We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
18
6
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
6
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely balcony nice breakfast main street min walk ella town amazing views sri lanka homes monkeys bedroom accommodation bathroom rock
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Our route within two weeks: Colombo - Kandy - Ella - Uduwalawe - Hikkaduwa - Colombo. This trip took us to this place here:

A beautiful place, a bit away from the other resorts. We had a very warm welcome and we were able to move into the rooms immediately. The rooms and bathrooms were huge. The guesthouse is clean and has a beautiful view. The accommodation is managed by the whole family, the mother is the boss. Everyone speaks very well English. The breakfast is fresh and varied every day. There is typical local breakfast (like Hoppers), but also toast, etc.

Ella is an emerging tourist destination; Resorts (large hotel complexes) are being built. Unfortunately, the infrastructure is very outdated. We have encountered this problem throughout Sri Lanka.

Recommendations for dinner:
AK Ristoro (37 Grand View Passara Rd, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka)
Raha (Number 01, Passara Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka)

The people are very friendly and helpful.
As a tourist you always pay a little more… but, it is still very cheap.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaStef88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

The view is gorgeous! We had a delicious traditional breakfast delivered to our balcony. The staff are lovely and they even did my washing! The hotel is walking distance to town and there’s a big variety of restaurants and bars to chose from.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

We had a very nice time here, friendly staff and the best breakfast we had during our stay in Sri Lanka, especially the Sri Lankan pancakes. The room and bathroom were clean. The only problem was that you could see into the bathroom from the bedroom. The house is next to the road so you can hear the traffic but during night it was not an issue since there was no traffic.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abewickrama h, Owner at Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thanks for the Response.

Harahana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

For me to give a 1 out of 5 for a hotel stay- the experience must have been awful, and it really was. We booked a very reasonably priced room with four beds, however not SO reasonable that we expected what we actually got. To start with the only plus: the location isn’t half bad, very short walk to Ella “centre” and nice restaurant. But here, the positive ends.

Firstly, the room wasn’t anything like the rooms pictured in the booking ad, and the promised view (and main reason for us booking here) was blocked by a scaffold. Secondly, the room smelled strongly of fungus/moisture and hadn’t been ventilated for a while. Additionally, the room was not properly cleaned, stains on the wall, stains on the sheets and pillow cover, and spider web on the wall. After requesting the operating manager to change the sheeting, we got sheets smelling paraffin, which adding to the fungus smell, gave a where unpleasant air in the room. None of us slept well that night, it felt like breathing in poisonous air, it was so bad we even considered moving to another hotel in the middle of the night.

We both complained about the situation before going to bed and in the morning, without receiving any form of remedy, compensation or apologizes from the owner. The room should never been rented out, and the owner should really stop offering that room for rent. It is a shame we had such an unpleasant experience, when I’m sure they actually have some nice rooms to offer, however I didn’t see those and can’t testify to that. For me however this just proves that a owner getting greedy is not the best way to cater for a good customer experience, and for this reason you better off booking somewhere else.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gominken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Wake up to breathtaking views of Ella Gap, including Ella Rock and Little Adam’s Peak. The accommodation is conveniently situated a short 10 minute stroll down the hill to the little busting Ella township, home to delicious, well-priced authentic Sri Lankan food.

The staff treat you as family, serving home cooked breakfast to the balcony of the room to take in the views while devouring egg hoppers and fruit.

Ella Rock and Little Adam’s Peak is walkable from the accommodation.

This is a must stay!!!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RichBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews