We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent One with competitive rate”
Review of Ganga Lahari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ganga Lahari
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Haridwar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed one night here on 21st April 2012. The hotel is at excellent location. It is right on the Gau ghat which is 100 m away from Har-ki-pauri ghat. Parking is exactly at the other side of the river. There is a over bridge for pedestrians and rickshaws which is crossing the river and it brings you from the parking place to the hotel. Exactly Back side of the hotel there is the gali for shopping. The Gali also takes you to the Vishnu Ghat. Bengalis may note that Dada-Boudi hotel is close to Vishnu ghat which may be around 200 m walking through the Gali from the hotel. Ganga view from the terrace is fantastic. The hotel is neat and clean. Quality of food and service are very good. Don’t expect any garden for this hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PrasunMondal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 363 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

Outstanding stay at this lovely 15 room property right on the banks of the river ganga.After a ten minute rickshaw ride provided by the hotel from the railway station we were at the property which is right in the middle of the busiest bazaars in haridwar.

The hotel is sold as a heritage property but beleive me it is truly a boutique hotel the real heritage property is its sister property haveli hari ganga which is about 4 mins walk in an even busier street of haridwar both properties are absolute gems in the mayhem called haridwar.

The Pluses.

Right on the ghat and 5 mins walk to har ki pauri and all the old eating spots mohan ki puri at har ki pauri prachein mathura ki puri and host of others, mansa devi temple about 5 mins walk want to take the cable car to the temple then walk 10 mins and u are there.

Rooms dont even remember having stayed in such big rooms and the washrooms even bigger it is such a pleasure all rooms are ganga facing and have a table and three chairs right outside where we would sit and enjoy the view of the ganges and the thousands of people teeming around it.

Had dinner there and a fantsatic home cooked meal was served with phulkas dal,paneer dish and a vegetable dish all three were great to taste with subtle flavours in a small hotel running such a professional kitchen is amazing kudos to the chef and a special mention of Raj our server who is very efficent and a friendly guy.

Most requests of extra bed towels and soap were dealt with a couteous smile and efficeint service.

Must compliment the owner and the design team for keeping very good aesthetics of both the hotels, truly a job of a perfectionist. Keep up the good work leisure hotels.

They let you use the services of the sister property which has a private ghat right on the bank of the ganges which is very special.

Negatives

Not much to say the only reason i do not give this property 5 stars is coz the manager Mr. Himanshu must realise that eye contact with a guest is very important and going above the call of duty truly seperates a good hotel from a great one. Albeit i must add i was an aggresive guest but Mr. Himanshu u still need to pick up the phone coz it gets very insulting if the manager refuses to acknowledge your calls.I hope u read this review and probably still will come and stay at ganga lahiri or haveli hari ganga when i come to your part of the world.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the 2nd floor as the first floor rooms might experience some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madhup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We only stayed one night here, as we were en route to Rishikesh but wanted to see the Ganga aarti in Haridwar. Our room, which was on the second floor, was beautifully furnished with a super bathroom. Outside the rooms there was a corridor with seats, tables, pretty carpets and huge picture windows looking out onto the River Ganges. I sat here for almost an hour watching the pilgrims from all over India walking past - fascinating! My husband was not well, so I took the buffet dinner, and he had a plate of plain rice and a plain naan at no extra cost. We were very impressed by this thoughtful treatment. By the way, there was a pineapple and semolina halva to die for, I'm going to try this out at home...The breakfast was very good, the waiters kind and friendly, as were all the people working at this hotel. The Ganga aarti, for which we had specially come to Haridwar, was the most beautiful of three we experienced - Haridwar, Rishikesh and Varanasi.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smallworld44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Ganga Lahari March 10th 2012. Hotel very good, staff were excellent always on hand if you needed anything, we had Breakfast and Dinner on two occasions with no problems whatsoever, location for Har Ki Pauri you can walk there in about a minute from this Hotel a very moving experience indeed, you do not need a guide, they will simply rip you of for anything between 2000 to 4000 rupees, that was our experience anyway. We walked up to Mansa Devi Temple about 45mins slow walk, lot's of monkeys.
Rishikesh was 45mins away, so we had a good day trip there with no guide.

Room Tip: All rooms have Ganga view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goa-Jambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We visited Haridwar in 3rd week of february. Excellent place to stay on the banks of river Ganga. Our travelling time from Mumbai and tiredness disappeared on reaching this beautiful place. Hotel is walking distance to Harki Pauri and easily acessible to Mansa Devi temple. The view of ganga and the mountain ranges from the sit outs made it a memorable stay.Food quality was good and all the comforts were available in room. Heaters in the room made our stay comfortable. If you travel during peak season, try and take a room on the 2nd floor to avoid the noise since it is on Gau ghat where people come from far for a holy bath.

Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent view but 2nd floor rooms 202,203,204 have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunil1360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haridwar hotels
0.4 km away
Haveli Hari Ganga
Haveli Hari Ganga
#1 of 89 in Haridwar
774 reviews
9.1 km away
Radisson BLU Hotel Haridwar
0.5 km away
Hotel Aditya
Hotel Aditya
#24 of 89 in Haridwar
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Hari Heritage
Hotel Hari Heritage
#14 of 89 in Haridwar
131 reviews
4.3 km away
The URMI
The URMI
#3 of 89 in Haridwar
358 reviews
18.4 km away
Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganga Lahari? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganga Lahari

Address: Hanuman Ghat Rd | Ram Ghat, Haridwar 249401, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Haridwar District > Haridwar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Haridwar
Price Range: ₹ 6,278 - ₹ 11,584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganga Lahari 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganga Lahari in Haridwar is a beautiful heritage ‘Haveli’ located on the banks of the Ganga at Har Ki Paudi. The Haveli is an architectural marvel that has been restored to recreate old world charm with modern day hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com, Expedia, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Ganga Lahari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing