We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
18
6
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
6
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely balcony nice breakfast min walk ella town amazing views sri lanka homes monkeys bedroom accommodation bathroom rock
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

We had a very nice time here, friendly staff and the best breakfast we had during our stay in Sri Lanka, especially the Sri Lankan pancakes. The room and bathroom were clean. The only problem was that you could see into the bathroom from the bedroom. The house is next to the road so you can hear the traffic but during night it was not an issue since there was no traffic.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abewickrama h, Owner at Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thanks for the Response.

Harahana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

For me to give a 1 out of 5 for a hotel stay- the experience must have been awful, and it really was. We booked a very reasonably priced room with four beds, however not SO reasonable that we expected what we actually got. To start with the only plus: the location isn’t half bad, very short walk to Ella “centre” and nice restaurant. But here, the positive ends.

Firstly, the room wasn’t anything like the rooms pictured in the booking ad, and the promised view (and main reason for us booking here) was blocked by a scaffold. Secondly, the room smelled strongly of fungus/moisture and hadn’t been ventilated for a while. Additionally, the room was not properly cleaned, stains on the wall, stains on the sheets and pillow cover, and spider web on the wall. After requesting the operating manager to change the sheeting, we got sheets smelling paraffin, which adding to the fungus smell, gave a where unpleasant air in the room. None of us slept well that night, it felt like breathing in poisonous air, it was so bad we even considered moving to another hotel in the middle of the night.

We both complained about the situation before going to bed and in the morning, without receiving any form of remedy, compensation or apologizes from the owner. The room should never been rented out, and the owner should really stop offering that room for rent. It is a shame we had such an unpleasant experience, when I’m sure they actually have some nice rooms to offer, however I didn’t see those and can’t testify to that. For me however this just proves that a owner getting greedy is not the best way to cater for a good customer experience, and for this reason you better off booking somewhere else.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gominken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Wake up to breathtaking views of Ella Gap, including Ella Rock and Little Adam’s Peak. The accommodation is conveniently situated a short 10 minute stroll down the hill to the little busting Ella township, home to delicious, well-priced authentic Sri Lankan food.

The staff treat you as family, serving home cooked breakfast to the balcony of the room to take in the views while devouring egg hoppers and fruit.

Ella Rock and Little Adam’s Peak is walkable from the accommodation.

This is a must stay!!!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RichBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

This is an excellent hotel located less than 5 minutes walk from the centre of Ella. The bedroom was a large family room (double and two singles) with a modern on-suite bathroom and balcony. Breakfast was typical Sri Lankan, well cooked and enough to keep you going all day. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Country House is exceptional value for money. Need I say more.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Really nice view (facing Ella Rock). The room is clean and bed is very comfortable with a really nice balcony. The breakfast is so good! Honestly the best food i got in Srilanka... just make sure that your booking includes breakfast.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews