We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Montgomery's Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party
Welcome
Dogs love the flagstone floor with under floor heating!
Somewhere to hang your coat after a nice, long walk
Oak and brickwork give character
Lobby leads through to the open plan living area
Living room with underfloor heating and cosy wood burner
Wood Burner for Cosy Days or Nights in. A fire guard is provided
Dining table and chairs for 4 if you choose to eat in. TV has internet connection and BlueRay DVD
Fully Fitted Integrated Kitchen appliances, including dishwasher, washer/dryer and microwave
Cook in, or eat out pub and cafe less than 5 minutes away, it's your choice!
View to the deck from the kitchen. Guests tell us the window makes a handy serving hatch for BBQs!
Upstairs Downstairs View
Galleried landing with night light
Quality oak doors and furniture compliment original beams
Quality, hypo-allergenic bedding. Choice of super king double beds, or ....
Full-size twins, just ask.
Rooms are styled with care and equipped with TV/DVD players, hair dryers, hot water bottles, etc.
Plenty of storage in both bedrooms for all your things
Kids love the infinity mirror!
Heated towel rail and soft, fluffy towels
Powerful shower and loads of hot water. Toiletries provided.
Outside, original Coach House doors are retained and incorporated into the new design
A gated and fenced driveway with ample parking
Private deck area with seating for four, parasol and BBQ
Deck leads to gated and fenced grass area ideal for dogs
We've had loads of dogs to stay of all breeds. We try to make sure they love their holiday too
A gated, fenced grass area for those essential doggy ablutions. A poo bin is provided
Beautiful Herefordshire countryside
On a good day, you can see 4 counties when out walking nearby
Whitney toll bridge - canoe or kayak under it and stop off at the pub a minute from your front door
Rural relaxation
Hay Bluff, the Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons - all close by and so much more too
The Coach House is an ideal base for visiting the annual Hay Festival
Markets and festivals happen in Hay all year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen O
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Lovely cottage for "getting away from it all". Dog friendly, toddler friendly and adult friendly! Everything just looked brand new, owners have done a fabulous job in the renovations and are also very welcoming. The welcome pack was most welcome! The night skies were mesmerising through the skylights, I don't think I've ever seen so many stars!
A perfect base for exploring. With a good local dog friendly pub at the end of the road.
I've already recommended this cottage to several family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing in front of the fire.
Liked least: Being nervous about a muddy dog :-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Hello Helen O! That was quick off the mark, you have only just left and your review popped up!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and grateful that you thought enough of our Coach House to recommend us to your family and friends - thank you. Please let them know that the friendly welcome we can do and the friendly pub is an added bonus, but don't forget the disclaimer: 'Mesmerising stars' may or may not be available during your visit! Joking aside, we hope to see you, and your family and friends, at some time in the not too distant future. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_01...
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The Coach House was extremely comfortable, and Steve and Alison were very welcoming - I couldn't fault anything about my visit. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shower was a delight.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
Short and sweet Alison, if I can respond in kind; very many thanks and we would love to see you again! Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevan M
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Impeccable hospitality and delightful cottage.”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The Coach House has been painstakingly restored and converted into a contemporary and cosy cottage that provided a delightful four-night stay for me and my family. The accommodation is very well appointed, and presented in as-new condition (you could easily assume you were the first to stay there). Steve is a warm and generous host, and everything one could want was anticipated and provided, including unexpected touches like a Christmas tree and decorations (even though we were not staying for Christmas). Nothing to fault. Very highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Very many thanks Kevan M for your kind review and good to see that you all made it back to California safe and sound! We are of course more than pleased that you were happy with things and that in Montgomery's Coach House you found everything to your liking and everything that you needed. The least we could do was put up a Christmas Tree even if, unfortunately, you left just before the big day - glad you enjoyed it. Hopefully you will consider staying with us again the next time you are on this side of the 'Pond". Very best wishes to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy C
Stone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exactly as advertised”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I found Montgomery Coach House by chance after a friend suggested I might like this area. So, I booked myself a little birthday treat and took my husband along for the ride (well he drove). If I was an owner then I would like to think that I was like Steve. Ready and waiting for us; eager to show us around the house - but not intrusive. When I said I'll just wipe my feet before walking around he said "don't worry, it's your house now".
Everything about the house was delightful. It was warm, clean, quiet, tastefully decorated and furnished and, despite being not far from the road, very quiet.
The downstairs living area was great for two of us. Perhaps if there are 4 people and you want to cook then you may find it a little tight.
The upstairs was spacious and comfortable with beautiful big beds.
The surrounding area is beautiful. Despite the time of year, we saw amazing landscape that just popped up when we were least expecting it.
Finally, even though it's only a minor thing I think it makes a big impression when the owner leaves a welcome basket - it's that little treat that makes you know you're on holiday. And a very nice basket it was too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It had a very cosy feel about it.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
As always, we are very grateful when our guests take the time, and make the effort, to let their fellow holiday makers know how they found us during their stay. We are even happier when they tell everyone that they enjoyed their time with us - thank you Joy C for being that guest. We are delighted that you liked the welcome basket although please don't think it always contains Christmas Crackers! Who knows, if you time your next visit to this beautiful part of the country correctly you may find an Easter Egg next time......
Kind Regards and thank you for choosing to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic O
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

It is rare to stay anywhere where the owners have genuinely thought of and provided everything that anyone could reasonably expect, and more besides. A very high spec cottage, toasty warm and comfortable, fabulous shower. All very welcome on a wet and miserable November weekend. Thank you so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: top quality of everything
Liked least: can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
It was our pleasure Dominic, we are delighted that you found everything to your liking and that you were 'toasty' in spite of the weather; the underfloor heating is pretty amazing so hopefully you didn't have to go any where near breaking out the hot water bottles! Next time you are up this way you know where to find us.......... Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing