We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning villa in beautiful Modica”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Modica, Province of Ragusa, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
MikeandNa...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning villa in beautiful Modica”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had 2 nights here on our trip around Sicily and this was one of our favourite stays.We could not believe how beautiful the villa was and what a wonderful sanctuary it was.The courtyard was the perfect place to relax and we enjoyed some beautiful meals here using the facilities of the stunning kitchen.Everything you could wish for is available and the service was exceptional.A massage in the courtyard with Salvo is a must.

Modica is a charming,authentic place and Hortus is perfectly located to feel a part of daily life here.

Don't forget to try some chocolate for which Monica is famous- it is out of this world!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scadpole
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Staying at Residence Hortus for three nights was the highlight of our recent trip to Sicily. Luca, Aurora and Salvo went out of the way to make us comfortable and accommodate our three children. I highly recommend a massage with Salvo and also the cooking class. My kids loved learning how to make pasta. Modica is lovely to wander around but the temptation to stay in the beautiful garden of Hortus was too great at times. We were very sad to leave.

Stayed July 2015

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnDug03...
Pennington, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beauty of Sicily Past and Present”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

An eloquently restored residenza to capture the life of Sicily past and present. Located midway between upper and lower centers of Modica activity, either of which can be accessed by foot. Also a central location for visiting Noto and Ragusa. The charm of the interior and the garden of Hortus cannot be overstated. You can feel the 16th Century in the structure and surrounding streets. Antiquity blends nicely with upscale amenities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Serenity and property amenities
Liked least: Parking and transporting luggage( but can't be avoided)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMB_12
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staying at Hortus was one of the highlights of our 2 weeks in Sicily”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Hortus for 4 nights. We were only a couple so we had plenty of space to ourselves. The property has been superbly renovated and is equipped with everything you need. Upon arrival we were each treated to a massage from Salvo who also provided us with a lot of helpful information about the area. We didn't get a chance to sample any of the restaurants in Modica as we ate in every night, making use of the excellent kitchen and enjoying a cooking class with Marilena. We also descended many times to the cellar, sampling some of the local wines. The weather was warm so we spent a lot of time relaxing in the large, private garden admiring the view of San Giorgio Cathedral. The location was great - only a short walk into the city centre (the walk down was much easier than up!), and Modica was a good base to explore the surrounding area. Staying at Hortus was a real treat. We would love to return here again (next time we will stay longer) and would definitely recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoBath...
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden sanctuary in a Modica”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Hi, we had a fantastic week in Sicily enjoying the nearby beaches, great food and this little sanctuary in the old town of Modica right next to the cathedral. This is a great hideaway in a lovely part of Italy. After a busy day we returned to a big solid door that opens up to a wonderfully private and relaxing courtyard that you would never know exists. Big thumbs from all the family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 359
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing