We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best weekend of our lives!”
Review of Castello di Meleto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Meleto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We were married in Castello Meleto just over a year ago, and I couldn't recommend it more highly as a wedding location, or simply as a place to stay for a few days. The landscape is of course absolutey stunning in this part of Tuscany, and the castle itself is an authentic 12th century monument that has been beautifully preserved and made livable for modern times. The villas dotted around the vineyard are beautiful, and offer plenty of privacy for guests. We booked the entire place out for 3 days (we had over 130 guests, with about 80 of them staying onsite) and our guests had an amazing time, both as part of the wedding celebration and in their own leisure time. Our wedding planner provided by the castle, Katia, could not have been nicer or more professional to deal with. We had a lot of input into the planning as went for a non traditional wedding, and she was extremely accommodating and did her best to work with our budget throughout. The caterers were Class Recivimenti (they came through the castle's recommendation) and we could not recommend them more highly. Our friends still talk about the pre-dinner buffet! Their service was highly professional, and they are excellent value. All in all, the beauty of the surroundings, the warmth of the Italian welcome, the food and the haunting back-drop of the castle provided an even more incredible celebration than we could have wished for in our wildest dreams. I would recommend this place to anyone who is thinking of getting married in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mhaggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 124 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

we stayed there for 3 nights and the place is exceptionally beautifull. it was exactly the way we have imagined tuscany before arriving there. We stayed at canonica room which was nice and clean. the breakfast served in the castel which is very romantic.
the wine the pool and the views make this location very exceptional. we will certainly be back :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We were a family of 9 (ages 6-71) staying in the Reggello area. We ventured here and it was sooooo totally worth the trip. The wine tasting was the best, the wines were devine and unknown to us, a castle tour was available. It was one of the nicest tours we ever took. We took a family picture in the "theatre"-most of us went up on the stage and it was a rewarding experience. Our grandchildren also enjoyed the tour.

This is a must-see destination. Just sitting on the grounds was a pleasant experience. Thanks to Gabriella and Anthony (I believe that was his name who gave us the most informative wine tasting).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birkiecontessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We spent two nights here as we were looking for possible wedding venues in the area. The apartment we had was excellent, it was clean and tidy and with spectacular views.

The lady on reception when we checked out could've been a littler cheerier, although all the other staff we came across were very friendly.

The restaurant at the foot of the hill on which the hotel is at the top of is well worth a visit. The food was delicious.

I would certainly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirbycooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Location on a beautiful hill side in a beautiful old church or castle. We stayed in the renovated church. There is a wine shop with reasonable prices on the property and a great dinner and castle tour. You can buy a few bottles, drink them and watch the sunset. I loved the dinner. It was 38€ a person but well worth it. You get wine tasting, meet some interesting wine enthusiasts, and learn about the history of the castle. It was my favorite part of my 9 day euro trip. I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorvaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
1.8 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
5.8 km away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
596 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel La Fonte del Cieco
Hotel La Fonte del Cieco
#6 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
562 reviews
8.4 km away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
310 reviews
2.7 km away
Castello di Tornano
Castello di Tornano
#3 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Meleto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Meleto

Address: Loc. Meleto | 53013, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range: ₹ 5,513 - ₹ 13,946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castello di Meleto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castello di Meleto is in the center of an ideal geographical triangle formed by the cities of Siena, Florence and Arezzo. Surrounded by six beautiful houses, painstakingly restored in 2000, preserving its rustic Tuscan style. Each house has a private garden or terrace that overlooks the countryside surrounded by green vineyards and olive groves.Easily accessible and close to the accommodation we have two infinity pools from which you can enjoy an unforgettable view. In the basement of the castle, a real historical monument, a charming wine shop allows you to taste our wines, our organic extra virgin olive oil and salami of Cinta Senese from our farm. On request we can organize banquets in medieval and Renaissance style in the picturesque setting of the frescoed rooms. In addition, daily guided tours of the ground floor of the castle, the eighteenth-century theater, the dungeons with ancient cellars, prisons and the secret tunnel to escape from the Castle .. will make you to live an unique and unforgettable experience in a real castle in the Chianti area.Daily walks are possible on roads and paths in the area.From the same roads, the "Eroica”, an fascinating extreme racing with vintage bikes, takes place every year.The staff of the Reception of the Castle will be pleased to arrange excursions departing from the Castello di Meleto to major art centers such as Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Arezzo and Val D'Orcia. On the territory of the Castle of Meleto guests can enjoy cycling, horse riding and walking, immersed in pristine nature of the Chianti hills. Our restaurant, “ La Fornace di Meleto” , at the bottom of the hill, offers typical Tuscan menu and innovative dishes.The Castle's history is also a history of Weddings, such as those of Alberto Ridolfi's daughter Lucrezia and, in 1852, Baron Bettino's daughter Elisabetta: it could also become the history of Your wedding, against a background imbued with extraordinary beauty.Meleto Castle can offer Religious ceremonies in its catholic church, the Pieve di Spaltenna.The Celebrations can be organized as you wish: the entire Piano Nobile (a series of furnished and frescoed rooms) can be put at Guests' disposal together with the garden, a splendid terrace overlooking the unspoilt panorama of the Chianti hills for enjoying a touch of sun, and the Stables ( Scuderia in Italian) , where guests can relax or let themself go in dancing.We specialise in providing the perfect atmosphere for a truly unique party, whether a Tuscan Castle wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Castello di Meleto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Meleto Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Meleto Gaiole In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing