family , wife and 2 children 8 and 11) in a 2 bedroom jr suite with our own private pool on the first floor. I would recommend getting the pool if you have children as when your day at the beach and resort pools are done, you can finish the day by cooking dinner and letting the children continue thier day in the water. The beach cannot be decribed in words, an elevator to paridise. The restaurants on the resort are fantastic and children friendly. I do recommend Zen for an adult night out. The room attendent we had Valarie was fantastic as well as her supervisor Sandra, when they found out it was my birthday they left me with a nice surprise and they were very attentive to our needs. I rate the Crane as one of the resorts in all the Caribbean.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gensou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear gensou12,

We definitely share your views – The Crane is indeed “the best of Barbados,” if not of the entire Caribbean! Sandra and Valarie were delighted by your special mention! It was our pleasure to welcome you home and we are delighted you continue to enjoy many of the alluring features of the resort.

The Zagat rated Zen in particular is a must-do for all of our adult guests. Chef Thai Van Ly and his team create wonderful Thai and Japanese dishes nightly making a dinner at Zen an experience not to be missed!

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
13.9 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,012 reviews
18.3 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,563 reviews
21.7 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
13.3 km away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,954 reviews
13.7 km away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Property: The Crane Resort
Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,855 - ₹ 40,439
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing