We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castello di Meleto
Nearby Hotels
US$ 423
US$ 414
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi(Gaiole in Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$ 179
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel(Gaiole in Chianti)
US$ 164
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Fonte del Cieco(Gaiole in Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$ 104
US$ 94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Residence SanSano(Gaiole in Chianti)
US$ 144
US$ 140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Capannelle Wine Resort(Gaiole in Chianti)
US$ 299
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Podere Le Noci(Radda in Chianti)
US$ 104
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
240
110
29
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
110
29
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastle tourwine tastingfantastic sceneryfar exceeded our expectationscastle groundsfairy taleolive oiltuscan hillsperfect placecooking classkatiainfinitycastelloguestsceremonyaccommodationproperty
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We had visited in 2006 for a wine tour with family the day after our engagement and never thought we would be married here...but we did, in September 2007 and it was magical...Castello di Meleto is a wonderful place to marry...we spent the entire week at the Castle with our friends/family (20 or so) and more arrived on our wedding day to share our special day...The caterers and the photographer were recommended by the Castle staff and they were suberb!!! Our wedding photos are beautiful and take us back every time we gaze at them. Yes, it is an ancient castle and it may not be to standards of modern and fussy travelers, but is part of the adventure and charm! Live a little and explore, you're in a 13th century castle!
We plan on spending time at Meleto to celebrate our fifth anniversary next year. A presto!

Room Tip: If you prefer, the dependance country houses are very comfortable and have great views...but so does the castle!
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

we stayed 4 nights at the castello in one of the house(la loggia) which was outside the castle perimeter and beautifully located, quiet, amazing views, overlooking olive trees and some of their vineyards. the apartment is appointed properly with min and basic stuff, except the air cond broke down the first night hence v hot and heaps of mosquitoes, as all their net around the windows are not repaired and all opened..some even had band aid sticked on it...?very clean and great job from housekeeping daily, tv could be a bigger one and newer one as the old aquarium style of tv v small...in 2011 will expect in this style of Hotel/resort for that price to have a flat screen at least and all channels to work as some were n/a. So few minor improvements as above, reception check in was v good but afterwards other staff not very polite, unrespectful or not helpful as one day(second night) there was a "vip" small wedding and as a guest(paying) we could not go to the castle, or the grounds or inside at all...i got told off by a very rude event manager lady instead of having some alternative arrangements or small drinks corner for their house guests at the bottle shop or elsewhere....everywhere we went we were told CANNOT GO IT IS CLOSED FOR PRIVATE FUNCTION, and i am a paying guest with kids whom wanted to see the castle, the grounds, etc...so it put me off and the way it was handled was v poor...i made sure she got my italian/french words as well in her face as she was totally out of line...it happened again on the 4th night as another wedding was on, bigger louder...so will suggest to check if they are wedding as it is not fair for paying room customer to be handled that way or have an alternative way or option that we will have accepted ,no problems...room for improvement again.!!..as must happen v often and all staff were focused on the wedding and not us or other guests...we felt abandonned and like "should not be here" after paying 400 euros per night ?!
Another small improvement is the breakfast room too small and extremely basic (food selection, good coffee though lavazza old machine)compared to other resorts/castle/hotels...and v hot no air, no ventilation...otherwise the scenery, grounds, area is just superb so next time may stay elsewhere to avoid "staff confrontations"...plenty of nice restaurants around , and Gaiole is v cute village, lovely people and the castle key thing is the v good location for 4 to 5 nights in tuscany, pool is nice too and v peaceful.
so i am sorry but the Mger or owner should look at the wedding incidents as very annoying and put a bad taste in our mouth and never apologised or checked on us...or any recovery...shame a i am in Hotel Business too and deal with this at time with m team in better manner as part of training...anyway lovely place and so quiet and relaxing but not sure if we will be back as seen other places possibly better for my opinion...so many villas or other castle around Chianti, Tuscany so check it out...

Room Tip: ask before you stay if there is a wedding for the noise and places you can access or not ? will suggest rooms or apartment far away
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CinqsurCinq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Castello Di Meleto and Katie,

Thank you for helping Laura and I have the wedding of our dreams! It was truly a fairy tale wedding and with your help it went off without a hitch.

The castle and accommodations were beyond belief. We had the most amazing and unforgettable time. One of our guests said it best, "this is the best thing that's ever happened to me!" Everything was perfect and we couldn't have asked for anything more.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon,

Michael and Laura

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikehill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed for 3 nights for our friend's wedding. The location / setting is absolutely stunning. Our room was in the building next to reception (not in the castle) overlooking the pretty gardens - it was fairly basic but comfortable and clean - and pretty authentic. The apartments are also pleasant. But I wouldn't say they are 'luxury'. The two swimming pools are lovely. All in all, it's a lovely wedding venue - we were a big group and there was plenty of space for us all. The cons - breakfast not great, and reception hours can be a problem. DON'T forget to pick up your passports from reception if you have to be away early for a flight!!! One big PRO - the restaurant at the end of the drive was amazing - best food I have ever had in Italy (and I'm a fussy vegetarian).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We've been to many in Tuscany, but this was a first-class experience beyond anything my family had ever experienced. They welcomed us like the most special of VIP's. The wine was amazingly tasty, they fed us until we were dizzy with food and wine, and they offered an unbelieveable deal on the shipping which made it possible for us to take the entire experience home afterwards. The castello was gorgeous. They had a wedding there the day before, which must have been amazing. Although I wouldn't stay overnight in the rooms inside the castle - a bit rustic for our taste, like a real castle. The apartments on the grounds are lovely. We came to the castello for a wine tasting and tour but did not stay overnight. They had a beautiful new tasting facility. I cannot recommend Castello di Meleto highly enough! Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kee123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews