We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tropical paradise”
OceanView Villa  Beachfront Villa -Veranda w/Great Ocean Views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OceanView Villa  Beachfront Villa -Veranda w/Great Ocean Views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
OceanView Villa  Beachfront Villa -Veranda w/Great Ocean Views
Beach Scene
Masai Walking
Catch of the day
Dining on the veranda
Karibu
Guestroom
Master Bathroom
Reception
Guests sailing from our beach gate
Coming back from the beach
Bungalows exterior
Bungalow veranda
Bungalow veranda
Matundu – Carved wood exterior which doubles into French doors inside the room
Bungalow interior
Bungalow interior
Bungalow interior with beds & fan
Modern all-tiled bathroom & shower
Shower & matundo (Swahili window)
Property viewed from the Ocean
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kiwengwa, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Woodydeb6...
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“could be so much more”
Reviewed 22 May 2012 for a stay in October 2011
4
people found this review helpful

As a family with 4 children ages 15,14,12,and 9 plus my mother was travelling with us. We spent 10 nights at Oceanview villa. The staff were OK. The beach and garden were nice. The gardener did a nice job with that. The house could do with a good clean. Not a lot of that was going on while we where there.
The power was constantly going off and the generator didn't work. We had to ask for lamps/candles and matches. Which seemed to be put away in a safe place every night. So we bought our own.
There is bottled water to buy. But at the end of our stay I think the water bottles were being refilled from the well. When we asked the staff to show us the sealed water bottles. There were none in the house. Plus the kids were feeling a little off.
We were hoping for some fresh fish and seafood but only received frozen. The cooking after awhile tasted all the same. Some dishes were nice but I thought very expensive. One large bowl of pasta with meat sauce for 3 adults and 4 children was US$75.00. I think that is a lot for a ordinary home cooked meal. In saying that the untensils/ appliances in the kitchen are very limited. The breakfast of pancakes which were really crepes every morning became a bit much. They were always served half an hour before we asked. So very cold gluppy crepes and rock hard toast for 10 days become frustrating. The fresh fruit was nice and the table set on the patio every morning was lovely.
It was a very relaxing place to stay. We as a family love to read and play board games all day . The front patio was prefect for that. But to read and play games at night was nearly impossible. Even if the power was on the lighting was very dim. Thanks goodness we had head torchs.
We ended up washing our towels as they smelled awful. The pillows on the beds need to be replaced. They stunk of stale sweat and you wouldn't want to put your head on them. No soap in the bathrooms.
Lots of little things that could be easily rectified could make this a very enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: beach patio
Liked least: food cleanliness
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Reviewed 10 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jusaja
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Villa on local village beach”
Reviewed 3 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011
2
people found this review helpful

The villa is located on beach well swimmable when high tide. In front is a seaweed cultivation, to left an exclusive Italian resort (no walk-in!) and to right the poor village of Pwani Mchangani. The beach is less appealing than those in south-east (Jambiani, Paje), north (Kendwa) or even near-by (Matemwe, Kiwengwa) Zanzibar though so far much less crowded. However, many new resorts are being constructed near-by, including new bungalows for this villa. On the beach one is continuously faced with souvenir and excursion selling maasai and the village kids begging for money. If you do not speak Italian, most but not all leave you alone.

The village families carry their daily rubbish and excrements to the beach to be flushed by high tide. Fortunately, the villa staff keeps promptly the upper beach front clean from seaweed and other rubbish. Unfortunately, just after the territory one enters into large informal garbage sites filled with plastic rubbish, cans, broken bottles, worn-out clothing, used tires, empty coconut shells, etc. During a two weeks stay we found every day pieces of broken glass on the beach just outside the villa and once even a machete – so you better watch your step.

The villa is fenced from all sites. There is a guardian dog barking (perhaps for reason but need to put something in one's ears) the beach people after sunset as well as responding to the regular calls of the near-by mosque. The villa has a large tidy garden with flowers and trees (watch out for fallen coconuts!) that provide shelter from mid-day sun.

The spacious interior of villa has an interesting collection of beautiful wooden furniture but more maintenance is needed. Not all windows close properly leaving free access to mosquito, mosquito nets have holes, during heavy showers water falls in here and there (through dries with sun), and the kitchen utensils are a bit worn-out. A charge of 35 USD/day is for the use of kitchen! If needed, the staff makes tasty home-made food with prices similar to near-by restaurants. The villa has a power generator that helps with the frequent electricity cuts in Zanzibar. No wireless, the nearest is about 1 km south by the flag of Poland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location on beach
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2011
On the positive and sunny side, the beauty of our beach is breathtaking. The expansive beaches of the North-East coast of Zanzibar cannot even be compared to Jambiani.
Our spacious and exotic, private villa and bungalows are set in a lush tropical garden overlooking the Indian Ocean. From our OceanView veranda you can enjoy the natural splendor of the private beach and the awesome & dramatic breaking dawns. No words can describe the beauty of the view of this magnificent Indian Ocean and the cooling breezes touching your skin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikvandam...
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“better then a dream”
Reviewed 25 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

After a very nice safari in Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro and Serengti, we came to Zanzibar to stay 6 nights in the Ocean villa. This place is really great. Fantasic villa with very good confort and very nicely decorated. Its location at the beachside in a small village is so beautiful.
And absolutely above all expectations is the staff with Futari on top. Only one evening we tried a restaurant nearby, just to have an idea. All the others meals we took in the villa, where Futari, Lucy en Salama cooked deliciuous plates at low prices. We were so delighted, that we even invited friends living in a luxurous resort not so far away, to come and eat with us and also they confirmed that the (swahili) cooking and the place are outstanding.
Futari also helped us in providing transport (nice driver and good prices) to all the destinations we wanted to. There is far more to do in Zanzibar than we had expected. Being in this villa also allows a very good and friendly contact with the local people.
The dog Rambo is also a great attraction. He is very nice and easily becomes a very good friend. Our children went very often out walking with him.
After our stay in the villa, we stayed 3 nights in Stone Town in a hotel. This was ok and very practical to see Stone Town by day and evening. We think a stay with 2/3 in the Ocean Villa an 1/3 in a residence in Stone Town is an excellent combination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: this is a residence with a great heart
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2011
Dear Katrien
Our many thanks for the lovely review you wrote on the OceanView Villa and the staff.
We truly appreciate your time to take to write this wonderful review which make us very proud of our efforts to give our best to our guests.
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in the villa and Zanzibar. We miss Rambo tremendously.
Our best wishes to you and your family.
Lilia & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Reviewed 7 March 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: the position
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 60
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing