We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in a Castle in a Hill-town in Umbria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antica Dimora alla Rocca
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Trevi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed here for 4-nights as part of a Collette Explorations tour through Tuscany and Umbria. I had a nice room, and it was quite large for one person. I was surprised how nice the bathroom was, and I had a window in there as well. Be aware that your shower water will be all over the bathroom floor if you do not prepare the tub ahead of time. If you place a towel between the glass and the tub you will be fine!! Obviously, this was a problem the first night.

This location was chosen because it was convenient for seeing this region of Umbria, and the town is very small, which is nice: A locals kind of place. There was lots of construction and refurbishing going on in town, but it did not disturb us in the evening. I had another window in my bedroom, which overlooked the front of the hotel. The hotel looked like an castle, and apparently parts of the hotel were built in 1650.

The restaurant downstairs was nice, and we ate there one night as a group, but we found a lovely little restaurant on the town square, just as you enter the square on the left.

I did not have too much time to explore in the town due to morning departures. Overall, this is probably the nicest hotel in town and very centrally located for exploring the region.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a tub and shower.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Antica Dimora alla Rocca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed for a week as part of the same group which I believe included reviewer Gaskell_10. When we arrived our group were given room keys on a first come, first served basis and we finished up in a very small room on the second floor, served by a single lift and a rather dangerous staircase (worn and shiny stone steps). We had a pleasant view and the bed was comfortable, but the room was very small with only two very small drawers so my husband finished up leaving his underwear in his case and we piled up t-shirts and jumpers in the bottom of the wardrobe. The bathroom was nice and light and airy but had a very poor shower in a small compartment with a fixed overhead nozzle, which I hated. From speaking to others, I think the rooms and bathrooms/types of shower etc varied quite a lot, and in an old building one may need to make some allowances where room size is concerned. However, the public rooms downstairs were gloomy, shabby and not at all welcoming. I have stayed in old palazzi with antique furniture before in Italy and they were much nicer than this, especially the one on Venice Lido last autumn. I wouldn't rate the room or hotel facilities generally as more than 3 star at best, but the restaurant is quite the opposite and would get 5 stars if you had a rating for food. This was the saving factor for us, as good food is always an important element of any holiday as far as we are concerned.
Trevi itself is small and quiet and its sights quickly exhausted, but it is quite a good base for exploring the many other interesting towns in this picturesque area.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nosandinmyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I stayed in this hotel as part of a small group tour. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor I had high hopes, especially as the place is rated as a 4 star. A 4 star hotel this is definitely not - maybe 3 at best. The hotel rooms, for the most part, are tired and need to be refreshed or updated. Several of our group complained about bugs in their rooms though I never had this issue. One couple got moved twice in three days.

The bathroom left a lot to be desired. Everyone in the group complained about the quality of the bathrooms. My room had a tub with a hand held shower. This meant that the bathroom was filled with water after my partner and I showered in the morning. There was mould in the tab enclosure, which isn't surprising given the quality of the shower and the lack of ventilation.

The closet offered us 6 hangers that looked like they had been left over from previous guests. There were only two small drawers to put things in. Given that we were staying for 3 nights we really wanted to unpack but couldn't.

The buffet breakfast offered to guests was very limited and, surprising for Italy, the coffee was terrible. The breakfast did not change - no variety offered. Eggs were extra - hardboiled or fried.

The town is extremely quiet with nothing to recommend it in terms of things to do or see. There are some good restaurants in the town including the restaurant attached to the hotel where we enjoyed a good meal one evening. This is a hilltop town so be prepared for hilly terrain if you stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beavertrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Just returned from a week at the Antica Dimora. The hotel is full of old world charm, high painted ceilings, tall windows with brocade curtains and shutters. Our room had a separate lounge with comfy sofa and table and a balcony over the main door of the hotel. The chef produced excellent meals every night and, as vegetarians, we were really looked after well. Everywhere was clean and we had a comfortable bed and the small square outside the hotel was quiet at night. Trevi is a lovely little place with marvellous views over the Vale of Spoleto. It has a cathedral and a museum showing the story of the olive which Trevi is noted for - it has the best olive oil in Italy!
Lots of lovely places to visit around, Assisi, Orvieto, Spoleto, Montefalco, Todi,
etc. etc. A delightful place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 101 with the balcony over the front door
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gaskell_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

.... it is just a bit warmer and the beds are more comfortable. I loved the rooms. I felt like being in a princess castle. We had a lot to celebrate, and we chose this place. The rooms were clean and spacious. The walls and the ceilings were nicely decorated, even in the corridors. The stuff was very kind and professional. The restaurant of this hotel is one of the most elegant places in Trevi, with and excellent local cuisine. Great atmosphere, great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheDreamGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trevi
2.3 km away
Il Borgo dell'Ulivo
Il Borgo dell'Ulivo
#1 of 7 in Trevi
236 reviews
33.4 km away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
875 reviews
0.3 km away
Il Terziere
Il Terziere
#3 of 7 in Trevi
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hotel della Torre
Hotel della Torre
#5 of 7 in Trevi
198 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel & Resort Le Colombare
Hotel & Resort Le Colombare
#1 of 1 in Sant'Eraclio
341 reviews
22.7 km away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Dimora alla Rocca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Dimora alla Rocca

Address: Piazza della Rocca 1, 06039 Trevi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Trevi
Price Range: ₹ 6,753 - ₹ 18,879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Dimora alla Rocca 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trevi is located on the top of an hill along the Flaminia speedway and is a charming small medieval Borgo, rich in art, in a overlooking position with a great view towards Assisi and Spoleto. Constructed in concentric circles, Trevi resembles a spiral-shaped shell which preserves intact its ancient heart: The Complex Antica Dimora alla Rocca, composed by two adjoining, historical Buildings of the XVII Century – Palazzo Valenti & Palazzo Urighi - and by the Medieval Borghetto del Mostaccio, less than 100 feet far from these. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antica Dimora alla Rocca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Dimora Alla Rocca Hotel Trevi
Antica Dimora Alla Rocca Trevi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing