We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
The cooking class is definitely a MUST!!!

This is the best cooking class I’ve ever had! I found it very nice to be invited into their private... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
milka_tuktuk
,
Munich, Germany
via mobile
Lived up to its expectation

We booked the cooking class a couple of days before with no problem. Would recommend booking by... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
kelllips
,
Canberra, Australia
via mobile
Read all 473 reviews
  
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
241
54
17
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
54
17
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooking class curries garlic curry sri lankan cooking coconut sambol cooking lesson family home recipe book buy spices family kitchen delicious meal his mother cooking course small kitchen great cooking cooking school learning how
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This is the best cooking class I’ve ever had! I found it very nice to be invited into their private kitchen, thank you so much for that! The young cook is passionate and entertaining. The three hours went by so quickly, filled with laughter and of course in the end delicious food! We all agree he should start his own YouTube show, he’s really talented!
After a walk through the small spice garden, we were greeted with something like a chai (black tea, milk and cardamom), all the typical spices were explained and everybody got a little cook book and a pen. Then we each got our apron and went into the kitchen to start cooking. There are blank spaces in the cook book for you to fill out as the course takes place. We learned to make Garlic Curry, Dhal Curry, Potatoe Curry and Coconut Sambol. At the end we all sat together and had our curry with rice and papadams. So so delicious!!!

1  Thank milka_tuktuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked the cooking class a couple of days before with no problem. Would recommend booking by email earlier if it is busy season. If you have time in Ella definitely book this one night. We had a lively fun group of people and there was enough to keep you interested for the 2.5 hrs before you get to eat! Chandika is well rehearsed and funny. As every restaurant seems to offer cooking classes now in Ella this one still rates for a reason. The book you get to take home will make you think you can recreate the dishes that you get to try. We appreciated the insights into how the curries are made and the intricacies of each dish. dont worry, it is a lot of garlic but totally worth it. You then get to sit in the family dining room and eat the fruits of Chandika's labour. There is not much hands on but it is entertaining and educational. I would have preferred Chandika eat with us but I suspect that it might get too much for him! All in all, it was a great experience.

Thank kelllips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

It won't take long to have a look around this spice garden (100LKR each) but the owner was lovely, we learnt a few things and it is a pretty location in the shade. There was no pressure to buy spices but the prices were actually quite reasonable.

Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Owner showed us his garden for Rp. 100, it was quick, bud he showed us all basic spices. In the end he asked us if we want to see what he sells or not. Worth it.

Thank Lenka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a great cooking class. You leave the class feeling ready to cook on your own, with all the recipes and extra information on the ingredients and the process involved in making them as tasty as possible. Chandrika was really funny and informative, he is a really great teacher and host. It was a nice touch to have his family involved as the class is run out of his house. It was all vegetarian, which can be unappealing to me usually, but I actually really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend to other carnivores, because the flavor makes up for it. There is no website or phone number to contact which could be tough for people who are in Ella for a day as you need to go visit him in person to book and pay, and the classes seem to book up pretty quickly.

Thank DarrenAndSamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We joined the cookery class here in October 2018 and it was fantastic and incredibly memorable. The young instructor was very talented, knowledgeable and also very funny. The meals were very delicious and we met some lovely people too! Would definitely recommend this class!

Thank cs0merset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Chandika is a professional that know’s well to entertain and get the whole group on the same level!

With a mix of humor and practices he know’s how to put the group to work like a sort of school teacher. By writing down the ingredients for the recipe you’re forced in a natural way to remind the recipe for a future time to impress your friends with your cooking knowledge. Chandika speaks
perfect English and his instructions are easy to follow. We where lucky with a nice group (that afterwards went to a local bar for a small after party).

Besides Chandika has a heart of gold.
Thanks for taking care of “blacky”!

Thank Mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

What seemed like an odd concept (cooking within a Sri Lankan family home) turned into a fantastic intimate experience.
Our host was exceptional throughout, making it fun aswell as informative, bringing humour to kitchen!
Not only were the recipes achievable to recreate at home, tasted fab but were shared with a great group of people as it’s a maximum of 8.
Authentic, fun and friendly! Would recommend.

1  Thank Keri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Though we had visited the much bigger spice garden somewhere in Matale,we still decided to visit this garden..simply cos it was only Rs100.The uncle who showed us around is a retired ranger/forest officer.Very knowledgeable. He has cards with pics to show the different stage of the spice.There were only about 10-15 species(all of which are well known to us) but we still loved the place. They also have cooking classed.At the end of the day,we decided to purchase their own processed spice powders. They were not pushy so we liked it. At Matale we were very much forced into buying their products.Located at Ella town

Thank evamandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Definitely recommend a quick visit as it's just off the main strip in Ella. Very friendly gentleman who gave us some good tips for growing our own herbs and spices as well as showing us the real versions of some spices we've only ever seen in plastic packets. It's a small garden but everything was incredibly fragrant and we bought almost 1kg of his spice powders.

Thank Luked1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews