We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
jerseybum1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

What a beautiful hotel. I spent 4 days in a 2br casita with my girlfriend in march '11. We also had a couple friends fly down for 2 nights and we had an amazing time. The casita was great, very new kitchen and breathtaking view from the front porch. Bathrooms slightly dated but otherwise perfect.

There's a great Infiniti pool by the casitas or jump on the golf cart shuttles and head over to conquistadors big pool or down to the boat that delivers you to their beautiful private island. If you want to save a FEW bucks take advantage of the kitchen. We (I) did breakfast there every morning and also did most of our own store bought beverages.

The golf course was extremely nice as well and the butler service at the casitas is excellent, especially if your looking for that local spirit you can't find in the stores or just want some recommendations on what to do or how to get there. Free bottled water and free parking was definitely a nice bonus. I can't wait to get back again someday.

Room Tip: Just ensure you have an ocean view and/or deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseybum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    352
    126
    68
    47
See reviews for
806
289
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We visited this resort during Mid-April 2012 and I'm glad we did.
4 of us traveled. Two kids (9 and 6)
Kids loved the fantastic pools. Not only at the Las Casitas property
but also the neighboring El Conquistador resort (same resort family)
Palomino island was also great. I swam to the Palominito islet from Palomino. Awesome
clear blue waters. Palomino island is owned by the Resort.
Resort itself is huge. Be prepared to walk around. However for us it wasn't a problem since we
were looking for a bit of a cardio anyway :-)
There is however a shuttle service between the Casitas and the Conquistador.
Golf courses were beautiful to look at (we don't play golf)
We didn't care that there wasn't a beach at the property itself. Palomino island took care of that.
There cleaned the room twice a day. Great !! Well serviced.

Downsides: (minor ones)
Shower in room had no power.
Since we visited during spring break, the resort was quite busy and didn't receive great service at the
Blossoms restaurant. Weren't happy about that. However decided to let go in the larger scheme of things.

Would definitely visit this resort again.
The kids loved the pools as well as the hot tubs.
The Casitas pool over looks the Caribbean sea. The view was simply out if this world.
Also one of the hot tubs over looks the sea. Again, very nice and relaxing !

Room Tip: If budget affords, look for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mohanvp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at this resort in Jan 2011 so a late review. We were felt welcome right away and had reserved a 2 bedroom villa and had a beautiful ocean view from a terrace which was accessible from our bedroom and the living room. As a diamond member received a couple of welcome drinks and vouchers for breakfast in a beautiful open air restaurant. We had butler service who helped us with many things and was very prompt on refilling water in the villa.

We enjoyed our stay very very much and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa in the north village which has better views and closer to every thing else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naroowal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasCasitasVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear naroowal9,

First of all thank you for being a valued Hilton Honors Diamond, membership does have its rewards and benefits! It is never too late to share great experiences such as yours and we are thrilled you had the initiative. In regard to tips for the best villa location, we always recommend that our future guests contact one of our Personal Concierges so that we can share our expertise based on individual needs and wishes.

Regards,

Maria Vega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We just returned from our second stay at Las Casitas-we spent spring break there last year as well. We were absolutely thrilled with our experience again this year! Our one bedroom Casita overlooked the ocean. The bedroom overlooked a beautiful courtyard and pool. The Casita had space for our two children to stay on air mattresses in the living room. The room was spotless and cleaned to perfection each day. The Manor House staff is so warm and welcoming! Lillian (Lilly), Eddie, Max (Las Casitas Manager), Sonia (food and beverage) were especially gracious and wonderful!! They welcomed us back as if we are family and everyone who assisted us was professional and courteous, happy to offer suggestions. The pools at Las Casitas are beautiful, and were never crowded. The infinity pool is the most popular, but we had no difficulty finding seats and loved the view. Our stay was during spring break/Easter, and we never found the property crowded. We loved Palomino Island, and made sure we brought our water shoes as the sandy areas can become rocky with coral. We rented Kayaks, snorkeled and were impressed that even during spring break the island did not seem too overpopulated. One thing we tried was spending mornings at a Las Casitas pool then heading to Palomino for the afternoon. It seems to significantly empty out around 2pm, and we had a great time! The lunch restaurant at Las Casitas near the infinity pool was exceptionally nice with very good sandwiches. The grounds are beautiful and we often walked from Las Casitas to the main hotel. We tried restaurants off the property for dinner. We very much love La Estacion! Metropol was also quite good. Bohio was an authentic experience and lots of fun with a warm welcome from the owner’s family members. We highly recommend Mini Boat Adventures! The electric boat bio bay tour is also great. Las Casitas is the perfect destination for an amazing family vacation! Can’t wait to return again for a third stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PR2012isEnchanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasCasitasVillage, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear PR2012isEnchanting,

Thank you for your kind comments and extensive review. It was a pleasure to welcome you once again at the Resort. Know that your extended family will look forward to your return next spring.

Let's keep in touch until then,

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

After considering a few other options we decided last minute to head back to PR in part because it is an easy direct flight from NYC with 8 and 11 year olds in tow. Came close to trying La Costa near San Diego but the effort to get there did not add up for a 4 day / 5 night stay.

This time we opted not rent a car and instead used the hotel bus which was fine as we only went off the Waldorf property 1 night via taxi for dinner at El Passione (our favorite). Because we booked late we were at the furthest end of Las Casitas from the hotel which of course means a longer wait for transport to get to the hotel.

Even though the weather was not perfect, we had some great afternoons at the small but adequate waterpark and one afternoon where we invited friends over to hotel-owned Palamino (sp?) Island where our daughter took her ritual horseback ride (don't expect a true aquestrian experience) and our son discovered the oversized chess set which facilitated meeting other kids. Also

It is not a cheap holiday -budget 5K for a family of 4 for 5 nights including flights. But if you want a break from winter along with activities for kids, it is hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
48.7 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
21.2 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
41.8 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
72.3 km away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
49.8 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,284 reviews
0.3 km away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,047 - ₹ 42,405
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing