We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$ 110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 106
US$ 100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hakuna Shida Guesthouse(Paje)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar(Paje)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
US$ 87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 165
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summer Dream Lodge(Paje)(Great Value!)
US$ 45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 109
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dhow Inn(Paje)
US$ 249
US$ 220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 640
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 715/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
255
158
43
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
158
43
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswe booked half boardlow tidetea and coffeelarge poolcalamarienjoyable staysoft sanda great stayseafoodthe general managerrooms are cleanrecommend this placedelicious foodkite surfersbeachchillzanzibar
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 497 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We stayed in Hakuna Majiwe in early April, being it off season the hotel was empty so we had the hotel for ourselves, it was very nice experience; on the other hand most of the services were not up to standards, the kitchen was not fully functioning and no massage service.

The best thing about this hotel is that the villas are right on the beach, and the swimming pool is big and nice, there is definitely a touch of class about this hotel.

The rooms are nice, but lacks AC, there is no TV in the lobby so if you are a football fan you will miss something.

Staff were super helpful, to their capacity.

Room Tip: Room number 10, beside the reception was perfect, although all rooms looks the same.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Telal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2015

The best thing about this lodge is that it is located right on the beach. The place has a very authentic feel of local Zanzibar which only adds to the charm. The food is some of the best I've tasted in Zanzibar. The staff is extremely friendly and make you feel right at home. During my stay, the staff arranged for a surprise birthday cake for a fellow guest, and presented it with some beautiful Swahili song. They made it a memorable evening for all.
The only downside of this place is that the rooms are not equipped with AC. But given the excellent beach right outside, you don't really end up spending a lot of time indoors.
All in all, an excellent place to visit with friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shreel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015 via mobile

Brilliant location and super apartment.All in all great stay with helpful staff.
The apartments were very comfortable, clean and with great facilities. The staff was very friendly and helpful
Would stay again, no doubt!
The location is superb on the beach The breakfast buffet was good. The barmen were very friendly.
Great staff, great location my dream hotel, everything is the way I expect any hotel to be :-)
The view from our apartment was fabulous!
Great location! Would love to have stayed longer!
Todos Para kitesurf!!!!!!!!

Stayed: February 2015
Thank Lipka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015

We went directly to Jambiani/Paje to choose a hotel on the spot and picked Hakuna Majiwe. The price we paid was a bit over our budget and maybe a bit high looking at the (current) rooms standard. However we didn't regret our choice (of not going for a cheaper place) for several reasons: the hotel site is splendid and relaxing (vast all-sand compound - hakuna majiwe means "no rock", lots of trees, beautiful pool, vast and welcoming dining hall, etc), the location is good (very quiet and at the same time not to far on foot from the too-busy Paje beach with all the kite surf; Jambiani village is accessible), the new Swahili-English-Italian-speaking management (which took over the previous team in December 2014) is working on improving all what's possible and eager to listen to the views of guests: all bungalows are being upgraded (the bungalow where we stayed was already comfortable and well kept; the last important detail to be fixed is to have "sweet" water in the bathroom); the breakfast is filling (includes fruits, juices, pancakes, etc); the restaurant menu and its variety can be improved (especially that the only other next-door option is the neighboring hotel so you'll most likely have some lunch/dinner at Hakuna Majiwe) but food is good, etc. We stayed at the hotel with our 2-year old: there's no child-friendly facility (apart from a porch-swing at each bungalow and in the garden; the pool's lowest level is 1m20) but our child didn't get bored and was very welcomed by all the staff.

Room Tip: Take the time to visit several rooms
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidKarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakuna Majiwe B... Z, General Manager at Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive review of our property and services. We are glad to know that your stay with us was comfortable. We look forward to welcome you and family again in the near future. You will notice more improvements on overall property and services. Welcome again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

At the beginning we had big problems: we made a reservation directly on the hotel web sites half a year in advance. We gave our credit card details and on the next day our credit card was charged the exact amount of money. From this moment the problems started. Mrs. Daniela D´Annunzio from Ora Hoteles Group repeatedly sent us emails that our card is not valid and demanded another credit card (of course our credit card WAS valid and WAS already charged). After 3 months of sending emails and even phone calls to Ora Hoteles Group in Italy without any success we decided to send final email explaining this situation and we attached a copy of our bank account statement with the payment. We sent this to all email addresses related to Ora Hoteles Group we found. After this Mrs. D´Annunzio replied "Your reservation is confirmed". There was not even a word of appology. Two days before our arrival to Hakuna Majiwe we were contacted by Ora Hoteles Group with the information that we will be "upgraded" to My Blue Ora Resort in Nungwi. We spent half a day rearranging our program in Zanzibar because of this unexpected change. On the last evening before our arrival we were contacted again with the information that accomodation in Hakuna Majiwe is possible... We arrived to Paje on the next day and since that time everything was perfect. The general manager of the hotel Mr.John does a perfect job. He took a wonderful care of us and so did the rest of the staff. The hotel is beautiful, the food was perfect, the pool is great, the beach is excellent. Nothing was a problem. On the last day there was a Masai show after dinner and Johny even printed the program for us in our language! Finally we were very satisfied and we would love to spend our holiday in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews