We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanaka Homestead Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #9 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
“Wanaka Homestead Lodge”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Great location, well equipped, fabulously friendly and very helpful staff. We were very well looked after while we stayed here.

Room Tip: We had a groups staying in the Barn which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    45
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
182
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. Situated opposite a park on the edge of the lake but an easy 20 minute walk into town, Wanaka Homestead has got it right. We had a lovely room on the ground floor opening out onto the lawn (though privacy is a little lacking) which was very clean and comfortable, quiet and nicely furnished (some comfortable outdoor seating would have been nice). The breakfasts were perfect and a nice chance to meet fellow travellers. Ed and Carol were delightful hosts and not intrusive (unlike some we met on our travels!) but very helpful and recommended some stunning walks and kindly organised a helicopter flight for us. They even organised for the entire contents of a drawer which we had forgotten to pack to be sent back to the UK for us....very grateful! Free use of the mountain bikes was also appreciated. A fabulous place and definitely THE spot to stay in Wanaka

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabhols_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in one of the lodge suites, just a 5 min walk to the town along the lovely lake edge. The room was comfy, free WIFI and mountain bikes to explore the surrounding area on. Oh and the Restraunt suggestions top notch. Thanks.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank uh2239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at the lodge for one night in February 2012. We wished we had stayed more! Upon arrival Carol upgraded us to a bigger room than the one we had booked. She also offered us a couple of mountain bikes that we took for a ride by Lake Wanaka, which was beautiful. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with an updated bathroom. It felt like home. The next day, Ed was there to greet us for breakfast and we had a good time talking to him about a small town in Wisconsin that he had visited near where my husband is from. What a small world! Breakfast was delicious and we spent a long time hanging out with fellow travelers which was also a good time. All in all, a great place and we wished we could have stayed longer – if it weren’t for the fact that we had reservations already in another city for the next night, we would have stayed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Ed and Carol were most gracious, especially when I wanted to change from the room they had booked for us. We ended up in the upstairs "master bedroom" (I think that's what it is called) and it was just wonderful. A corner room with double sinks and a huge shower. There was street noise but that was minimal. The fruit salad at breakfast was fabulous (no canned peaches here!) and best of all, free laundry! I'm pretty picky and this rates in the top 3 out of 11 accommodations we stayed in over our 19 day NZ trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.7 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.9 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 km away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.2 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.7 km away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Property: Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,339 - ₹ 12,023
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing