We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay visiting Wanaka” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanaka Bakpaka

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wanaka Bakpaka
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay visiting Wanaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a standard double. Many bathroom shower facilities around, nice and modern. we even had a sink in our room. noce big open kitchen space and breathtaking views from the lounge and dining room. would very much recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacha423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Hi Sacha

Thats great to hear you enjoyed you time at Wanaka Bakpaka! We are so lucky with our location and views overlooking the Lake. Autumn is a magic time of year in Wanaka with the stunning colours of the trees surrounding the Lake and we are lucky enough to have front seat view of this!
We appreciate you recommending other travellers to stay with us and hope you had an amazing trip in New zealand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    77
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
125
67
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

By far the nicest hostel we stayed in during 2.5 weeks in NZ.
Great facilities, great views, fantastic price. We stayed in the twin ensuite, due to the double being booked.

Room Tip: book early to get the Lake View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToadofToadHall159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Hi there

So glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us here @ Wanaka Bakpaka! The Lake View double Ensuite does tend to get pre booked quite often but thats great that you were happy with the twin ensuite !
Hope you managed to take away some unforgettable experiences and memories while travelling in New Zealand : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed in a double with private ensuite and got the one on the end, facing the lake. It was a good sized room and everything was clean. The kitchen was well equipped and up to date. The property in general was well located overlooking the harbor and also within walking distance of the very quaint town of Wanaka (Where we had the best beer ever_ Cardrova Gold!). The staff was friendly, the place was quiet and peaceful, and the stay overall was just incredible. The only regret we had was not staying longer. Had we known, we would have skipped a couple of nights in Queenstown and stayed several days longer here in Wanaka. After our short night there, we were well rested and ready for our day hike to Rob Roy Glacier! We would definitely recommend this place to our friends and would be eager to stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyflyr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Hi there

WOW we are so blown away by your review "best hostel in the South Island". We really appreciate all your kind feedback and comments about the backpackers.
Cardrona Beerworks have started making seasonal Beers but the classics the "Brewski" and "Cardrona Gold" have won beer awards and are favousites of ours to!
Rob Roy Glacier is a stunning walk and well worth the drive their, I hope you were able to capture some amazing views of the valley and Glacier on your hike : )
Enjoy the rest of your trip in New Zealand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I just wanted to pass Wanaka on my way to Queenstown -but I stayed almost for a week in this awesome hostel. Wonderful location, close to city, quiet, close to lage and walkways, bike rental and, most important, clean, good beds, greate kitchen and relaxed and community.
Can't wait to get ther once again :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Hi Sue

We love it when guests book for one night and keep extending, there is so much to do in wanaka whether it be walking, eating out, doing an adrenaline fuelled activity or catching a movie at Cinema Paradiso!
We are very luck with the guests that come to stay at Wanaka Bakpaka always being so friendly and creating a great atmosphere to share travelling tips about wanaka or further on down the track.
It means alot to us when former guests return, look forward to seeing you soon : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed two nights and would have been happy to make it many more. Our room was large and clean, the bed comfortable. Huge kitchen with all the necessary equipment. The common room was just perfect, especially because for one full day, it rained so hard any outside activity was pointless, so people lounged around, read, wrote, played cards. But there was room for everyone. Right near the business district. The surroundings and our view from the hostel were breathtaking. We did a wonderful hike on Rocky Mountain. So much to do in the area. We loved this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterjevne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.7 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.5 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.6 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.3 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.0 km away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 47 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Bakpaka? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Bakpaka

Property: Wanaka Bakpaka
Address: 117 Lakeside Road | Otago, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,057 - ₹ 3,170
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic quiet lakeside location. Only 5 minute walk to the centre of town. "Bus and Group" free ambience allowing you to enjoy our garden courtyard. Our comfy, spacious and TV free lounge overlooks Lake Wanaka with it huge floor to ceiling windows. Its these views which are our biggest clincher, followed by the NEW kitchen, vareity of room types and outside areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wanaka Bakpaka Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing