We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
106
61
27
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
61
27
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location wifi strength car windscreen huge tv sand pit well equipped bedroomed unit the kitchen short walk from the lake brilliant stay handy location great shower business trip cooking facilities walking distance heat pump friendly hosts
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night 2 weeks ago in a 2 bedroom family unit. Well maintained ground spacious unit, clean, neat and pristine bathroom. Although some of the decors are slightly dated but I think the owners are in the process of upgrading the fittings and the room will be even better once finish. The renovated bathroom is modern and spacious, the water pressure for the shower is excellent, the best we had for our stay in NZ. Friendly owner and efficient check in process and their standard check out time is 11:00am, very handy for family travelling with young children.
The location of the motel is excellent, kind of on the edge of the town so slightly away from the hustle bustle but still close enough to walk into town.
If you love Indian food, you must try the Indian restaurant next to the motel. They serve the best authentic Indian food and reasonably priced. We haven’t have such a great feast like this for a while, the naan bread is to die for. It is only a small restaurant run by husband and wife so make sure you book to avoid disappointment.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Momocha99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek J, Owner at Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thanks for your review. Yes our location is always one of the highlights for people that stay with us. You can sit in relax in our garden or go for a short wee walk to explore the heart of Wanaka & the beautiful lake that we love. Also knowing that you can leave the hustle & bustle behind when you return to us. Ashrafs Indian is certainly one of our favourites! Its a-bit dangerous being right next door, we go their ourselves far to often. Hopefully next time you visit us we can make it 5 stars not 4.
Thank again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We had a studio room which was fine for our needs. The bed was very comfy, the shower fantastic.We could sit comfortably with a drink to watch TV in the evening. There was enough kitchen gear to prepare a breakfast or a light meal.
There was no problem with external noise.
The room was slightly old fashioned, but it did the job at a fair rate.
Derek the owner was a fount of information re. walks and things to do.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haddaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek J, Owner at Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Alpine Motel. Our guests love how quiet we are but how close we are to Lake Wanaka & the busy CBD. Glad you enjoyed & made the most of Derek's wealth of knowledge on the area - he loves an excuse to research & explore more of Wanaka's beautiful walks & scenery all to pass onto our wonderful guests. Hopefully we can make it 5 green dots next time you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

It was a neat and compact motel, close to the centre of the town. The room was clean and comfortable with small kitchen appliances. . The motel had a good area for kids to play as well as a barbecue setup . The staff was friendly, and Derek the host made sure you are comfortable. He had good recommendation about the activities to do and places to eat in Wanaka.
The place is like a home away from home.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MadhaviHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek J, Owner at Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for your great comments & taking the time to do a review. We especially love the comment "A home away from home", that is what we like to hear! We are a family friendly place - so we are constantly upgrading our children's playground facilities so the kids don't get bored & enjoy their time with us as well. Its great when the families that stay with us take advantage of our free BBQ & picnic area beside the children's play area. It means quality KIWI family time for all - which is what holidays are about. Wanaka has some great things for kids to do in most age brackets.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

A great motel in a great town. Very close to all amenities. We were stuck in Wanaka due to unforeseen circumstances - a vehicle breakdown and needed somewhere nice to stay overnight. Thanks for your help Derek.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek J, Owner at Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

You are very welcome. So pleased we could help you out & get you sorted with what would have been a very stressful part of your holiday. Glad we had a room for you to relax in while it got sorted. - We always try our best to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Perfect for a few nights stay in Wanaka, really great location and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Loved the little play area for kids.
Clean and tidy rooms everything you need.
Thanks for having us !!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Marni_Naetzker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek J, Owner at Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thanks heaps for taking the time to write a fantastic review. Our guests always remark on our fabulous location, Being within walking distance to the lake & our wonderful shops, restaurants & cafes. But we are also quiet being a wee stroll out of the CBD. Perfect for people who like a quiet nights sleep.
We do love to help our guests make the most of their time in our wee slice of paradise. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews