We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not so bad as everyone else is saying”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dedalos Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Malia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dedalos Hotel
Ranked #48 of 95 Hotels in Malia
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not so bad as everyone else is saying”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

we stayed here as a budget honeymoon. Got there very late in the evening on October 2011, after checking in we were taken to our room which is basic but considering you only sleep there i think the moaners on here should lighten up a bit!
Never had any problem with any noise- many a day spent at the bar. Had nice chats with the owner.
The food was ok, not life changing but agaib, did what it says on the tin.
Always felt safe and not at all threatened here. it is literally 2 min walk from the strip but we never had any disturbance at night.
The doggies were great- especially the puppy! love him!!!
A 5 min walk to Malia old town is a must- we went to dinner there every night as the bar closes at 8pm. Definatly do this for a real old greek real and authentic food.
All in all for the price and star rating this hotel does exactly what it says on the tin. I probably would stay here again as it's good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebecca d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    62
    51
    22
    33
See reviews for
7
82
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was my first holiday abroad, 7 of us went, 4 guys, 3 girls (aged 18-19) I can genuinly say the hotel is one i would reccomend. The location is perfect...literally a 2 minute walk to the main strip so you can actually get some sleep after a lively night out and easy enough to stagger back to. The beach is also really close, its just at the bottom of the strip and it is really lovely also. The supermarket is 3 minutes from the hotel and is a really convinient addition especially as we went self-catering. Food is relatively cheap on the strip...like 10euros for a big main meal and a drink. alcohol offers were really good, especially as there was a few of us. Our rooms were cleaned pretty much everyday, our sheets weren't changed which was a bit grotty towards the end of the week but it didn't bother us too much. The security gaurd is a bit tempramental in the way some days he was really nice and others off with us...i recall one night i was sat on the balcony literally whispering with a friend and he shouted up to us to go back inside. Please don't let this put you off the hotel though...overall it is worth it...if you're going self-catering especially you won't even spend that much time at the hotel to encounter him. You had to pay for air-con which we didn't invest in and managed to survive without but did invest in a safe. One of the best nigths was the silent disco...totally reccomend this! But yes, would definately reccomend this hotel and would go there again if i were to come back to Malia :)

Room Tip: We were on the second floor which looked over the pool...perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cerrigydrudion
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

went here with my boyfriend back in october 2011, this is the worst place we have ever stayed in, our camera went missing and the staff would not help us at all. Bed was rock hard and shower was dreadful, its a shower tray and a curtain and we flooded the room once and nearly did it again a couple more times and we are slim. Walls are thin so can hear everything, nothing in the room, and breakfast was dreadful, sod all to eat. Would not recommend this place to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scottygirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malia hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Went to Malia with my sister, I'm 18 and shes 24, had an absolutely brilliant time at Malia Dedalos. Koula couldnt do anymore for us than what she did! She had a really good laugh with us. Rooms were cleaned everyday! If you go, dont go bed and breakfast because then you have to pay for fridge, microwave wtc. Go selfcater! Brilliant time, close enough to the strip but up a back street so its quiet for sleep! Music through the day is played all day by the pool and pool is clean! Security is quite strict, dont let people from other hotels into your room but at least your safe especially as girls! Would definatley go back if i went to Malia.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pawpaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lymm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Had a wonderful time at the Dadalos, its in a wonderful location, although I perhaps would'nt like to stay in the height of the season as I would imagine it could be quiet busy, and we perfer to be able to stroll around without crowds, hence the late booking. The hotel was clean and plesant, the staff were very helpful, we arrived at about 21.30 in a car we had hired at the airport and when asked about parking we were directed to the back of the hotel up the private road at the side. No problem with this at all, in fact felt that the car was out of the way, and so no damage would occur when left parked. The breakfast was ok, not fantastic but you get what you pay for, the maids and the staff in general were friendly and pleasant, and the owner went out of his way to give us information about places to visit that he felt were special once he found out we had a car, (very sound advice by the way). Our room was cleaned every day apart from Sunday and the towels were changed every day, although we are the sort of people that feel that so long as they can be hung up to dry properly this is not needed, every other day will do. The sheets were changed once during our seven day stay, more than enough (who changes their sheets everyday at home! not many of us I imagine so why expect such in a hotel). We stayed at the end of the season so we didnt meet the security guard, however we did come back to the hotel late at night past 1am most nights (the Epsilon Church of the Alcoholics on the top main road to the left of the church is wonderful, Blues music, locals use it, so the chance to chat, discuss and chew the fat until the wee hours is fantastic) But when arriving back at the hotel we never talked until we were in our room with the door closed, and because I was wearing high heeled shoes that clacked on the flooring I removed them as I came through the main gates, see its easy, respect others as you like to be respected. Over all a wonderful trip and a wonderful Hotel, many great memories and can't wait to go back, but only at the very begining or end of the season, we know what we want and what we don't. The only tip I could give the owners is perhaps it would be nice to include a kettle and such in the B&B rooms, missed my afternoon cuppa, (could go down to the bar, but sometimes its nice just to have the makings in the room)

Room Tip: The rooms above the bar where we stayed were very good, the music was off before we got home and did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steffiLymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.1 km away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.5 km away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#15 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.7 km away
Kastro Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.4 km away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#32 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.0 km away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#29 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dedalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dedalos Hotel

Property: Dedalos Hotel
Address: Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Hotel Class:1 star — Dedalos Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Dedalos Hotel Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing