We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beach House

Our house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our house
Front garden Back garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Our house
Front garden
Back garden
Upstairs bedroom (2 double beds)
Upstairs bedroom
Downstairs bedroom
Open plan kitchen
Bathroom
Our street
Walk to the beach (3 minutes)
The beach
The beach
The beach
The beach
The beach
The beach
The beach
The bridge leading to our house, going over the estuary
Barneville Estuary (full tide), view from the bridge
Estuary (Low tide)
Entrance of the estuary
Estuary
The estuary from the dunes
Estuary (low tide)
View onto Barneville from Carteret
View on Carteret Harbour from the dunes
Barneville town centre
Car boot sale in Portbail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Barneville-Carteret, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
h0neyp0ts
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I traveled with my sister and her three children aged 13, 11 and 8 and had a brilliant week, although the weather wasn't great we all enjoyed the area and the kids loved the sea and beach miles and miles of sandy beaches. William would get up early and go to the bakery for the French stick!!
The house was well equipped and comfortable with bed linen and towels included in the price. Plenty of room for the kids to play with a safe and secure garden.
The owner met us on arrival to show us round and give us the key, and handed the key to a neighbour on our departure, it was all very easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter E
1 review
“EXCELLENT FAMILY HOLIDAY HOUSE.”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The house was excellent in every respect, rooms were clean and bright with all amenities close by,great area for family cycling, made a day trip to paris also great fish restaurant in the local village and great saturday market,the owners were also very helpful and could be contacted by phone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Hotel at the sea only allowed paying guests to drink at the bar
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H
1 review
“Everything we wanted”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were looking for 4 things:

Near to a beach
Walking distance to daily pain au chocolat
A garden
A bath

and this house had them all and more. The garden was big enough for two children to learn how to ride their first pedal bikes. The beach and shop were easily walkable by a child of nearly 3 and the bath was big enough to accommodate three children aged 5 and under.

The owner was really helpful before and during our stay and had provided, as well as some provisions, so many tourist leaflets we didn't actually need to go to the tourist information centre. She also speaks English but is willing to humour very rusty French too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It met all our requirements
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evenstar...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful home in a beautiful area!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We only had a week in the cottage but loved the it and the area. It was absolutely immaculate when we arrived. Newly painted/furnished. Everything you need for a holiday. Clean, fresh, and bright. It is the perfect size for four people. If you were there for warmer weather you would be able to use the large back yard to eat out in.

The location is brilliant whether you have a car or prefer walking. An endless white sandy beach was a block away. You are in the middle of a little village with a couple of bars, a bakery, and a corner store. About 20 minutes walk away is the big town with a Carrefour and all sorts of shops. 2 km up the road is the harbour town with lots of bars and restaurants. Very picturesque.

No problem with booking and the owner is very good at responding to any questions you might have.

I think the only thing we would have liked better would be a more comfy sofa but we didn't have much time for sitting around because there is so much to see and do.

If we go back to this area we would definitely rent this place again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing