We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,086)
Filter reviews
1,086 results
Traveller rating
559
338
106
50
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
559
338
106
50
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue bay superior room sultan sands stone town every night sister hotel huge bed nice balcony live band themed dinners white sand seafood indian ocean table tennis great pool buffet style different theme
Filter
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 1,086 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2016

This was my first trip to Zanzibar or anywhere in Africa.for that.
Arrival and check in was quick no problems.
first impressions were very good clean pleasant hotel and it didnt change throughout my stay.
Room was clean and tidy always sprayed for mozzies on a night.
A special thanks to all the poolbar workers but special thanks go to mohammed and ahmed who made me feel very welcome from the first time i went to the bar.
The food in the restaurants was alway good never had a bad meal some times it wasnt quite redhot but thats not a big gripe.always a wide range of food with different themes most nights.I went AI and felt i got value for money.
I went in april when it was very quite so sometimes we had to go next door to the sister hotel but everything was the same and always good.
The serving staff were always there cleaning the table and very attentive perhaps too much at times.
I spent most of my time on the sun beds at the top of the beach watching all the sellers walking up and down all day. there were always security present to get them away if you wanted to go down to the sea so never felt threatened.Someone was always walking up and down so if you needed a drink you never even had to go back to the bar they would just fetch it for you.
Loved my time there and all the staff made you feel welcome and would stop and ask how everything was if there was a problem or just chat.
Would i go back again yes for sure i would so that always a good thing.
Thank you to all staff for an enjoyable stay

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scouthiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Resident Manager,Bluebay Hotels at Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2016

REPLY
Greetings from the Bluebay Beach Resorts & Spa on Kiwengwa Beach – the very best on one happy island= Zanzibar

It’s with great pleasure to read your review.

We at the Bluebay are all geared towards ensuring that our guest experiences are excellent and a true reflection of the great Zanzibari hospitality and the friendliness of its people

It’s always pleasant and heartwarming for all of us when we receive such positive feedback. We are renowned for our excellent choice and quality of the freshest of food not only in our main restaurants but also in our four a la carte choices suiting each taste and pocket.

From the entire team here at Bluebay Beach Resort & spa we say- Ahsante Sana na Karibu Tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We recently spent 5 days at Blue Bay Resort! We had a wonderful time. Having booked the hotel online we were a little apprehensive as to what was awaiting us but to our delight we totally enjoyed our vacation. On checking in we were given hibiscus juice and cold towels to freshen up. As for the food which was buffet style, we had lots of choices though I would say that we found the food to be average not just at this resort but in Zanzibar in general. Our room 228 was at the back of the hotel near some sort of club that played loud music at night. The only saving grace was that once in the room we could not hear any of the loud music. Our air conditioning worked very well the whole time that we were there. The beach was very clean. By the time we were leaving we had made so many friends. From the staff: Almas - F&B Mgr, who introduced himself in the dining room, Joyce - the waitress at the bar, Charles - the bar tender, Arafa - at the front desk, Lameck - waiter. I would honestly say that the service we got was fantastic! The staff was always very friendly and willing to accommodate all our requests from late check out or arranging for taxis. The only issues we had were that we kept asking to be brought an ironing box which was never delivered and also we had requested a wake up call that never happened. All in all, I would give the hotel 3.5 stars. *** Tip: Bring $ (dollars) to pay for your incidental charges vs. charging to your card***

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 303Malaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Resident Manager,Bluebay Hotels at Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

We are pleased to read your candid review.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us

You will have noticed that our food is not only buffet style with show cooking but we also offer the choice of 4 different, well-priced a la carte options. Kindly bear in mind is that Zanzibar is a very small island with very little own production – industrial and agricultural. All deli meats and poultry have to be imported as do our wines and spirits. Fresh vegetables travel across the water from mainland Tanzania. So please do not expect a 3 star Michelin culinary experience on Zanzibar but rather the freshest of food and fish ‘from the ocean into the pan’ All ‘’brewed in an African pot’ with natural spices of Zanzibar hence the many, many positive reviews from our guests from all over the world.

For the issue of ironing box we run a fully flagged Guest laundry at most reasonable charges – after all you are on a Holiday. An iron box also poses a fire hazard in a resort where all roofs are ‘’makuti’’ thatched.

Kindly take note a charge on credit card payments is standard in this part of the world. The high banking costs leave businesses without a choice. We can assure you it does not cover the costs we incur and is far from an easy way to make some extra money.


Your words about our staff are really encouraging and appreciated and it will be my pleasure to pass them to the team .


AHSANTE SANA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Bluebay Beach is a great, beautiful, clean resort and i had a very good stay there. the rooms are big and comfortable, the food was nice - every evening a different style and some lunches on the beach itself. the staff is extremely nice and helpful. the only thing i missed is the sunset. if you are in that side of Zanzibar, you will miss amazing sunsets.

Date of stay: September 2015
Thank Sharonepshtein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Resident manager,Bluebay Hotels at Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2016

Greetings from Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa team
We are pleased to read your review and thank you most sincerely for taking your time to write about us.

It is always a delight to see guest appreciating our resorts ambiance,the freshest of food and the best of friendly Zanzibar services . You will have missed the sunsets but we substitute this with the biggest of smiles and a rising moon which can be truly amazing under the stars of Kiwengwa Beach

Our Food and Beverage team endeavors to meet the tastes of all our multinational guest hence a diverse meal variety is paramount to us.





Ahsante Sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Great receiption, very friendly staff ready to listen and respond. Clean, spacious, juniour suite. Great food, good music at dinner, variety of swimming pulls, great view of the ocean, great management.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naflily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Resident Manager,Bluebay Hotels at Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2016

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you liked your stay here at our Resorts. With such a great review, our team knows that what we do is appreciated by our guests.

Most of our guests appreciate that our resorts have that ' truly Zanzibari welcoming homely feeling, rather than just being a Beach Resort. Kiwengwa Beach is less exploited destination in Zanzibar,

We hope to see you back in Zanzibar, and Bluebay Beach Resort &Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This trip was our first experience of Zanzibar, and we were totally overwhelmed by the marvelous scenery and beaches! May is apparently low season there (as it's supposed to be rainy), which meant the hotel was relatively empty, but weather was actually quite nice for us - just slight overcast less than half of the time that saved us from getting sunburned right away, and a couple of short light rains which were not at all of a scary tropical shower type.

The hotel has a really nice territory with eye-pleasing variety of palms, trees, flowers and such. Got some funny colorful birds, super-cute bush babies after dark, various geckos and a number of resident cats that even have a dedicated "Cat Cafe" :)

Our room was a Superior one with garden view on ground floor. Quite nice looking, with a nice terrace overlooking all the green awesomeness and a little bit of the ocean showing through. The bed is enormous and very comfortable, although my wife found the mattress somewhat stiff (I personally didn't think so). All the facilities were in good shape, although one can see how unforgiving that heat and humidity is to electronics: we had to call reception a couple of times to fix the electronic safe box (replace batteries + clean the circuit board inside). Housekeeping was quite well timed and didn't disturb us when we were inside. Complimentary water and toiletries were replenished regularly.

Buffet food had decent variety, although we would have appreciated a bit more seafood in such a location. Special compliments to the desserts chef - those were irresistible!

There is also a One Ocean dive center on premises, which is absolutely top notch - highly recommended! We did several dives at Mnemba Atoll with them, which is gorgeous!

We also had a very enjoyable tour experience arranged informally via a staff member (which the hotel understandably discourages). Your mileage may vary, of course.

Prices for the extras though are pretty steep given the general price level in Zanzibar. We were on half-board food option, and buffet lunch for two was 80000 TZS excluding drinks (~40 USD). Drinks are on the order of 10000 TZS per cocktail, 9000 TZS for a glass of wine. For comparison, a lunch for two including starters, mains, drinks and tip in a touristy looking restaurant on the ocean coast in Stone Town set us back 70000 TZS. Mind also that the internal exchange rate at the hotel is about 10% off the normal rate, same for card payment (they will convert your TZS bill to USD at that internal rate don't know why, then charge you in USD, then your bank / payment system will also charge you for conversion between USD and your currency if different). So you will be better off withdrawing sufficient cash in TZS via an ATM in Stone Town (even with all the commissions).

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 677alexeyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Resident Manager,Bluebay Hotels at Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2016

We are pleased to read your review and thank you most sincerely for taking your time to write about us.

It is always a delight to see guest appreciating the resorts ambience, the white sandy beach giving us 500 meters of Beach frontage the freshest of food and the best of friendly Zanzibar services


We are humbled that you scored us tops in all the areas. I would like to assure you that we will continue to raise the bar so that we continue to exceed the expectations of our valued guest,


I have shared your compliments with our team and they appreciate that we not only met but also exceeded your expectations


Please take note that we encourage guests not to engage informally with our staff, with the beach boys or any unlicenced agent as the tours and boat trips they are offer are often not licensed or regulated and are frequently poorly and even unsafely operated.


Finally with regards to exchange rates – Zanzibar is very far from a financial hub. Tourism numbers are relatively low and as such banks, hotels and bureaus cannot be expected to keep reserves of any number of currencies on hand without making some profit on the exchange. They are not making money playing currency markets and the stock exchange they are providing a service and as with any service will charge accordingly. As for the costs of extras please bear in my that we are located on an island and that all beverages and most food stuff needs to be imported.
Thank you once more for your review, your feedback is extremely valuable to us and hope that it is not before too long that you return to our magical island




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews