We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and food”
Review of Cheeky Monkey Cafe - CLOSED

Cheeky Monkey Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great coffee and food”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

If you're gluten intolerant, then you have to visit the Cheeky Monkey, and if you're not gluten intolerant you must visit the Cheeky Monkey. The food, coffee and service are great.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marathonmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for the kids”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Great for a casual lunch with both a blackboard menu and cabinet food. Kids LOVE it as they have a kids platter. perfect in summer as you can sit outside on the vast lawn but also good in winter as there's a fire and toys for the kids.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank mares71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“delicious cheese things”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stoppped here for a coffee which took a very long time to arrive. We had to ask the waitress to check on it. While waiting i had already devoured the most amazing cheesy, parmesan things-were they cookies or scones or biscuits? I am not sure, but whatever they were they tasted absolutely scrumptious, so much so that had to go back for more. Was that a ploy? We also had a softshell crab in a roll, hoping that it would be as good as what we had once in Mexico. It was tasty but not super special, however, my expectations of those sort of menu items are very high. Overall, I would wholeheartedly recommend the food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AUStoWORLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD & FRIENDLY STAFF”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I travel to NZ regularly on business and always spend time in Wanaka, The Cheeky Monkey is my favourite place to dine. Great food & excellent coffee, just love the Vege Monkey for breakfast.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Onthebeachat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Standards have slipped”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Cheeky Monkey has always been our cafe of choice for breakfast when in Wanaka, whether as a couple or with family. But on our latest visit we have to say standards have slipped. One waitress was so surly she obviously didn't want to be there, and who wants to be served by a baseball-capped bloke wearing a shearer's singlet? Hairy armpits first thing on a Sunday morning? No thanks. And the full cooked breakfast was just average. Cheap white bread, two eggs cooked as one, warm fatty bacon, warmish sausages and tomatoes so small one almost needed a magnifying glass to identify them. The one redeeming feature was the coffee. But that's not enough for us to return.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaPNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheeky Monkey Cafe also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing