We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Dhow Inn(Paje)
US$ 249
US$ 220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 106
US$ 100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar(Paje)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hakuna Shida Guesthouse(Paje)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Summer Dream Lodge(Paje)(Great Value!)
US$ 45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 165
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 450
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 1,240
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
255
157
43
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
157
43
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswe booked half boardlow tidetea and coffeelarge poolcalamarienjoyable staysoft sanda great stayseafoodthe general managerrooms are cleanrecommend this placedelicious foodkite surfersbeachchillzanzibar
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2015

We stayed at hakuna majiwe for 5 nights and loved every minute of our stay there. The location is perfect, the fact that you are surrounded with perfect white sand everywhere and you are Steps away from the water is so romantic and magical.
The accommodation is basic but with shick. We felt like we we're on a private island.
And the best part is the staff: rafiki, Harry, marry.. always smiling and making jokes, and of course Chris the manager who always made sure we are taken care of.
Thank you guys for making our stay unforgettable. It was everything a Honeymoon should be.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Hakuna Majiwe is an absolutely beautiful lodge more suited to honeymooners and couples rather than young single adults (my personal opinion). The lodge is made up of several bungalows furnished with an AC, a safe, own porch and hammock and all the amenities you expect from a lodge/hotel. The location of the lodge is perfect, with a 5 minute walk to the beach.
The staff was wonderful and very attentive, and we quickly felt at home and made friends with all of them. I cannot stress enough how helpful and kind the staff were (including the general manager!) which made our stay even more enjoyable. The hotel offered many water activities and tours for all ages and interests. (E.g: dolphin swimming, snorkeling, kite surfing etc).The food was good too and consisted of continental and Tanzanian dishes. The freshly pressed juices we received every morning for breakfast were also an added bonus.
The only criticism I have, is the fact that the bathroom appliances are somewhat old and are in need of a major revamp, and that there is no TV or WiFi in the rooms. (The lack of TV isn't so much of a problem, but having WiFi in our rooms would've been nice)
Overall, our stay was so peaceful and relaxing; I would definitely stay there again and would also recommend it to anyone travelling to Paje.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gyasi2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

This is really a nice and friendly place to stay at. I do recommend it. Great swimming pool. Very quiet lodge perfect o relax. Clean and refurbished room. Amazing reggae music. Nice food and very nice and friendly boss (chris). Go and try it!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Aziza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We spend a week with our two sons (3 and 5) in a 2 BR Family Bungalow at the Hakuna Majewe Lodge in July.

The positive sides first...

The beach is absolutely perfect!!! Chrystal white beach without any rocks or stones or other unpleasant objects... The seaweed, which is natural in this area, gets cleaned away every morning so that you get the best beach we ever been to! We could give our boys a stick and they went off for hours exploring the beach and it's little creatures! Absolutely wonderful!!

The Staff was also one of the highlights! They have been extremely friendly in a very natural way! They enjoyed playing with the kids and tried their best to make our stay as pleasant as possible!

Not so pleasant..... the price...
We have been told by the travel agent that the Lodge just reopened after a renovation... the price they quoted was the one for a 4-5 Star Hotel / Lodge unfortunately we had to learn that only the price was on that level...
The Beach Bungalow we have been promised was facing a wall to the neighbor Hotel pool, we have to admit if you look over the pool and between the Massage Bungalow and some Sun umbrellas you could see a bit of beach...

The Bungalow itself was absolutely basic... we added some pictures as these say more than words.

Bathroom was not even the standard of a youth hostel, Bedroom was very minimized .... one mattress did not even fit the bed size the other one was so soft that by the end of the night you slept on the wooden frame of the bed...

The Breakfast made you feel again as if you where in a youth hostel... cookies, Rusk and cake.... accompanied by instant coffee... You could also order beans, sausages, eggs or pancake... for the price we paid not what we expected...

Dinner... you shall order min one hour before you want to eat, because it takes time... we hoped that we could experience some special Zanzibar food as this island is known for it's spices and lovely fruits... unfortunately the daily menu was dominated by pasta... the Specialty of the day was often Seafood but also more in an Italian way...

Fruits in general seemed to be a problem... no fresh coconut juice or coco nuts, Mango juice or fruit only very limited, Avocado juice sometimes... that’s it...

At the beach no benches or Sun umbrellas, don't even think about a cabana...

In general we have to say we had a lovely family holiday if you managed to forget about the price we paid! As the new manager is just started as we arrived we believe he will be able to turn this place into a lovely family vacation destination as the Lodge has definitely the potential for it!

Room Tip: None of the family 2 BR rooms have a beach view...
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank INGA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakuna Majiwe B... Z, General Manager at Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2015

Dear INGA P from Hamburg

May I firstly thank you for taking the time reviewing us.
May I also thank you for your kind words regarding our great staff and the fantastic beach and the fact that you have enjoyed your family vacation at the Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge. However, I’m most disappointed to read that your stay with us was not as exemplary as it should have been, and that you feel our accommodation was not delivering to your expectations.

I would now like to take this opportunity to share our thoughts with you and those readers of this review.

Correct is that our rooms have been undergone a thorough refurbishment including a complete repainting job, extensive mason art-work on all walls in the bed room, bath room and luggage room, new light fittings and installation of Air-conditions in all bed rooms. Admittedly, the bathroom appliances have not been renewed yet, as you have pictured correctly. This will be done as soon as they have arrived here at the lodge, though. Again, my apologies that we could not complete that task during your stay with us. However, our given rates are utmost competitive and not anywhere near a 5-star room rate on the island of Zanzibar. As you have pointed out correctly you’ve been quoted by your travel agent and not by us directly. Our rates are in fact very convenient as we are aiming to re-position us on the very competitive Lodge market in Zanzibar after our re-opening in July 2015.

We are very concerned about your comment regarding the position of the bungalow you had stayed in. True is that it is the most southern bungalow on the property, alongside a 80 centimetre high wall of natural stone marking the property of our neighbour lodge on the right side of your bungalow. The entire Hakuna Majiwe Lodge is directly build on the beach in one long stretch, as any reader will easily see on a satellite image or map. This is a fact we are very proud of at Hakuna Majiwe, knowing that no other lodge here can offer the same.
The breakfast at Hakuna Majiwe is a fusion of cold buffet and hot à la carte service, where all hot meals are ordered through your waiter and prepared by the Chef. We believe that the quality of freshly prepared hot dishes coming directly out of the kitchen is far superior to any hot buffet.

We are somehow startled about your comment on the choice of dinner served at Hakuna Majiwe Lodge. For lunch and dinner we always offer three different menus to choose from. An à la carte menu, consisting of a balanced mix of local Tanzanian/Zanzibari and international dishes, a daily new 4-course menu with a choice of three starters, four main courses (seafood, vegetarian, chicken, pasta) and three desserts, and a black board consisting of minimum three “catch of the day”-seafood dishes. We are deeply disappointed that this was not entirely to your likings and wish you would have informed us about this during your stay, so we could have find a way of cooking more to your taste.

We looked closely into your complaint of shortage in fresh juices. We have always two freshly prepared juices on offer, and serve fresh coconut whenever available. Since our welcome drinks at Hakuna Majiwe are served in coconut shells, this is indeed not always the case. Our sincere apology for that.

Disconcerting on your comment on beach umbrellas is the fact that we have 6 coconut-leaf covered sun huts build on the beach directly, and another nine huts in the second row nestled and shaded by coconut trees. Beach beds with soft mattresses are in place or will be brought in when required. Again we wish you would have addressed this during your stay with us, as I’m convinced we could have satisfied you instantly. True is, however, that we don’t have changing rooms on the beach. But with only a distance of less than 20 meters from any bungalow to the beach we never have thought this to be a necessity.

I trust that this response is satisfactory to all readers and yourself and helps to explain those points that you have highlighted. I welcome further comments from you and suggestions as to how we can best serve all who come to stay at our tranquil oasis of Hakuna Majiwe Lodge.


Best wishes

Chris Besmehn
General Manager
Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We stayed in Hakuna Majiwe in early April, being it off season the hotel was empty so we had the hotel for ourselves, it was very nice experience; on the other hand most of the services were not up to standards, the kitchen was not fully functioning and no massage service.

The best thing about this hotel is that the villas are right on the beach, and the swimming pool is big and nice, there is definitely a touch of class about this hotel.

The rooms are nice, but lacks AC, there is no TV in the lobby so if you are a football fan you will miss something.

Staff were super helpful, to their capacity.

Room Tip: Room number 10, beside the reception was perfect, although all rooms looks the same.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Telal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews