We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting location, superb food”
Review of Cottage Point Inn

Cottage Point Inn
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 15/04
20:00
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cottage Point Inn began its life as a boat house, general store and post office for the river community. Over the last two decades, the Inn has been transformed from a pleasant bistro in a stunning setting to its current fine dining form focused on showcasing the best Australian produce. Autumn 2017 sees Kevin Solomon take the helm as Head Chef. "I see Cottage point inn as a truly magnificent spot in Australia to showcase the beauty of nature through food " Kevin Solomon
Reviewed 10 March 2021

We returned to Cottage Point Inn to celebrate an important anniversary, and it was just as special, memorable, and delicious as always. Post-Covid the seating arrangements are even more generous so you really feel you are in a private, enchanting world. Incredible water views and a stunning sunset are complemented by an array of delicious dishes. We had the four-course tasting menu which - two amazing seafood appetisers, a satisfying beef main course and the renowned licorice cake for dessert. The service is warm, and unobtrusive which makes for an incredibly relaxing dining experience. This is a trip worth making.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2021

We noticed that a ferry went from Palm Beach to Cottage Point (NSW) and the Cottage Point Inn and thought the Inn would be the perfect location for a special celebration. We checked with the restaurant if the combination of the ferry trip and lunch would work and was assured that it did because the ferry would arrive at Cottage Point at 12.15pm and depart at 2.15pm giving us plenty of time to enjoy the 3 course menu. We were taken to our table which had a lovely outlook. We were offered water, and received a single glass of tap water each – no more was offered again. Our entrée arrived at 12.45pm which was good but not great. At 1.50pm, over an hour after the entrée was served and 25 minutes before our ferry was due to return to Palm Beach, I found our waiter inside chatting to his colleagues at the bar and I enquired about our main course. The people at the table next to us had the same experience. We had been forgotten! Our main course arrived at 2pm and the dessert was shoved in front of us as the ferry came into site at 2.05pm. I didn’t get to dessert but what I ate of the main course was very disappointing.
We spent hundreds of dollars on the worst restaurant experience we have ever endured anywhere. The return ferry trip with the other disappointed and extremely angry Cottage Point Inn diners was a miserable journey. In contrast, the people who dined at the Boathouse at Patonga who returned with us to Palm Beach had a wonderful time.
This was an incredibly dreadful way to treat customers and there is no excuse for this appalling level of service and failure to deliver the expected quality of food.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2021

Totally unplanned! We were going to go to the kiosk however thought we'd have a look at this restaurant. They kindly accommodated us on a great table and we were blown away by the food. Staff are so lovely too.

Thank you Cottage Point Inn team, really special day

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Davo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2020

If it wasn't for the amazing location, this would be a very average diner. On the deck and inside little effort to create some style or atmosphere. Place looks unkempt and tired. Could do with a make-over.
30 minutes wait for the menu. Restaurant only 3/4 full. Afterwards service was good, no more.
A 3 course meal consist of 2 minuscule portion entrees, one being one single prawn cut into small pieces, covered in white goo.
Main courses disappointing, sous vide beef soggy.
Should try a bit harder.
Could be an iconic restaurant but it seems owner-chef thinks that a good view is enough. No wonder it was not full.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Frozzie-deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2020

My family has visited this restaurant for some years. It was my first time. The exterior is very shabby with weeds growing profusely in plant pots and the place feels as if it’s seen better days outside. Service is all male and very brusque. My ‘grilled squid’ entree turned out to be four fingernail sized slivers on top of a chlorophyll green soup. The flavour was not exciting. Main course, steak, was chewy and tiny. The vegetable side dish was the highlight. Dessert, unconstructed liquorice cake was pleasant but nothing to write home about. I live on the NSW north coast and our local hatted restaurant serves much superior food at just over half the price for 3 courses. The ferry trip to the Inn was very enjoyable, but next time I will continue on to have lunch at Bobbin Head.

Date of visit: November 2020
2  Thank scribe108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cottage Point Inn also viewed

 
Mooney Mooney, New South Wales
Hawkesbury Valley, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Cottage Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.