We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential, but terrible experience.”
Review of Wanaka Bakpaka

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wanaka Bakpaka
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“Great potential, but terrible experience.”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We had a private room booked for 5 months in advance and arrived to find that they had added in one more person (a stranger) to our "private" room. They basically just said they were sorry but they had no other space. We all go to bed early as we have an early morning start on a multi-day snow trip planned only to be woken several times by the unknown person sharing the room (we never actually saw him during the day, just his stuff) coming in to rummage through his bag. Then from about 3 am we were kept awake the rest of the night by loud snoring all night once he finally came to bed. In the morning, going on very little sleep, I fell down the outside stairs while loading the car. The stairs were wood and coated with frost with no tread on them whatsoever (I'm not typically this clumsy). Still no real concern from the employees over our experience or the injury (which led to me having to cancel our trip and spend the day in the hospital, as well as the next 2 weeks in bed). Hopefully they have improved management/staff since then, as well as having put some tread on the stairs.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a shared room even if you are told you will have a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Hi Jeff

It's unfortunate to hear of your experince at Wanaka Bakpaka last winter. We do need to state that if you book a private room at Wanaka Bakpaka whether it be a twin or double room (max 2 people) this is what you will get. We will always honour these bookings.
However if you book into a share or dorm room you will be sharing with other friendly travellers.

Hopefully you will visit wanaka in the future and have a more enjoyable experience as it is a beautiful holiday destination in the summer or winter : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    82
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
129
72
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed in a double room - writing this review from the Internet terminal at the hostel, looking out of 4 windows all with stunning views of Lake Wanaka!

Situated above the Marina, the views are just mind blowing!

Lovely place, nice and clean common rooms and places to relax. The staff are helpful and friendly (bikes for hire!). We we'e only here for one night - but would happily stay for a week!

Rooms are nice and clean - the best sleep we've had in NZ so far! Comfy beds!

Nice Lakeside town with some cool shops and nice places to eat. (Try Spice Room, nice indian!)

Had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend anyone to come and enjoy this stunning place!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie_and_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We came as a party of 5, my parents, aunt & uncle. Stayed here only for a night before heading to Queenstown, wished we could have stayed longer. Reception was good, Ian & Liz, were friendly & helpful. This place seated on a hill surrounded by bushes & trees which is a very good thing. From the reception area & outside our room the view of Lake Wanaka is absolutely magnificent. My parents & I stayed in a 3 share room consisting of a single bed & a double bunk. My aunt & uncle stayed in a double room next door. A sink was available in our rooms which made brushing teeth easier for us (no need to leave the room). Kitchen was big & clean at all times. Living room/lounge was big & there was 6-8 computers at the lounge area. The only negative thing was the outdoor dining table-long bench located outside our rooms.The bench had a partially spoil/rotten section which made sitting on the bench quite hazardous. I hope the management look into this & get it fix or buy a new bench. Else than that, it was a good stay here. The door & wall was made of thick wood & this kept outside noise out = good sleep. I recommend this place to anyone visiting Wanaka & look forward to be back soon.

Room Tip: Get the side room facing Lake Wanaka.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlzev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My sister & myself stayed at Wanaka Bakpaka early February & absolutely loved it so much, we returned & gladly stayed again.
Staff the best & so helpful, all areas spotless including huge designer kitchen, laundry facilities,plus internet desks & extra huge lounge & foyer with large picture windows overlooking Lake Wanaka & the green bays opposite ~ views gorgeous by day, sunset & at night.
One night was a long yacht race which was great to see ~ went for hours until dark at nearly 9pm. The lake~front was just a few steps down from the green front lawn ~ nice for sunbathing!
Well organised kitchen with storage & ample cooking facilities, plus tables & BBQ outside.
We stayed in twin room 1st time, then double room next time, both with ensuites & very comfortable & clean.
Will certainly stay again someday!

Room Tip: Choice of twin rooms are nice around the courtyard, with view out to Lake Wanaka, but our inside roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and i stayed here for 3 nights. It's a lovely place, and we love it so much. The staff was friendly and helpful. Nice and spacious room, clean and tidy kitchen. Comfortable sofa at guest lounge... My husband love the view from the guest lounge - view of Lake Wanaka. :) He spent his noon time just lying on the sofa. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mc-Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.7 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
783 reviews
0.5 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
509 reviews
0.5 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
2.2 km away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
1.0 km away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 45 in Wanaka
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Bakpaka? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Bakpaka

Property: Wanaka Bakpaka
Address: 117 Lakeside Road | Otago, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,081 - ₹ 3,242
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic quiet lakeside location. Only 5 minute walk to the centre of town. "Bus and Group" free ambience allowing you to enjoy our garden courtyard. Our comfy, spacious and TV free lounge overlooks Lake Wanaka with it huge floor to ceiling windows. Its these views which are our biggest clincher, followed by the NEW kitchen, vareity of room types and outside areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wanaka Bakpaka Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing