We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with friendly staff”
Review of La Ripetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Ripetta
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Kiryat Tivon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with friendly staff”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great value for money , if your with car then its location , that is a bit far from the center is irrelevant , we got great tips for restaurants , where to park and what to see from the lovely receptionist.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    98
    50
    47
    64
See reviews for
34
165
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

1. The hotel is located on the rock above the Piano di Sorrento beach and gives you amazing view on the Sorrento bay (especially in the evening). If you want hotel from the same kind in Sorrento you will have to spend two-three times more money then here.
2. The personnel of the hotel is very kind and responded to any our requires.
3. Due to our poor Italian we parked our car on one of the close to hotel streets and didn't notice that there is a market each Monday morning. Eventually we came on Monday morning and found a market and no evidence of our car! We rushed back to the hotel to see what happened to our car!! Hotel personnel helped us to find the car and to arrange all beaurocratic procedures and even took us with one of the workers car to the police station. Lets say if we weren't getting help from the hotel it could have took all the day long to get our car back. In this case it took 2h (including 30 minutes in police station) and 100 euro.
4. Hotel has a very easy breakfast. It was a bit strange in the beginning, because we are usual for very massive breakfast in European and Israeli hotel. But eventually it was OK and we didn't suffer from starving :-) And most important - we came back home with the same weight!
5. The only low light I can recall is the bad - it was not so comfortable for us. May be because we have orthopedic mattresses at our home.

To summarize the review - we got and excellent vacation and hotel was excellent per the money we paid for.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabricanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

This was a school trip. 11 year old kids and several staff members.

Accommodation was basic but fine. Rooms at the front of the hotel were horrendously noisy and rooms at the back were peaceful and had sea views.

Basement rooms were not pleasant because we had to have the windows shut for safety reasons. They were like saunas.

There is no airconditioning. In June this was an issue...I dread to think what it will be like in July/August.

However, the rooms were large and clean. The hotel was able to accommodate the school group successfully.

Staff were friendly and approachable.

Breakfast, dinner and packed lunch were basic but fine. Simple but palatable. There is a bar and a pizza service later at night which was nice.

The hotel is on a busy road which can be challenging with school groups but it was handy for the little beach and was about 10 mins from the train station to get the train into Sorrento proper.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor + at the back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azure_Aurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford Essex
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Like some others of your contributors, I was at La Ripetta with a school group.
The staff were helpful and friendly, and the dining rooms had good views of the bay. Some of the bedrooms, too, though some looked onto a road.
There are a couple of bars and small shops near the hotel, but the town is a good 15 minutes' walk away.
It makes no claims to be a luxury hotel, and the breakfast, as least for us, was meagre, but nontethless I felt we had good value, and would return alone, just for the view.

Room Tip: Insist on a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricAshley47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The rooms were infested with swarms of ants, the floors were as dirty as the streets, the beds were like sleeping on a pavement, the pillows were like resting your head on rocks, there was very limited hot water for showers and the rooms were very cold. When you woke up it felt like you was in a freezer and was on the brink of getting frost bite. Not very nice at all.

When informing the manager it was possible to mistake him as a tramp and was dressed like someone who was homeless. He issued a brush to deal with the ants and along with some ant killer. He made no effort to take a look at the situation and quite clearly didn’t care.

The manager did nothing but moan. He was badly mannered and nothing but annoying. Downstairs was a seating area with sofas but if you were to use them you must remain in dead silent as if you were at a funeral or he would start complaining and say there was a charge for excess noise.

In terms of meals it was shocking. Breakfast was just bread rolls and a drink which was hardly going to fill you up especially when the manager limited it to 2 per person. The evening meal wasn’t much better. The menu was fixed and you had no choice it was a starter and a main meal so if you didn’t like it you had to starve. Additionally everything was served drowned in olive oil which made it very greasy and sickly.

Upstairs where the owners of the hotel lived, there was constant noise and along with this the traffic outside was horrendous. Anyone would think there was a football match on with bobozela horns going off. All of this made it very difficult to sleep as you were constantly been disturbed.

I’m sure there must be much nicer hotels in their area where you get better value and services. Visit at your own risk.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CS94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Piano di Sorrento hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
0.1 km away
Hotel Klein Wien
Hotel Klein Wien
#4 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
293 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Cosmomare
Hotel Cosmomare
#2 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
249 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Soleluna
Hotel Soleluna
#7 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
1,293 reviews
1.6 km away
Fiori d'Arancio
Fiori d'Arancio
#12 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
29 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Albatros
Hotel Albatros
#11 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ripetta

Property: La Ripetta
Address: Via Ripa di Cassano 4, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,028 - ₹ 9,217
Hotel Class:3 star — La Ripetta 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ripetta Hotel Piano Di Sorrento
La Ripetta Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing