We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cafe.”

The Galley Cafe and Chef Shop
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Came across this café a little bit out of the centre of Tarbert on the harbourside. You have to pass a few properties that are a bit run down but this café is lovely. We had delicious home-made soup with very fresh, warm, crusty bread. Also sells a small selection of nice clothing. Friendly and excellent value.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lizaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Stumbled across this but had a great lunch. Great value, friendly and fast service, with lovely art and interesting clothes also for sale. My pannini delivered more than I expected, with a lovely salad garnish which did more than pay lip service to the idea. Worth walking along the quayside to get to as you could easily miss it if you don't walk far enough. Free WiFi. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We were revisiting Tarbert after many years and after our wander wanted a coffee and scone or similar snack. We landed upon the cafe and were welcomed by the owner, busy mixing something. Making ice cream to go into her planned chocolate milk shake. Strawberry milk shake was already advertised so one of those, a coffee and lovely, warm homemade scones, was our choice. The milk shake was great, definitely not low calorie or low fat but nicely garnished with strawberries and lots of whipped cream, and the scones were good as well.
Soups and salads were also being ordered which looked nice.
A really good find toward the far end of the Harbour.
Hope she has a good summer with lots of satisfied visitors.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cumberland70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

If you're looking for a tasty snack and an authentically friendly welcome drive past the other cafes/restaurants to the far end of the harbour and eat from The Gallery. Really nice food at great prices.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 8MikeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Stopped at this quirky wee cafe for soup teas/ coffees on our way back to Glasgow from Stonefield Castle. Nice & relaxed with tasty food served. Not too expensive.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hkghatorae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Galley Cafe and Chef Shop also viewed

Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Been to The Galley Cafe and Chef Shop? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing