We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place good vibes”
Review of Green Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Hill
Ranked #34 of 180 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

We planned on staying two nights at Green Hill and ended up extending one more night. Our room was facing Ella Gap with breathtaking scenery in the morning and at night with the stars.

Breakfast was very yummy and when i didn't like one of the options they brought me an alternative. The Breakfast location is right in front of the mountains and is beautiful

We booked on Agoda and reconfirmed our room reservation via phone call.

There is a shortcut (10 min) to Ella town but you just need a torch . The place is close to the road to mini Adams Peak.

The owner is very friendly and accessible. He can help you in anything you need. He got us a scooter and other things we had needed help in.

I would come back.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maysa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2017

I really believe this hotel has great potential but we had several issues.
First of all I booked DOUBLE ROOM WITH MOUNTAIN VIEW ( as per website ) but I had no mountain view at all. My view was on the bar. After trying to get a new room I was told that they have none and this is the correct room. Even call to manager did not help. BATHROOM WAS HORRIBLE ... please see pictures. It was full of BLACK MOLD and insects inside ( please see pictures ) ... NO TOILETRIES WEHER GIVEN APART OF ONE SOAP but it clearly said that they are included . For BREAKFAST we waited Cca ONE HOUR and when asked if we can get toast I was given one after other guests that left already. I actually seen it being cleaned up and given to me. And the best on the end 3% extra charge for credit card. So for me this is a hotel I will not return to and if you decide to book it take the most expensive rooms with guaranteed mountain view but I am not sure about the rest. Either way for the money paid you can choose much better.

Room Tip: make sure you choose the top range as all rooms show as mountain view but its not true as per my pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prasanna1982, Manager at Green Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

We're really sorry for the inconvenience. We're pretty sure that we gave you the exact room as you reserved and it's not come with the bar view. Coz bar is located on the restaurant and your room is next to the restaurant and comes with a mountain view. Are you sure about the breakfast? Coz we don't do such things usually. Anyway we're really sorry for the situation and appreciate your review. We'll work on that. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Great value hotel with beautiful views. Secluded location. Easy walk to little Adam's peak. Remember to bring torch/headlight if you are planning to visit little Adam's peak for sunrise. Otherwise go at sunset.

The road to the hotel is not well lit at night, so if you are eating out in the centre of Ella, although it is walking distance, you may need a tuk tuk to get you back if you don't have a torch.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DeeDah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

The place is by far the best spot i've been to in Ella, Very friendly staff and the view from the balcony is amazing!
Very reasonably priced at Rs 7500 /- for a double room including breakfast, and it was tasty.
Thank you for the kind hospitality, will come back for sure.

Kapil.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kapil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing view - good breakfast -
such a great breakfast spot!
Brand new facilities.
Clean and comfortable room.
Friendly and helpful staff.

It is roughly 15/20 min walk from the main road.but the place is worth the effort.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vincent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.5 km away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#21 of 180 in Ella
299 reviews
1.1 km away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#20 of 180 in Ella
173 reviews
0.7 km away
The View
The View
#26 of 180 in Ella
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#9 of 180 in Ella
219 reviews
0.6 km away
Aurora Bungalows
Aurora Bungalows
#32 of 180 in Ella
154 reviews
1.2 km away
Lucky Star
Lucky Star
#8 of 180 in Ella
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hill

Address: Passara road | Sapumalthanna, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: ₹ 2,102 - ₹ 5,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we're happy to say that our ongoing constructions already finished and our restaurant is now available for you. specially quiet, friendly nature to spend your holiday in a serene location with the fabulous views ever. And also with a treat of delicious sri lankan cuisine. Enjoy every moment while setting your eyes on both the sun rise and sun set.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Green Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing