We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel but rooms are small” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sun Hotel
Ranked #68 of 87 Hotels in Haridwar
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but rooms are small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

"Not Bad" I'd say, rooms are clean and has everything you need but are very small, As soon as I entered the room, I asked myself, did I pay too much for this? Good thing is, it is close to the 'Har-ki-pauri; so you can take a rikshaw and reach there in 10 minutes, or u can choose to walk but road is a bit uphill... Bad thing is that it is in a very narrow street, a street where u'd not expect a big hotel but to ur suprise it comes all of a sudden, All in all, I had a nice stay but didn't find it value for money...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    11
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
17
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

We (myself, wife and two kids 7 and 4) stayed at Sun hotel on 26th and 27th Nov. My first impression about the hotel wasn't great and i was like 'oh my god !'. However it changed within 5 minutes of check-in.

Few good things about the hotel,

1. Room service is quick and the food is good, bit oily if you are a weight watcher.

2. Rooms (we stayed in super deluxe) are spacious and have running hot water. Although you need to keep the tap open for 5 minutes befor you get hot water.

3. Best part is the proximity to important locations like Har-Ki-Pauri and local bazaars. You step out of hotel and you can hire a rickshaw / auto to anywhere you like.

Few not so good things,

1. Do not book Taxi's from the hotel, rates are very high. We were charged Rs. 1000/- for trip to rajaji national park, chila range. Guy turned up in an old ambassador !!

2. Staff, although helpful needs sensitivity training while talking to guests. They are a bit rough, however helpful.

3. Pillows are very hard, if you prefer soft pillows either request in advance OR carry your own.

Overall, i am happy with the place and would recommend it to anyone looking for a stay in haridwar.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shyfamilyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
176 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

If you are in Haridwar staying near Har-Ki-Pauri is extremely important for you to attend all aarti's, Sun hotel is just few minutes of walking distance from Har-Ki-Pauri and hence we chose it, although the rates here are a bit on the higher side for what this place offers in terms of rooms etc, but its still a good and clean option to stay in Haridwar as compared to other similarly priced hotels around this place. Staff is OK, We did not eat here as there are many mouth watering eating joints around Ganga Ghat. Once more advantage of this hotel is its proximity to the Haridwar railway station. Would recommend this hotel for its price and proximity.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalpeshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

I visited Haridwar in the month of May with My husband & stayed in Sun Hotel , It is fantastic hotel with good location , Just a 10 min walk to Har - Ki - Paidi & 5 min walk to railway station , Rooms are good , Clean & spacious . Staff is very familier & proffessional . Food quality is very good. I personally reccommend to have an experience of best hotel in the city with affordable prices.

Nidhi
Senior Sales Coordinator
Kaashvi Industries (A JP Minda group Co.)
Pitampura , Delhi

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nidhi456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

we arrived in haridwar for the 2010 Kumbe Mela on 12 April 2010.
The room had been booked for 3 people (2 + 1 Extra bed). we had been promised that a guide would help us on arrival with our luggage at Haridwar. when we got there and called the hotel they said someone would be with us in 10 minutes. One hour later no one had come. When we called again we were told to try abd get there ourselves. When we finally got to the hotel our room was not ready. we had already paid 10500Rs per night for the room for 3 nights(normal rate is 2500Rs) after waiting for another half an hour we were given a partly done up room. the service was poor hotel was very dirty, management was very rude. It traspired that we could not help on the night of arrival in haridwar as preference was given to the white tourists and we were just ordinary Indians. I had also spoken to the staff on arrival and told them that I did not need an extra bed but on check out they still wanted to get the money for an extra bed that was never given to us in the first place. They also charged us ofr items that should have been complimentry.
I would never reccomend the hotel to anyone ever. some emmbaressed staff said that the hotel had paid money to other corrupt officails to get a star rating otherwise it is a just passable hotel. the lifts were not working for the duration of stay at this hotel and the light was continously being cut from this filtty hotel that reckons its got 4 stars????. If you want the worst experince you could imagine then be it on your head to book at this hell hole.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Haridwar hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haridwar hotels
0.5 km away
Rahi Motel
Rahi Motel
#40 of 87 in Haridwar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Aditya
Hotel Aditya
#38 of 87 in Haridwar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel King
Hotel King
#43 of 87 in Haridwar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Sun City
Hotel Sun City
#17 of 87 in Haridwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Chitra Grand
Hotel Chitra Grand
#13 of 87 in Haridwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
4.6 km away
Hotel Queen
Hotel Queen
#50 of 87 in Haridwar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hotel

Property: Sun Hotel
Address: Tulsi Chowk,Opp.Railway Station, | Shravan Nath Nagar, Haridwar 249401, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Haridwar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 87 Hotels in Haridwar
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,238 - ₹ 2,931
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a newly built up (50 well appointed A.C rooms) four star category “SUN HOTEL” a group owned by Marvel Hotels & Builder Pvt. Ltd. Unveiled its debut at Haridwar (a place of holiday with God), which is in front of Railway station next to Hariki Pauri. Our Brand “Sun Hotels” is a group of growing chain of hotels of modern urban design, uploading is blend of business, pleasure & finest lifestyle experience for you, at our all centrally located hotels, a perfect place to be.A whole new experience of warmth & hospitality awaits you at Sun Hotel, a new finest hotel in heart of city. Check-in-today for a truly refreshing Sun Hotel experience.Sun Hotels are the keepers of the tradition. We believe in showering the best services to our guests. But this doesn’t stop us from introducing new and innovative services and facilities from time to time. We move with the technology and keep on introducing new service standards and latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing