We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay in Wanaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #9 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surat, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay in Wanaka”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage for 2 nights on 20th and 21st April 2012 and it was a wonderful place to stay with a big living room and kitchen and 2 bedrooms. Bed rooms were nicely done, bathrooms were clean. There were sufficient utensils and tea/ coffee for self catering. i had a 4year old child and there were some toys for him to play. There were enough books and magazines to last a couple of weeks . there was a under floor heating for enitre cottage , though at some places we didnt feel it but there were room heaters also available.
There were spring beds which i particularly dont like as you just sink into it and can hardly move, but perhaps everywhere i went in NZ, it was the same. So this is one area where it was not to my liking but then its a personal preference and its the same everywhere in NZ.
Lastly Ed and Carol were a wonderful host, ready to help anytime and while checking out i found that they didnt charged for my 4 yr old which was a nice gesture from them.
I can surely say that this was the best place i stayed during my entire trip in south island.

amit

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    45
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
182
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN RAMON
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Ed and Carol are exceptional hosts, making you feel right at home and taking fabulous care of every detail. The Lodge and grounds are exceptional quality and the location is ideal, being adjacent the beach and a short walk from downtown. To say the least, were taken with the Lodge and Wanaka and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you have a party of 4 or more, ask about reserving either of the out buildings which are separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEORGED241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights in the Lodge and had such a good experience we returned for another visit. Ed made us a great breakfast each morning and was happy to make us porridge if we preferred it to fresh fruit salad. Ed and Carol, not to forget Douglas made us feel very welcome and comfortable, with great suggestions of places to visit and restaurants to try in Wanaka. We borrowed the Lodge mountain bikes for a ride into Wanaka along the lake front and also towards Rippon with a break for coffee....very nice. The Lodge has won awards for the sustainable building approach, solar water heating, high levels of insulation, etc, it's good to know such a great experience isn't costing the Earth!!! Would recommend as a great place to stay anytime you're in this very special part of New Zealand.

Room Tip: Great to stay in the Lodge if it's just the two of you, we've stayed upstairs and in a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at Wanaka Homestead in early April and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Ed and Carol were very hospitable. We were 3 adults and 2 young children and stayed in the self catering 2 bedroom cottage. The cottage was perfect for our requirements. We loved the layout and the beautiful lawn right outside our front door was great for the kids to run around. The BBQ facilities were very convenient. Being a a couple of minutes drive from Wanaka was also great especially with the thousands of visitors for the warbirds airshow. Wanaka Homestead is located right next door to an amazing park which winds down to the lake which was convenient with small children.We will definately stay again and Ed and Carol were marvelous hosts and always on hand when we had a question. My mother in law decided to come on holiday with us at the last minute and Ed and Carol were very accommodating. Thanks Wanaka Homestead for a wonderful stay !

Room Tip: If you are a couple the lodge rooms are lovely also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninermack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney NSW
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed at the Wanaka Homestead for 3 nights while I was in Wanaka on the tail end of a business trip. It is one of the loveliest places I have stayed at and I found it to be clean, modern, well maintained and very comfortable. I loved having the beautiful relaxing spa pool to enjoy after a few long run in stunning Wanaka. The Homestead is conveniently located with in a stones throw of the Lake and within walking distance to the township. The hosts were very friendly, helpful, and attentive and I enjoyed a satisfying breakfast each morning. I was extremely impressed with the Wanaka Homestead and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting this paradise. Thank you Ed and Carol.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.7 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
778 reviews
1.9 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
0.4 km away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
1.8 km away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
0.7 km away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Property: Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,759 - ₹ 15,398
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing