We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
18
6
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
6
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely balcony nice breakfast main street min walk ella town amazing views sri lanka homes monkeys bedroom accommodation bathroom rock
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018

WE stayed here for 3 nights while touring around sri lanka. The guest house is situated on the main road from ella and there is a road above and below the residence. There was noticeable road noise and there were firecrackers set off periodically to scare the monkeys away. (didnt expect that!!) The breakfast that was served was plentiful and tasty. Great location to town - a short uphill walk along the road. Views from the room were lovely.The beds were comfortable and large. We found that the hot water was supplied by solar and if we wanted a shower it was better to have it late afternoon as the water was warmer at that time.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

We booked the junior suite and the room was amazing! The views were outstanding. What a nice scene to wake up to in the morning! You also see monkeys and squirrels on the trees. Bed was really comfortable and bathroom was huge. The only problem is that water flows everywhere when having a shower. Breakfast was excellent and varied every morning. The city centre is 3 mins. by tuk tuk.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Our route within two weeks: Colombo - Kandy - Ella - Uduwalawe - Hikkaduwa - Colombo. This trip took us to this place here:

A beautiful place, a bit away from the other resorts. We had a very warm welcome and we were able to move into the rooms immediately. The rooms and bathrooms were huge. The guesthouse is clean and has a beautiful view. The accommodation is managed by the whole family, the mother is the boss. Everyone speaks very well English. The breakfast is fresh and varied every day. There is typical local breakfast (like Hoppers), but also toast, etc.

Ella is an emerging tourist destination; Resorts (large hotel complexes) are being built. Unfortunately, the infrastructure is very outdated. We have encountered this problem throughout Sri Lanka.

Recommendations for dinner:
AK Ristoro (37 Grand View Passara Rd, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka)
Raha (Number 01, Passara Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka)

The people are very friendly and helpful.
As a tourist you always pay a little more… but, it is still very cheap.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaStef88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

The view is gorgeous! We had a delicious traditional breakfast delivered to our balcony. The staff are lovely and they even did my washing! The hotel is walking distance to town and there’s a big variety of restaurants and bars to chose from.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

We had a very nice time here, friendly staff and the best breakfast we had during our stay in Sri Lanka, especially the Sri Lankan pancakes. The room and bathroom were clean. The only problem was that you could see into the bathroom from the bedroom. The house is next to the road so you can hear the traffic but during night it was not an issue since there was no traffic.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abewickrama h, Owner at Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thanks for the Response.

Harahana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews