We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupendous location, best stay in SL”
Review of Waterfalls View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterfalls View
Ranked #6 of 173 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This homestay was one of the highlights of my trip. Waterfall view costing 4000 SLR per night was worth every penny. Clean double bedroom with mosquito net and clean toilet. You can enjoy your meal sitting outside the common area with excellent views of waterfalls and super fast wifi. You also get the opportunity to befriend other guests. This place is good for lazing around like home. Food was delicious too. Breakfast is included with a choice between Sri Lankan and Continental. The quantity is just a way too much, most of the times we couldn't finish everything. For one person, vegetarian mean was about 350 SLR while for 2 ppl was 700. You should not miss this.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the-sailing-bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Absolutely five stars worthy
We stayed for four nights as we really love Ella and waterfalls view is the right place to spent those four nights
The view and terrace are amazing and the people are really nice and helpful
There are two rooms and everything is very new as this place just exists for a year or so
Warm water clean room and as its in the hills no fan or airco is needed as it cools down enough, a blanket is in the room when it's gets too cold

The place is a 15 minute walk from the center or Ella or 200rs with a tuktuk

For the breakfast which is included you can choose Sri Lanka or western breakfast and we also had dinner at this place and the food was very good

Great place and value for money

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This place is fantastic, there are incredible views of the Little Rawana Waterfall from the room. There is only two rooms, very familiar and also a nice terrace to relax. The room is very clean, there is an excellent relation between quality and price.

Apart from this, the family that owns this homestay, and specially July who was the one we talked to is fantastic. She explained to us the way to get to some spots around we wanted to visit, and they prepared for us a delicious dinner!! The day we have to leave to Kandy early in the morning they prepared some sandwiches to take away, and we also had some coffee, fruit and delicious curl with honey for breakfast before leaving.

For sure, this is the most incredible place where we have stayed in Sri Lanka!! We highly recommend it to anyone who is visiting Ella!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a fantastic 3 night stay at Waterfall View in February. We have been to Ella twice before and last year stayed at Waterfall Homestay which was brilliant. They were full this time but recommended Ella Good Neighbours which included Waterfall View in their small portfolio.
Waterfall View has been open for about 6 months and is destined to be extremely successful and popular. At the price for B&B, dinner, beers etc it is probably the best value and best place we have ever stayed at in Sri Lanka.
They have 2 identical rooms on a small terrace overlooking the valley towards the waterfall. The room was small but perfectly adequate with a good bathroom/toilet with permanent hot water and wifi. We ate on the terrace with the other 2 guests which was a very nice experience conversing with a really nice young German couple.
The food at Waterfall View was spectacular! Sri Lankan breakfast was really good and hot from the kitchen; they just keep bringing hoppers etc until you say enough! The rice and curry dinners were absolutely outstanding. We have never had better. Lots of different vegetable dishes plus a fish dish that we requested. If we suggested an ingredient for a meal (e.g. Garlic curry or beetroot curry) it appeared next time and if we wanted to know how it was made we were escorted into the kitchen to watch. We all agreed that this was Sri Lankan hospitality at its best. The request for tea in the afternoon was answered by a pot of tea plus biscuits and a huge bunch of bananas....at no charge!
The host family members all play their part and they are all lovely people with the biggest and widest smiles at all times. We could not have been made any more welcome.
We would unhesitatingly stay here again and would recommend Waterfall

Room Tip: Just 2 identical rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilGordon208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I would definitely recommend this place. Apart from the clean room and the stunning view from the terasse , the highlight of this place is the nice family. They take care of you as off you were an old friend and help you with every question you may have. Important to mention is, they cooked the best curry we had so far during our trip. The location has two rooms and we had really nice neighbors during our two nights. (The location is next to waterfalls homestay)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.2 km away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
177 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
154 reviews
2.1 km away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Chamodya Home Stay
Chamodya Home Stay
#1 of 173 in Ella
313 reviews
0.2 km away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
0.6 km away
Lucky Star
Lucky Star
#8 of 173 in Ella
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfalls View? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfalls View

Address: Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: ₹ 2,452 - ₹ 3,290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will receive a warm welcome and outstanding hospitality from Water Fall View Ella who well understand the needs of overseas travellers in Sri Lanka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Waterfalls View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing