We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone in the family here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Family of 4, girls ages 11 and 9 plus my husband and I. Great time! Rented a car out of San Juan. Interesting drive. We went to the Yunque Rainforest, BioBay Tour, Viejo San Juan, Ziplining, Horseback riding, plus enjoyed all amenities @ the resort--several pools, beach @ Palomino, dining, Scoutabout. We also had a couples' massage @ Golden Door Spa. We don't want to go home! A little crowded @ resort sometimes, but we could always just quietly sit on our ocean view balcony too. I want to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bsfallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,682)
There are newer reviews for Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,341 - 1,345 of 1,682 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

We just returned from a weeklong visit in a 3 bedroom oceanview Casita. Las Casitas Villages is the Villa/Condo section of El Conquistador Resort. These units include a full kitchen, living room and a large patio/balcony. We have stayed in several Carribean units of these type (Harborside Atlantis, Westin St. John) and this unit had by far the largest rooms. Each of the three bathrooms had an enormous bathtub. The master bath even had a bidet! THE UNITS HAD INCREDIBLE SOUNDPROOFING, the least outside noise I've ever had in a resort stay. The unit (thank you Yadisse) and ground were spotless and we regularly saw staff maintaining the expansive property.

One thing missing from the unit was a washer/dryer relatively common in such units. Instead, they offer a "wash and fold" service where you can fill a laundry bag full of clothes and they'll turn it around in a day for $25. Onsite self-laundry would be a plus.

We highly recommend this resort for families travelling with children. We'd also recommned renting a car (<1 hr drive from airport) which isn't much more expensive than paying for airport transfers and gives you the flexibility to shop for groceries (Ralphs is <15 minutes away right off Route 3, and is comparable to a large grocery store in the upper 48) and go on excursions. We very much enjoyed RAINFOREST ZIPLINE, EL YUNQUE RAINFOREST, LOQUILLO KIOSKS, and ERIN GO BRAGH SNORKEL CHARTER ere able to get "in and out" in a way not possible if you did a bigger, more organized tour.

Our advice is to get groceries for breakfast and lunch and splurge for dinners on-site. We did go to the Loquillo Kiosks one night and enjoyed Jefe Burger (order your dinner here then browse other kiosks while you wait) and a great Cheesesteak at Richys.

The Casitas are perched on a cliff with a wonderful view. There are three pools reserved for Casitas guests that were never full, including a beatiful infinity edge pool overlooking the ocean. Just a five minute walk (albeit with lots of uphill steps) gets you to the El Conquistador main hotel area which includes another 2 large pools and most of the available restaurants. Another five minutes get you to the funicular which takes you down to the Marina where you can catch the ferry to Palomino Island (great Parasailing, thanks Captain Joy and a solid horseback ride are available). There is solid snorkelling just yards off the beach and several kid friendly activities like mini golf, basketball and soccer. Alternatively, you can go to the small waterpark which features 3 great slides perfect for 6-14 year olds. After 1:30, it is about half price and at 4 pm, it drops to just $5.

The Casitas also offers shuttle service to the main hotel that was variably reliable. Several times, we called and a ride was waiting within minutes of our call but on more than one occasion, we waited much longer.

We were pleased with the onsite dining, rating Stingray (seafood) our favorite. Informal dining at Ballyhoo and Cafe Bella Vista (great non-alcoholic drinks!) were both excellent. We had Hibatchi/Tappanyaki at Blossoms and it was solid. Our only disappointing dinner was at Cafe Caribe which had an overdose of fried food. The snack bar at Coqui Waterpark had great snacks, including fairly priced root beer floats.

We were impressed with the friendliness of the staff including Yolanda, Lilly and Wanda. While we didn't have too many favors to ask, there was always an abundance of great butlers available to offer tour advice or help with luggage including Casey, RIcardo, Eggy and Carlos.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 5504, a three bedroom oceanview. It was up-to-date and very clean. This is on the...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MarcBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I can honestly say that I can't remember a better family vacation. The staff is amazing. Villa's spotless. Thank you Steve (the butler) for as others have said-"Going above and beyond". Our children loved him. Ana, you were quick to respond to a question/request prior to our arrival. Would return with our family of 5 in a minute and hope to soon. Children ages:7,8, and 12.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NCtraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Thanks to all of the staff, especially Steve (our butler)! We had a great time. Views are stunning, pools great, good food, beach was wonderful. All around, a great vacation!

Room Tip: All looked good to us.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We recently stayed at Las Casitas Village (February 2012.) Our one bedroom villa was perfect for our family of three. Compliments to our butler, Ricardo Rodriguez, who was very accommodating and attentive to any of our requests. We enjoyed our visits to Palomino Island, Old San Juan, and El Yunque Rainforest. Our room, 5301, had a nice ocean view and was near the Infinity Pool, which was great. We ate at all of the hotel restaurants. We found the food to be very good but expensive, probably to be expected at a resort of this caliber. A great vacation!

Room Tip: Would not want a top floor casita as they do not have a roof over the balcony, in case of rain.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelMom987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
21.2 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
41.8 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,252 reviews
42.4 km away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.8 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,192 reviews
42.8 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 km away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: ₹ 14,126 - ₹ 61,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing