We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best!”
other travellers have booked this property
Stunning Edwardian Villa with beautiful gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Edwardian Villa with beautiful gardens
A rather lovely part of the world! Hafod Cae Maen (highlighted) sits above Portmeirion Village
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Stunning Edwardian Villa with beautiful gardens
A rather lovely part of the world!
Hafod Cae Maen (highlighted) sits above Portmeirion Village
The family-friendly sitting room
The library - our favourite room.  Has an open fire, a piano, and hundreds of books
The kitchen - fully equipped by a professional chef
The dining room - seats 8 with ease and 10 good friends!
The house and garden
The Portmeirion Room
The Portmeirion Room
The playhouse in one corner of the garden
The Rhinog Room
The Moel Y Gest Room - can also be made up as one king-size bed
The Cnicht Room - can also be made up as one king-size bed
The view from the balcony in the Portmeirion Room
Dine al fresco in the garden
Relax by the fire in the library
The south-facing garden has panoramic views
Portmeirion beach - accessible at low tide and, in our experience, a good spot for proposals!
Our house is the one left of centre!
Hafod Cae Maen is accessed along a farm track
Hafod Cae Maen was built in 1919
Stunning Edwardian villa with beautiful gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Porthmadog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VincePayn...
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed 3 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We had another amazing weekend at Hafod! Can't wait till next time!,A family visit Grownups and dogs. We absolutely love this house and has many happy memories from our childhood. So well equipped and maintained. We were very lucky to have beautiful weather so were able to enjoy the garden to the max. We want to thank Clarke and Paul and Gwen so much and look forward to visiting again very soon.The dogs had an amazing time and have been sulking since arriving home! Says it all really! Just a magical home! Thank you again Lucy and all the family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bessieBen...
Benllech
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paeceful Bliss”
Reviewed 3 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

A wonderful family get together in a lovely home with super views and comfortable and relaxing rooms and bedrooms throughout.Lovely grounds.
The Property is in the perfect location to totally relax and chill.
We enjoyed walking along the Cob to Porthmadog

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil J
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed 16 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Our family stayed here for the first time in June 2017 for a long weekend and family reunion.
we completely fell in love with the home and the truly amazing relaxing location and we just couldn't resist returning again this June 2018 for 10 days.
Set on a hill overlooking the estuary the panoramic views are simply stunning with beautiful surrounding gardens the peace and quiet is simply bliss.
Amazingly we chose the hottest place to be in the UK at the time.

We wined and dined and entertained our extended family in the relaxing gardens with an outside caterer for the main event which impressed everyone that attended.
Everyone that came commented on the beautiful Home and surroundings so much so that we had to evict the guests as no one wanted to leave.

There is everything you could wish for with local shops, beaches and places to visit.
The local Tesco’s will deliver which is a bonus for the main shopping.

We met Paul the owner this year, truly first class gent and host, he even popped down to the local chemist when one of our guests was feeling a little worse for wear after the parting and brought us back the perfect hangover cure.

Apologies to anyone that wanted to book for next June 2019 as we've already booked two weeks so get in quick in case we book the other two;-)

Finally we must also mention Gwen, she’s amazing and will assist you with anything and nothing is too much trouble at all, she took delivery of our Tesco Shop and unpacked everything for our arrival, she even posted us back items which we had left on our departure.

We would truly recommend to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2018
Dear Phil - thank you SO much for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review! And for being fantastic guests :-) Paul was so pleased to have been able to meet you and we look forward to a long and mutually beneficial relationship! And yes, we couldn’t agree more about Gwen. She is wonderful and we are very lucky to have her. We look forward to your next visit! Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley123...
Millom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Holiday Rental”
Reviewed 9 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This is the perfect holiday rental, perched on a sloping lawn overlooking the estuary with a short walk downhill to the intriguing village of Portmeirion. The house is a gem: beautifully decorated and equipped, with a thought to all types of guests including children and lots of activities and hidey holes for wet weather days. We couldn't fault it: in fact, we could easily move in and live there permanently. Thoroughly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Dear Lesley

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are really glad you had a great time and that you loved the house. We love it too! We hope to see you again some time.

Best wishes

Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albutt
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The very best holiday home I have ever booked!”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I organised a surprise get together here for my husband's birthday. It was a great success, in part, thanks to the spacious, extremely comfortable, beautiful and spotlessly clean accommodation. We all agreed that the website does not do the house justice. Gwen, the Housekeeper, is always on hand to help with any queries and she definitely added value to our brilliant stay. Thanks Gwen!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for one of the very best reviews we have ever received! Re Gwen - we think she is fantastic and are always grateful when people appreciate her so thank you. Hope to see you again some time. Best wishes, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing