We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amaizing place for the family”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunnyside Lodge

Our home on the range, surrounded by a tea plantation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our home on the range, surrounded by a tea plantation
The view of the Lodge as you approach it
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Our home on the range, surrounded by a tea plantation
The view of the Lodge as you approach it
Bedrooms with queen size beds, spacious and airy
Our linen is personally chosen to make you feel at home
View from within the Octagon dinning room
Boarded sitting room with fire place
Indoor cozy dinning
Self contained pantry
Driveway to the Lodge
Bicycles are provided free for your family to explore the surroundings
Nature trails for those quiet moments
For the tennis lover, TRU-FLEX professional court
Birding is a pleasure at the Lodge
The Ella Gap is just a 15 minute walk from the Sunnyside Lodge
Betty will be happy to provide you with fresh milk!
And there are fresh eggs too from our free range layers
Enjoy the changing skyline at Sunnyside
The entrance to Sunnyside Lodge is beside the Ella signboard when coming into Ella from Bandarawela
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ella, Uva Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
mangkaru
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amaizing place for the family”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We are here right now with our two kids. They have a cool mini farm with ducks, chickens and cows. They also have a play area, tennis court and mountain bikes for guests to use free of charge. We love the calm and relaxing view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skyblue41...
Ella, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great villa with amazing views”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for three days in February. The villa was spacious and tastefully decorated. Beds were very comfortable and had plenty of hot water. Ramesh cooked us some excellent meals during our stay here. Overall a great stay with amazing scenery all around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: scenery
Liked least: It rained every afternoon
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Olga_Tue
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A charming mountain cottage with amazing views.”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a place!!!

We’ve spent 3 nights around New Year holidays there – and I can’t wait to come back to this heaven again.
Besides that Ella itself is one of the most amazing places in Sri Lanka, the “Sunnyside Lodge” cottage is the best choice if your goal is good value for reasonable money.

The cottage is not big yet quite spacious, full of sunlight and nicely decorated, cozy and comfortable. The bedrooms are simple, but clean, the living-room is a great place to gather together in the evenings, playing some table game (you have a few of them in the house, so as free bicycles, some toys for your youngest ones and the tennis rackets if you want to have fun at the professional tennis court just a few steps away from the house), while the outside terrace gives you the most fabulous views – and enough space to take out the table and have a breakfast or lunch right there, almost up in the sky, amidst tropical fruit trees, blossoming bushes and tea plantations.

The cottage’s kitchen has all the necessary amenities (gas cooker, microwave, teapot and coffeemaker, enough of pots, pans, glassware and tableware), both showers work well enough for the mountain areas of Sri Lanka (which means, that if you spend too much time in the shower, the water will get cold little by little) and generally the house is quite clean.

The best part of staying at the “Sunnyside Lodge” is, of course, its beautiful grounds and breathtaking mountain views. Air here is clean, sky is light blue, sun is not too hot, mountains around you are green and misty and every flower, every tree pleases the eye, while lots of animals (dogs, cows, chipmunks, monkeys) and armies of birds will wake you up every morning with their roll-calls and will lull you with their soft voices in the night.

There are only 2 slight remarks I have to the owners:
1) Many tourists before me mentioned in their reviews that it gets cold in the house in the night – and IT REALLY DOES, so a few warm, thick blankets wouldn’t hurt at all, so as 3 sets of REAL pillows.
2) Alas, I can’t share the general enthusiasm of previous visitors about the caretaker Romesh. This guy WASN’T helpful at all. Yes, he didn’t do anything bad to us – but he did not raise a finger to improve out stay too. We cooked for ourselves, we took a trash ourselves – and we saw Romesh just a couple of times driving by. So, for me his job as a caretaker is still undefined.

However, overall impression of the “Sunnyside Lodge” cottage is very positive and we hope to visit this awesome place again in the nearest future. Dear Anjelo, thank you very much for such a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the grounds, the views.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me_g_toe
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Homely, comfortable property with excellent food”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Property: My family loved this homestay. It was comfortable and well-ventilated with high ceilings and a cute dining area. The property is perched next to a tea plantation and amidst a lot of trees. It was a quiet oasis and we were very happy to stay in and enjoy the house. The house comes with bicycles, a tennis court and a playground. The property is very good value for money and the booking process was very hassle-free.

Location: The property is conveniently located at the entrance of Ella (which is a small town), and about 5 - 10 minutes walking distance from the Main Street and hence very convenient for food.

Others: The property is looked after by caretaker Ramesh, who is also an amazing cook. We arrived at Ella around the midpoint of our 11 day trip around Sri Lanka, and he cooked a mix of Sri Lankan and Western dishes for us for dinner - all wonderfully presented and extremely tasty. It was home cooking at its best.

Stayed for 1 night but wish we had stayed longer; Travelled with family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing