We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

All I can say is that I stayed at norton lodge for a wedding reception. Vanessa Hall who seems to run the place is rude and our so called plasma tv didn't work. The wedding couple were disappointed to say the least!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank roxyrox123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa1946, Owner at Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
We are very sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay. We all do our very best to ensure customer satisfaction.
I am sure that if they had approached a member of staff with any problems we could have resolved the situation.
It is very difficult to deal with issues after the event.
We had many guests come to thank us for a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    119
    44
    18
    18
See reviews for
43
159
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newark, nottingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We booked our wedding reception between 8 to 9 months in advance at Norton Lodge after a viewing. We then called to arrange an appointment as advised 3 months before our wedding reception was due to take place to finalise numbers and final decisions. A few days later I was mortified and horrified to say the least to have received an EMAIL only to notify us that they had accidentally DOUBLE BOOKED us on our most special day!! My mobile number was on the email as I originally arranged ordered information via email yet Vanessa Hall chose to email me. After a long discussion we had no choice but to amend our wedding reception to the sunday. We were offered minor compensation for there mistake, her excuse was the new computer system yet when we had originally booked our wedding reception everything was noted in a wedding diary!! We were shocked and disgusted that it took them 6 months to realise that we had been double booked. Some friends couldn't attend the sunday which led to more upset. After checking into our bridal suite we notified Vanessa Hall that our room did not lock, we once again were shocked with the response that if anything went missing then we only have our guests to blame!! Lastly upon checkout they had decided to uplift prices for the food, wine and even added back the minor compensation that we had been guaranteed without any prior notification. After another irritating 30 minute discussion she tried to correct it but the damage had been done. I would never ever recommend this place to anyone wanting a special occasion. They are unreliable and rude.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GRADFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa1946, Owner at Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
We were very concerned about this review as we did all we could to rectify a difficult situation.
Of course we were very upset that the wedding day had been double booked. Mistakes do occur but this sort is very rare thank goodness!.
I notified the couple by e-mail as this was their preferred means of communication.
We offered to help them find another local venue and pay for any costs incurred to notify their guests. This was three months before the wedding.
They declined this offer and opted to change the date. We gave them a substantial discount and free disco etc.
The remark about the room lock was taken out of context. I explained that their posessions would be alright as there was no other customers apart from the wedding guests. The lock was soon repaired.We apologise unreservedly for any distress caused to the bride and groom. We can assure all future wedding parties that the new booking system should not allow this to happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I have just had my wedding at Norton Lodge and I couldn't have asked for a better day. On the morning of the wedding, we were able to have breakfast earlier than the usual breakfast time, and I have to say it was really tasty.
The whole day was just perfect...the food was great, the staff were really attentive and the bridal suite was simply beautiful.
During breakfast of the morning after the wedding myself and my husband spoke to everyone that stayed in the hotel and they felt the same way as we did...they couldn't have asked for a better venue for our wedding.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy_and_Leon_Ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa1946, Owner at Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your day with us.
We are very pleased and privilaged that you chose Norton Lodge for your wedding day.
We wish you all the very best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I booked and had confirmed 4 rooms at this hotel only to be told by recorded delivery letter at the last moment that my booking had been cancelled. No apology.

I have travelled the world both on business and pleasure for more decades than I care to count and have never been treated in this manner. The booking had been accepted and confirmed for sereral months, so there is no excuse for this type of underhand practice.

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
9 Thank my2wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa1946, Owner at Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
We had problems with our bookings which resulted in this customer's booking getting lost in the system. We had been fully booked on these dates for a year in advance. I spoke to the customer and his company on the phone three times. I apologised for the mistake..I also wrote to the customer explaining the unfortunate situation.
I found the customer alternative accommodation in the near vicinity.
I can reasure all future customers that a new system is in place so that this situation does not occur again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We got a late booking here due to city hotels being full
Excellent facilities. Owners very friendly and obliging.
Needed early breakfast and got a wonderull English before 7.00.am
Very clean and modern rooms with free wi-fi etc.
Will definately book here first next time

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris1973_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton Disney
7.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
7.4 km away
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
#1 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
483 reviews
10.0 km away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
323 reviews
9.9 km away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
178 reviews
16.3 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Old Harbour Farm Newark Road, Norton Disney LN6 9JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Norton Disney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Norton Disney
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,498 - ₹ 7,255
Hotel Class:3 star — Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing