We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Enchantment in Chianti” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgo Argenina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgo Argenina
Certificate of Excellence
nipomo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchantment in Chianti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

From the moment you arrive you will find yourself swept away by the beauty around you. Poppy studded pathways and gardens lead you to the magnificent Borgo Argenina sitting above an incredible landscape of vineyards and rolling hills as far as the eye can see. Dotted in the hills are estates and castles dressed in cyprus trees. In the early morning you may catch a young deer skipping through the grape vines glistening with dew.


We spent a week with Elena in her magical, Tuscan paradise where we enjoyed fabulous breakfasts prepared and served by her angels in a setting as close to heaven as one can find. Following her map and excellent recommendations we took daily trips to discover the charming hill towns filled with architectural wonder, magnificent art and fantastic dining.

Our accommodations were in keeping with the setting. Rooms filled with charm and comfort with exceptional attention to detail. Fine furnishings, exquisite linens, quality bathrooms and service to provide any additional need necessary.

Our fantastic dinner with Elena was another highlight of our Tuscan Adventure. We were a party of ten that enjoyed to the fullest the cooking class, Chianti, lemon cello, Elena's family tales and the charm and admiration of this wonderful lady who has brought back to life this haven, Borgo Argenina.

Don't miss this experience of a lifetime.

The California gang.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleyrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    27
    8
    10
    9
See reviews for
104
375
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

I am not normally one who takes the time to review somewhere that I have stayed, but this is a home that I would have no hesitation going back to. It is beyond words as far as the beauty of the area where it is situated - the rolling hills, the vineyards outside your door, the flowers, the garden, the beautiful smells of Tuscany. If you want to experience Italy, you have to go here. Elena, the owner, is a true Italian lady with grace and beauty. She is kind, very inviting, very informative - you feel like you are staying with a friend. Her two dogs also make you feel very at home. We stayed four nights and I would have stayed longer. The accommodations are wonderful! The dinner we had, and helped prepare, at the Borgo was amazing! Elena gives you information and truly is your travel guide for the Chianti region near the area of her home. She supplies you a map with the sights to see and restaurants to eat at. We were not disappointed by any of our side trips! We traveled into Florence and Rome and they were great, but the stay at Borgo Argenina was the highlight of our Italy trip and will be a forever memory, and if we return to Italy, it will be to stay with Elena. It is truly somewhere you need to see and experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Elena Nappa, the owner of Borgo Argenina, set out to create a paradise for her guests. She succeeded. Everywhere you look – from the rooms and villas to her garden, to the patio with its flowers and breathtaking views of rolling hills and vineyards – there is beauty. As if that weren’t enough, among the treats at breakfast are delicious yogurt and cake made by Cianie, and coffee served by her charming daughter, Elona. Elena calls Cianie and Elona her “angels”, and they are.

Elena knows the best of everything in the region and delights in creating a superior Tuscan experience for her guests. Each destination or restaurant she suggested met or exceeded our expectations. Although Borgo Argenina is a great home base from which to tour, we found Borgo Argenina itself to be so wonderful that we allowed ourselves to remain there for a few days and to “just be” instead. Dinner with Elena in her picturesque open-hearth kitchen is an additional cost and, in our opinion, worth it. Along with Elena we and another couple we hadn’t known prior to our arrival at Borgo Argenina cooked, talked, laughed, and dined well. It is one of our favorite memories of our stay.

Borgo Argenina was an exceptional experience for us, and we hope to return as soon and as often as we can.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Spent 4 nights at Borgo Argenina and loved every minute! It's a great place to use as a base to explore the region and immerse yourself in the culture. Elena and her staff were superb - warm, welcoming and lots of fun!. The accomodations were excellent, the food beyond expectations, and the views unbelievable! This is really the best way to experience Italy!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Just as Elena described on her website, the dogs greeted us at the car and showed us the way to the back door for check in. Immediately upon arrival, Elena sat us down to describe the region, provide us with direction to the better sights in the area including vineyards and restaurants... and in true Chianti style, she did all this while we sipped local wine :)

We drove around the region all day, everyday. However, our mornings started right with a delicious breakfast on the terrace overlooking the vineyards... and our evenings were capped off by excellent views of the stars - again sipping wine on the terrace :)

Borgo Argenina is a rehabbed Tuscan Country house - with original charm yet updated with modern touches (wifi is available - if you want it). The bed was comfortable and warm. The tub was large there was no end to the warm water :)

Borgo Argenina is the perfect spot from which to explore the Tuscan region of Italy - bring a car and you'll be happy with Elena's recommendations in the region.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
8.8 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
24.5 km away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
11.7 km away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
10.4 km away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Argenina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Argenina

Property: Borgo Argenina
Address: Loc. Argenina, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,056 - ₹ 15,178
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Argenina in Chianti region, is an agriturism B&B in an historical village of 4 villas surrounded by 5 hectars of San Giovese vine. The main villa offers 2 suites and 5 romantic double rooms all with private bathroom, minibar and breakfast. The remaining 3 villas are Casa Vacanze and may be rented by the day or the week with breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borgo Argenina b&b
Borgo Argenina Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Borgo Argenina Gaiole In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing